Reviews You Can Rely On

Salomon QST Lumen 99 Review

A very energetic ski in powder and bumps, but we wish it performed better on-piste and in crud
Salomon QST Lumen 99
Photo: Salomon
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Price:  $600 List | Check Price at REI
Compare prices at 2 resellers
Pros:  Lively, quick for its size, master in powder
Cons:  Not super stable, flappy tips, gets thrown in crud
Manufacturer:   Salomon
By Renee McCormack ⋅ Review Editor  ⋅  Oct 16, 2019
  • Share this article:
Our Editors independently research, test, and rate the best products. We only make money if you purchase a product through our links, and we never accept free products from manufacturers. Learn more
60
OVERALL
SCORE


RANKED
#7 of 13
  • Stability at Speed - 20% 5
  • Carving Ability - 20% 6
  • Powder Performance - 20% 8
  • Crud Performance - 20% 5
  • Terrain Playfulness - 15% 6
  • Bumps - 5% 5

Our Verdict

While the Salomon QST Lumen 99 is a far superior ski to previous Salomon iterations we'd skied, it just didn't stack up against the abundance of tough competitors. If we could just ski powder all day every day, this ski would be a winner. It has fantastic flotation, and a sprightly way of making quicker turns in the fresh snow, rather than big mountain straight lines. Unfortunately, in reality, we will always ski a variety of snow conditions, and the QST Lumen isn't quite up to par in other types of terrain. And while they've also got very reactive rebound and love to get airborne in easier conditions, the confidence we lost in tougher situations tipped the scales against them.

The latest version of the QST Lumen has new topsheet graphics, which are shown above. The dimensions and specifications remain the same as what we tested.
October 2021

Compare to Similar Products

 
Salomon QST Lumen 99
Awards  Editors' Choice Award Best Buy Award Best Buy Award Top Pick Award 
Price Check Price at REI
Compare at 2 sellers
Check Price at Backcountry
Compare at 3 sellers
Check Price at Backcountry
Compare at 3 sellers
$679 List$699.95 at REI
Compare at 3 sellers
Overall Score Sort Icon
60
77
74
74
71
Star Rating
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Pros Lively, quick for its size, master in powderCrud blaster, dependable, great one-ski quiver option, good for every ability levelAwesome powder tool, fabulous fun factor even for light skiers, affordable priceGreat stability at high speeds, good on hard snow and crud, more affordable than othersSuperbly stable at high speeds, great edge hold
Cons Not super stable, flappy tips, gets thrown in crudNo wow-factor, not a lot of reboundGets bouncy in crud, slight tip flap, doesn’t carve perfectlyOnly for shallower pow days, needs strong skier to guide themToo burly for lighter gals, not nimble
Bottom Line A very energetic ski in powder and bumps, but we wish it performed better on-piste and in crudA great all-rounder ski that we think is the most versatile option for a one-ski quiverA fun and responsive toy for powder days, groomer antics, and bumps, with a value-oriented price tagThis model will do great in everything but the deepest powder and is ideal for an aggressive skierA good choice for hard-charging speed demons that still performs decently off-piste
Rating Categories Salomon QST Lumen 99 Nordica Santa Ana 98 Elan Ripstick 94 W Faction Dictator 2.0X Volkl Secret 96
Stability At Speed (20%)
5.0
8.0
7.0
9.0
9.0
Carving Ability (20%)
6.0
8.0
7.0
8.0
7.0
Powder Performance (20%)
8.0
7.0
9.0
5.0
7.0
Crud Performance (20%)
5.0
9.0
5.0
9.0
7.0
Terrain Playfulness (15%)
6.0
6.0
9.0
6.0
6.0
Bumps (5%)
5.0
7.0
8.0
5.0
3.0
Specs Salomon QST Lumen 99 Nordica Santa Ana 98 Elan Ripstick 94 W Faction Dictator 2.0X Volkl Secret 96
Waist Width (mm) 99 98 96 96 96
Shape (Tip-Waist-Tail) (mm) 136-99-118 132-98-120 136-96-111 127-96-117 135-96-119
Available Lengths (cm) 153, 159, 167, 174, 181 151, 158, 165, 172, 179 154, 162, 170, 178 155, 163, 171, 175, 179, 183, 187 149, 156, 163, 170
Length Tested (cm) 174 172 178 171 170
Radius (m) 19 16.3 16.2 18 27-16-22
Rocker Style Tip and tail, camber underfoot Tip and tail, camber underfoot Tip and tail, cambered inside edge Amphibio tech Tip and tail, camber underfoot Tip and tail, camber underfoot
Weight Per Pair (lbs) 8.1 8.1 7.4 7.9 8.5
Construction Type Full sandwich Energy Ti W SST sidewall Sandwich Full sidewall
Core Material Poplar Performance Wood & Metal Tubelite wood Paulownia & Poplar Beech and poplar
Intended Purpose All-Mountain All-Mountain All-Mountain All-Mountain, Big Mountain All-Mountain
Ability Level Intermediate-Advanced Expert Intermediate-Advanced Advanced-Expert Advanced-Expert

