Reviews You Can Rely On

Wolf Tooth Components Resolve Review

A highly functional and lightweight dropper post that has some interesting adjustability features
wolf tooth components resolve dropper seatpost review
Credit: Wolf Tooth Components
Price:  $380 List
Manufacturer:   Wolf Tooth Components
By Pat Donahue ⋅ Senior Review Editor  ⋅  Nov 14, 2022
77
OVERALL
SCORE


RANKED
#9 of 11
  • Smoothness and Functionality - 30% 7.0
  • Saddle Clamp - 20% 8.0
  • Remote - 25% 7.0
  • Ease of Setup - 15% 8.0
  • Weight - 10% 10.0

Our Verdict

The Wolf Tooth Components Resolve is an adjustable and lightweight dropper post. Our 200mm test post hit the scales at 545 grams (post only) or 592 grams with a OneUp v2 remote. This low weight makes it the lightest post in our review. The on-trail performance was beautifully uneventful and the installation was quite average as it pertains to modern, cable-actuated posts. This post has some interesting features such as a self-bleeding cartridge and the ability to swap the lower post to a different diameter in the event you want to move this post to a new bike. It is more expensive than many other dropper posts by a fair margin. That said, given the serviceability and adjustability features, you could conceivably keep this post for many years and multiple bikes.
REASONS TO BUY
Light
Highly adjustable
Excellent manufacturer support
Automatic internal reset
REASONS TO AVOID
Expensive

Compare to Similar Products

 
Awards Top Pick Award Editors' Choice Award Top Pick Award Top Pick Award Best Buy Award 
Price $380 List
$349.95 at Backcountry
$350.00 at Backcountry
Compare at 2 sellers
$309.00 at Backcountry
Compare at 2 sellers
$199.50 at Backcountry
Compare at 2 sellers
$175.00 at Amazon
Compare at 2 sellers
Overall Score Sort Icon
77
89
87
85
78
Star Rating
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Pros Light, highly adjustable, excellent manufacturer support, automatic internal resetInfinite travel, smooth action, triggy remote, revive reset valveshort stack height, easy setup, great leverAffordable, very short stack and extended length, adjustable travel with shims, lightweightVery reasonably priced, comes in three drop lengths, adjustable air spring, smooth travel
Cons ExpensiveLonger extended length, expensiveLever sold separately, above average weightRemote lever sold separatelyLonger overall length, no bling-factor
Bottom Line A highly functional and lightweight dropper post that has some interesting adjustability featuresThis is without a doubt one of the best dropper seatposts we've testedA high-quality, easy-to-set up dropper with one of the best remote levers we testedWith a reasonable price and high performance, this post also helps you get the most drop possibleReliable and consistent performance at an unbeatable price
Rating Categories Wolf Tooth Componen... Bike Yoke Revive Fox Racing Shox Tra... OneUp Components V2 Tranz-X Kitsuma Air
Smoothness and Functionality (30%)
7.0
10.0
9.0
9.0
8.0
Saddle Clamp (20%)
8.0
8.0
9.0
8.0
7.0
Remote (25%)
7.0
9.0
9.0
8.0
8.0
Ease of Setup (15%)
8.0
7.0
8.0
8.0
8.0
Weight (10%)
10.0
10.0
7.0
10.0
8.0
Specs Wolf Tooth Componen... Bike Yoke Revive Fox Racing Shox Tra... OneUp Components V2 Tranz-X Kitsuma Air
Measured Weight (length tested) 545g post only (200mm) 592g w/ OneUP remote (200mm) 684g (185mm) 733g (175mm) 662g (180mm) 732g (200mm) 611g (200mm post only) 51g (remote and hardware) 70g (cable and housing)
Grams per millimeter of travel 2.7 3.7 4.2 3.7 3.7
Remote tested OneUp V2 Lever Triggy 1x Fox Racing Shox Transfer Remote OneUp 1x Tranz-X Kitsuma 1x
Positions Infinitely Adjustable Infintely Adjustable Infinitely Adjustable Infinitely Adjustable Infinitely Adjustable
Available Diameters 30.9/31.6mm 30.9/31.6/34.9mm 30.9/31.6mm 30.9/31.6/34.9mm 30.9/31.6mm
Available Travel Lengths/Extended Lengths (mm) 125/160/200mm 125/160/185mm, 396.2/466.2/516.2mm 100/125/150/175/200mm,
308/363/418/475/531
120/150/180/210mm, 360/420/480/540mm 150/170/200mm, 455/495/558mm
Drop length tested/Extended length, claimed 200mm/503mm (20.2mm additional for actuator) 185mm/516.2mm(484.8mm not counting the actuator at bottom) 175mm/475 180mm/480mm + 16mm actuator 200mm/558mm
Saddle layback Zero offset Zero offset Zero offset Zero offset Zero offset
Remote Wolf Tooth ReMote dropper levers sold separately, works with any remote that clamps the cable at the remote end. Triggy 1x remote lever(2x, 1x I-Spec B, 1x I-Spec II also available) Fox Racing Shox Transfer Remote 1x (comes with standard clamp, MMX, and I-Spec EV mounts), 2x option available Not included. 1x, SRAM Matchmaker X, Shimano I-Spec EV or I-Spec II available for $49 Tranz-X Kitsuma 1x lever
Cable Style Internally routed, cable actuated Internally routed, cable actuated Internally routed, cable actuated Internally routed, cable actuated Internally routed, cable actuated
Stack Height/Ride height 32mm compressed, 232mm extended 42mm compressed, 226.7mm extended 38mm compressed, 213mm extended 33mm compressed, 213mm extended 55mm compressed, 255mm extended
Included cable and housing, Triggy remote, Air valve adapter, Quick Reset lever 1 year warranty Travel adjustment shims, 2-year warranty Cable and housing, 2-year warranty
Tested Diameter and travel length. 30.9, 200mm travel 31.6, 185mm travel 31.6/175mm travel 31.6, 180mm travel 30.9, 200mm travel

