Reviews You Can Rely On

Icelantic Riveter 95 - Women's Review

A fun ski that likes to pivot and get airborne, but lacks high-speed stability, especially for larger women
Icelantic Riveter 95 - Women's
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Price:  $679 List | $679.00 at Amazon
Pros:  Very lively, makes pivoted tight turns, twin tips, beautiful artwork
Cons:  Not built for taller women
Manufacturer:   Icelantic
By Renee McCormack ⋅ Review Editor  ⋅  Mar 6, 2022
Our Editors independently research, test, and rate the best products. We only make money if you purchase a product through our links, and we never accept free products from manufacturers. Learn more
63
OVERALL
SCORE


RANKED
#5 of 13
  • Stability at Speed - 20% 4.0
  • Carving Ability - 20% 6.0
  • Powder Performance - 20% 7.0
  • Crud Performance - 20% 6.0
  • Terrain Playfulness - 15% 8.0
  • Bumps - 5% 9.0

Our Verdict

Our testers were pleasantly surprised by the Icelantic Riveter 95's lively performance, and they loved taking it into the trees, moguls, and the terrain park. Unfortunately, some of our testers are taller women, and they were disappointed that the longest version of this ski is only 169 centimeters. Given the vast amount of tip rocker, we wouldn't recommend this ski to anyone over about 5 feet, 7 inches tall. We'd recommend this ski to girls who want to play in the park and take the same ski into the bumps. But this is far from the most stable ski on the mountain, and we wouldn't recommend it to those who mostly like to go fast on groomed runs.

Editor's Note: We updated this review for the Icelantic Riveter 95 on March 6, 2022, with our unbiased take on product value and a direct comparison of similar products.

Icelantic updated the topsheet graphics (shown above) since we last tested this ski, but the specs and performance are the same. Updated: October 2021

Compare to Similar Products

 
Awards  Editors' Choice Award Best Buy Award Best Buy Award Top Pick Award 
Price $679 List
$679.00 at Amazon
$489.96 at Backcountry
Compare at 2 sellers
$600 List
$439.99 at Amazon
$679 List$700 List
$489.99 at Amazon
Overall Score Sort Icon
63
77
74
74
71
Star Rating
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Pros Very lively, makes pivoted tight turns, twin tips, beautiful artworkCrud blaster, dependable, great one-ski quiver option, good for every ability levelAwesome powder tool, fabulous fun factor even for light skiers, affordable priceGreat stability at high speeds, good on hard snow and crud, more affordable than othersSuperbly stable at high speeds, great edge hold
Cons Not built for taller womenNo wow-factor, not a lot of reboundGets bouncy in crud, slight tip flap, doesn’t carve perfectlyOnly for shallower pow days, needs strong skier to guide themToo burly for lighter gals, not nimble
Bottom Line A fun ski that likes to pivot and get airborne, but lacks high-speed stability, especially for larger womenA great all-rounder ski that we think is the most versatile option for a one-ski quiverA fun and responsive toy for powder days, groomer antics, and bumps, with a value-oriented price tagThis model will do great in everything but the deepest powder and is ideal for an aggressive skierA good choice for hard-charging speed demons that still performs decently off-piste
Rating Categories Icelantic Riveter 95 Nordica Santa Ana 98 Elan Ripstick 94 W Faction Dictator 2.0X Volkl Secret 96
Stability at Speed (20%)
4.0
8.0
7.0
9.0
9.0
Carving Ability (20%)
6.0
8.0
7.0
8.0
7.0
Powder Performance (20%)
7.0
7.0
9.0
5.0
7.0
Crud Performance (20%)
6.0
9.0
5.0
9.0
7.0
Terrain Playfulness (15%)
8.0
6.0
9.0
6.0
6.0
Bumps (5%)
9.0
7.0
8.0
5.0
3.0
Specs Icelantic Riveter 95 Nordica Santa Ana 98 Elan Ripstick 94 W Faction Dictator 2.0X Volkl Secret 96
Waist Width 95 mm 98 mm 94 mm 96 mm 96 mm
Sidecut (mm) 130-95-117 132-98-120 136-94-110 127-96-117 135-96-119
Available Lengths (cm) 155, 162, 169 151, 158, 165, 172, 179 154, 162, 170, 178 155, 163, 171, 175, 179, 183, 187 149, 156, 163, 170
Length Tested 169 cm 172 cm 178 cm 171 cm 170 cm
Turn Radius 16 m 16.3 m 18 m 18 m 16 m
Camber Profile Rocker tip and tail, camber underfoot Rocker tip and tail, camber underfoot Rocker tip and tail, cambered inside edge, Amphibio tech Rocker tip and tail, camber underfoot Rocker tip and tail, camber underfoot
Weight Per Pair 7.3 lbs 8.1 lbs 7.4 lbs 7.9 lbs 8.5 lbs
Construction Type Durasurf 2001 P-Tex sidewall Energy Ti W SST sidewall Sandwich Full sidewall
Core Material Poplar Performance Wood & Metal Tubelite wood Paulownia & Poplar Beech and poplar
Ability Level Intermediate-Advanced Expert Intermediate-Advanced Advanced-Expert Advanced-Expert