Our Analysis and Test Results

If you truly only go out on powder days, and you go back inside as soon as it starts to get tracked out, the Salomon QST Lumen 99 would be a great choice. In that case, however, you'd probably just opt for a powder-specific ski instead of an all-mountain that lacks versatility. If you know you'll be skiing on soft groomers and enjoy making quick short turns with fun rebound energy, this Salomon model does that well, too.

Performance Comparison


While great in the powder, this ski didn't give us a solid...
While great in the powder, this ski didn't give us a solid foundation on which to go as fast as we wanted on the hardpack.
Photo: Nate Greenberg

Stability at Speed


The massive rockered tip of the Lumen makes it the perfect powder hound, but this detracts from its stability. We found that the tips were constantly flapping around when we skied at speed on hard-pack or groomers, which is always a little unnerving, even if it doesn't necessarily point to real instability. However, we also found that the ski would chatter and skid out when we tried to push it in the steeps. One tester said she felt that up to a certain speed, it was OK, but at faster speeds, there were a number of uncomfortable moments where they just didn't have the edge-hold we desired.

Carving Ability


While the Lumen 99 does have a nice rebound effect at the end of the turn, thanks to a consistent flex pattern along the ski, it just doesn't have the edge-hold capabilities in harder snow to feel confident setting an edge and riding it. It seems to want to make a shorter turn than the 19-meter radius would suggest for those who appreciate quick turns. You may need to widen your stance to carve this ski properly since the tips are quite fat and can get in the way!

The Lumen made a much zippier turn shape when set on edge than we...
The Lumen made a much zippier turn shape when set on edge than we expected from a 19-meter turn radius.
Photo: Nate Greenberg

Powder Performance


This is where the Lumen 99 shines her brightest. It is incredibly floaty - you can always see the big purple spatula tips soaring out in front of you, or if it's very deep, you'll still see the waves of snow created by them. These are reassuring signs that you'll be staying on the surface. This ski loves to make a short, bouncy turn in the fluffy stuff, which many of our testers appreciated. As opposed to the typical fat-ski arc of one turn in 300 feet of powder, our lead tester tends to think you get more joy out of the snow if you're turning more often. This is also a preferable turn shape for those just building confidence in fresh snow. This ski was very maneuverable in the trees and in quite deep snow (we skied this model in up to 18 inches depth).

Bouncing their way back to the surface of deep snow is what these...
Bouncing their way back to the surface of deep snow is what these Salomons are best at.
Photo: Nate Greenberg

Crud Performance


Those big old spatula tip that makes the Lumen a perfect powder-eater is its downfall in this metric, constantly being deflected and tossing the rider off balance. This ski just doesn't feel stiff enough to plow through choppy snow.

Terrain Playfulness


The exhilarating rebound it offers, particularly in a short, poppy turn, makes it a relatively playful ski. It also feels pretty lightweight, and it seems very easy to get airborne. It's just that when we got back down to the snow again, we weren't convinced the ski would do as it was told. But its surprising agility, given the size and turn radius, definitely gave us a second thought.

We got a bit thrown around in the crud, but this ski's quicker turns...
We got a bit thrown around in the crud, but this ski's quicker turns helped us out in the bumps.
Photo: Nate Greenberg

Bumps


The Lumen 99 startled us with its abilities in the moguls as well, mostly because it looks like such a lumbering brute, but it turns with lightness and grace. Despite being 99 millimeters underfoot, and supposedly having a 19-meter turn radius, this ski is quick and responsive in the bumps. It is relatively forgiving in this terrain for the uninitiated.

Value


Sitting in the middle of our group of test skis in terms of price, we think the tag is set just about right. This ski is fun and great in powder, but we also think there are other skis out there at similar costs that offer greater versatility.

Conclusion


A playful ski that thrives in powder, the Salomon QST Lumen 99 is a forgiving and fun option - just don't expect too much of it in other environments.

Renee McCormack