First Look Gear Review

MSR Hubba Hubba NX Review

   

Backpacking Tents

  • Currently 3.8/5
Overall avg rating 3.8 of 5 based on 6 reviews. Most recent review: May 26, 2014
Street Price:   $390 | Compare prices at 4 resellers
User Rating:     
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
 (3.8 of 5) based on 6 reviews
Recommendations:  75% of reviewers (3/4) recommend this product
Manufacturer:  
Review by: Chris McNamara ⋅ Founder and Editor-in-Chief, OutdoorGearLab ⋅ October 2, 2013  
Overview
The MSR Hubba Hubba NX (next generation) is new for Spring 2014 and offers numerous significant improvements over the current MSR Hubba Hubba. The new version aims to offer maximum livability for a moderate 3 lb. 7 oz. weight, a 9 oz. savings over the current model. Though the weight reduction is much appreciated, the tent also has several new features and design tweaks that make it more comfortable and more weather resistant- two benefits that might outshine the weight savings. Improvements include: (1) The waterproof sidewalls are taller and have a short solid nylon panel that helps to block blowing sand and wind, and increase privacy. (2) The distance from the inner tent to the outer tent has been increased, thereby enhancing ventilation and reducing the probability that the outer tent will touch the inner tent wall when wet. (3) The vestibule doors have been redesigned for easier entry, increased weather resistance (via a new guypoint) and the bottom can be rolled up for improved airflow and a view. (4) The tent now has a vent on each end and other many small details, like the grommets and pole clips, have been redesigned to save weight without reducing stregth.

All in all, the NX appears to offer a dramatic improvement over the current Hubba Hubba. Is it likely to win our Editor's Choice Award? No, probably not. But if you want one tent for camping and backpacking we suspect the Hubba Hubba NX will be a very good option; it will likely score several points higher in our ratings than the current Hubba Hubba and might be the best all-purpose two door backpacking tent after the Hilleberg Rogen. We plan to test the Hubba Hubba NX ASAP and will have a full Hands-On Review sometime in summer 2014. Check out our complete Backpacking Tent Review to compare the 26 models we've tested.

Other Versions & Accessories
The MSR Papa Hubba NX is a four-person tent, $600.
The MSR Mutha Hubba is the larger, three-person version of the MSR Hubba Hubba, $450.
The MSR Hubba NX is the smaller, one-person version of the Hubba Hubba NX, $340.
MSR Hubba Hubba NX HP Footprint $40.
MSR Hubba Gear Shed $170


  • Photos
Click to enlarge
Click to enlarge

Chris McNamara and Max Neale

Where to Buy?


Thinking about buying some gear we've reviewed? Help OutdoorGearLab out if you do. Just click on any of the above seller links and if you make any purchase, the seller will contribute a portion of the sale to help support this site. It won't cost you anything extra, and it's a simple way to help us fund our gear reviews. Thanks!

*Most retailers free shipping offers apply only to lower 48 US states using ground/economy shipping. See retailer's website for details.


OutdoorGearLab Member Reviews


Most recent review: May 26, 2014
Summary of All Ratings

Average Customer Rating:   
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
 (3.8)

75% of 4 reviewers recommend it
Rating Distribution
4 Total Ratings
5 star: 50%  (2)
4 star: 0%  (0)
3 star: 25%  (1)
2 star: 25%  (1)
1 star: 0%  (0)
Sort 6 member reviews by: Most Recent | Most Helpful
Write a Review on this Gear

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Apr 26, 2014 - 12:43am
moose · Hunter · Canada
Click to enlarge
Credit: moose

Well, I just got back from using the NX for the first time. In the last four days we had everything from rain, snow, high winds, -5C to 15C….

I have never used the other style of hubba's so I can't compare it to them, but I am very happy with the NX so far. It was super easy to set up, handled the wind great, had great ventilation, was not too drafty in the wind, and had enough room for the wife and I.

I think it will be a great tent for sheep and goat hunting in the alpine.





Click to enlarge
Credit: moose


Just spent another few nights in the NX and it is a great tent. No complaints at all.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   May 1, 2014 - 01:20pm
I used the previous Hubba Hubba for 2 years, and after a friend took it out of commission, I have replaced it with the NX. I have to say my partner and I love the Hubba Hubba, definitely the best backpacking tent we've had on the balance of weight, comfort, ease to set up, space inside, and materials. It's roomy on the inside, while still a small profile, easy to use doors with great vestibules, takes less than a minute to put up freestanding. I am truly baffled by the fairly negative review on here- I know they test stuff well but honestly feel like most of the criticism is way overly stated. Of course, I don't use this tent for most alpine trips, where I simply don't take a tent or use a singlewall, but for the majority of users looking for a great, lightweight, use anywhere tent (outside of winter), the NX is top top quality in my humble opinion.

Enjoy!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Apr 13, 2014 - 12:01am
Jasah Sumpter · Backpacker · North Pole, AK
Click to enlarge
"D"ring pull for cross beam on fly
Credit: Jasah Sumpter
The only suggestion I have so far is to add a pull of some sort (I used a key ring) to ease in the set up of the fly. The cross beams are very tight and there is no where to grab.
I haven't used the tent yet- so the star rating isn't reflective of the product-

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   May 26, 2014 - 01:28am
Sarita · Backpacker · Davis, ca
We took this tent out and were really pleased with the weight and interior room of the 2-person option. However, on our second night of a 3 night backpacking trip we had about 2 hours of light rain which ended up coming through the rainfly and pooling on the top of the inner tent and then eventually dripping through onto us. Drops also came through the mesh portions straight onto us. I ended up returning the tent. We are experienced campers and have never had a tent leak this much.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
May 1, 2014 - 02:21pm
 
Splater · Climber · Grey Matter
It looks like this tent is similar to the BA Copper Spur 2.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

0 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
Apr 11, 2014 - 01:05am
 
spidey · Climber · Berkeley CA
So what's the story on this tent? How would you rate it now? When is the full updated tent review coming out? :)
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No


Have you used the MSR Hubba Hubba NX?
Don't hold back. Share your viewpoint by posting a review with your thoughts...

Write a Review on this Gear
Click to enlarge
MSR Hubba Hubba NX
Where's the Best Price?
Seller Price
REI $389.95
Amazon $389.95
MooseJaw $389.95
Compare prices at 4 sellers >

*Help support OutdoorGearLab. If you click on one of the seller links and make a purchase, a portion of the sale helps support this site
Related Best-in-Class Review
The Best Backpacking Tent Review

The Best Backpacking Tent Review

We tested 26 of the best two-person tents on the market and ranked each on its weather resistance, livability, adaptability, weight, packed size, and ease of setup.
Helpful Buying Tips
How to Choose the Best Backpacking Tent - Click for details
 How to Choose the Best Backpacking Tent

by Chris McNamara and Max Neale
Get More OutdoorGearLab
Follow us on Twitter, be a fan on Facebook!
Subscribe to our Newsletter
Related Gear Reviews