Our Analysis and Test Results

The GearLab test crew agreed this ski should be called "The Pivoter" instead of the Riveter, for its uncanny ability to make a flat-footed twist. We loved taking the Riveter 95 in the bumps and trees since it can pivot on a dime and seems to prefer a much tighter turn radius than its specs would implicate. The stunning mountain graphics were icing on the topsheet for this lightweight, springy ski.

Performance Comparison


Completely at home in both mogul fields and tight tree lines, we...
Completely at home in both mogul fields and tight tree lines, we loved taking this ski anywhere where agility was paramount.
Credit: Scott Rokis

Stability at Speed


For a smaller, lighter skier, the Riveter 95 might provide a moderately stable ride at speed. However, our testers, who are taller and heavier, this ski did not offer the solid platform we wanted when pushing our speed limits. The Riveter 95 did hold an edge better than we anticipated. Still, again for our larger testers, the "usable edge" (the part of the ski which grips the snow between rockered tails and rockered tips) was simply too short to feel confident.

We could only go so fast on this ski without feeling a bit unstable.
We could only go so fast on this ski without feeling a bit unstable.
Credit: Scott Rokis

Carving Ability


We enjoyed carving the Riveter 95 so much more than we thought we would. This ski holds an edge better than most skis with a similar softer flex, and the turn radius was much tighter than expected. Our testers found that the ski moved rapidly from edge to edge, in part due to its rebound powered by 5 millimeters of camber underfoot. The Riveter 95 truly springs from one short carved arc to the next. Our testers all agreed that it feels more like a 14-meter radius in the 169-centimeter length (as opposed to the printed 16 meters), giving it a very lively sensation. Because it is quite soft, even a small, lightweight skier should be able to bend this ski, arc a clean carve, and feel it bounce back afterward.

The solid edge-hold surprised us for such a relatively soft ski, and...
The solid edge-hold surprised us for such a relatively soft ski, and it made a much tighter turn than its specs would suggest.
Credit: Scott Rokis

Powder Performance


The Riveter 95 did not impress us as much as we hoped in fresh snow. We believe this to likely be a function of the lack of length, combined with the copious rocker, creating the sensation of a shorter ski that tends to nose-dive in deeper powder. Even our smallest tester, who generally skis a powder ski in the 170cm range, felt there was not enough tip on the front of this ski to maintain consistent floatation. In half a foot or less, it performed well, staying on top and showing us the same lively, smeary personality we loved about it elsewhere. However, the tips started to dive underneath when the snow got deeper, making everything feel more laborious and less fun. Our testers believe that if they made this ski in a longer length, many women would find it to be a quality powder ski.

The Riveter's tips stayed afloat well in powder; we just wish they...
The Riveter's tips stayed afloat well in powder; we just wish they made it in a longer length for those deeper days.
Credit: Scott Rokis

Crud Performance


The Riveter 95 surprised us again in this metric. Despite having a softer construction, which might often account for deflection and inability to push through chunkier terrain, the Riveter 95 handled rough terrain like a champion. One tester considered whether its softness helped dampen the bumpy ride; it felt like the ski absorbed some of the jolts rather than transferring those to your body to deal with. It doesn't plow or slice through the chop like some of our highly rated crud skis but attacks it in a completely different way. Even when conditions bounced the Riveter 95 off course, it took the redirection in stride. This ski is so quick, agile, and easy to maneuver that it doesn't take much effort to get it back on track, even when it goes astray.

This ski just laughs its way over the chop, gaily bouncing wherever...
This ski just laughs its way over the chop, gaily bouncing wherever its sent and somehow making it feel purposeful.
Credit: Scott Rokis

Terrain Playfulness


Thanks in part to its lightweight construction, the Riveter 95 is incredibly easy to get airborne. The ski's nimbleness inspired our testers to try some spins, where the Riveter 95 felt very maneuverable, and landing switch on the twin tips felt smooth and secure. The rebound and tighter-than-stated turn radius made simple short turns on groomers feel fun. "Poppy, but not too floppy" was the appreciative expression of one tester.

We loved flying on this ski.
We loved flying on this ski.
Credit: Scott Rokis

Bumps


The Riveter 95's ability to pivot quickly and accurately made for some very fun mogul skiing. The ample tip rocker allowed us to turn rapidly, but the tail is still stiff enough to snap you into the transition to the next turn. We felt confident enough in its abilities that we could choose the zipper-line or the mellow surf line and enjoyed them both on this ski.

Quick and agile, with a penchant for buttery pivots, this ski was a...
Quick and agile, with a penchant for buttery pivots, this ski was a riot in the moguls.
Credit: Scott Rokis

Should You Buy the Riveter 95?


The Icelantic Riveter 95 is super fun to ski, particularly if you spend all of your time in the bumps. But at the end of the day, it is, overall, an average all-mountain ski with an average price tag. The lack of available ski lengths makes it tough for us to suggest this ski over other, directly comparable models. If you stand shorter than about 5 feet, 7 inches, then this lively ski is sure to impress with its playfulness, ability to navigate moguls, and surprising flotation in powder. But for taller women or more advanced skiers, we would opt for something with a little more power.

The graphics coming from this Colorado-based company have always...
The graphics coming from this Colorado-based company have always been stunning, and this ski is no exception.
Credit: Scott Rokis

What Other Women's All-Mountain Skis Should You Consider?


We recommend the Icelantic Riveter 95 to ladies who enjoy something a little lighter and more agile. The Riveter 95 is an excellent ski for someone looking to get a little jibby in the park after a day of big mountain skiing, and it could also function well as a lighter-weight backcountry ski. For women looking for a bit more stability, we suggest the Volkl Secret 96, or the Blizzard Black Pearl 88 if you spend most of your time carving up groomers. Although the Riveter 95 is fun in powder – for smaller women in particular – the Elan Ripstick 94 W is our top choice for deep snow. If you need a ski to chop up crud, look over at the Nordica Santa Ana 98, which is reliable and damp enough to eat up variable conditions.

We were often seen smiling while on this fun, pivoty ski.
We were often seen smiling while on this fun, pivoty ski.
Credit: Scott Rokis

Renee McCormack
You Might Also Like

Ad-free. Influence-free. Powered by Testing.

GearLab is founded on the principle of honest, objective, reviews. Our experts test thousands of products each year using thoughtful test plans that bring out key performance differences between competing products. And, to assure complete independence, we buy all the products we test ourselves. No cherry-picked units sent by manufacturers. No sponsored content. No ads. Just real, honest, side-by-side testing and comparison.

Learn More