Our Analysis and Test Results

The Wolf Tooth Resolve is a solid dropper post. It earned high regard for its feathery low weight, self-bleeding cartridge, and unique adjustability. This user-friendly post worked just fine on the trail in a wide range of temperatures. It was easy enough to install and only required one tweak in the form of adding some air pressure.

Performance Comparison


wolf tooth components resolve dropper seatpost review - this post blends long travel with a low weight. impressive.
This post blends long travel with a low weight. Impressive.
Credit: Pat Donahue

Smoothness and Functionality


The Resolve was a smooth operator for the bulk of testing. After installing the post, we hit the trail and more or less forgot about it…and that is a compliment. The self-bleeding cartridge ensures that the post never develops sag by effectively purging air with every drop of the saddle.

[cahrtid=Smoothness and Functionality]

We used this post with a OneUp V2 remote lever. Actuating the post required average amounts of effort. This is partially a commentary on the remote and partially on how much resistance the actuator on the bottom of the seat post has. As it can is difficult to isolate remote lever feel from the actuator stiffness, we can only say it required average amounts of force. Whether your fingers are frozen or you are smoked three hours into a ride, this post remained easy to use. We rode this post in below-freezing temperatures and it was unaffected by the low temperatures.

wolf tooth components resolve dropper seatpost review - even as the mercury plummeted, this post remained smooth and...
Even as the mercury plummeted, this post remained smooth and relaiable.
Credit: Pat Donahue

Like most modern seatposts, the Resolve can be stopped anywhere in its travel range. The drop action is smooth and has minimal amounts of resistance. There is no grainy or sticky feeling during the stroke and the weight required to compress the post is consistent throughout the 200mm of travel. On the way back up, the return speed is average. Adding air to the post can increase the return speed. The top-out noise when the post returns to its fully-extended position is muted. It is audible but it isn't especially loud.

Like all cable-actuated posts, the Wolf Tooth is sensitive to cable tension. There is a huge variance in the way bike manufacturers design internal routing systems. Some designs are far better than others. One common theme is that dropper posts don't love super sharp turns in the routing as it bends the cable housing and affects how smoothly the cable moves. Our test bike, a Canfield Lithium, doesn't have the easiest routing design. It took a little bit of tweaking until the housing was in a perfect position.

wolf tooth components resolve dropper seatpost review - it is wise to check air pressure prior to installing a dropper post...
It is wise to check air pressure prior to installing a dropper post. Our test post arrived with low air pressure.
Credit: Pat Donahue

Early on in the testing, the Resolve post felt sluggish on the return. About 80% up, there was a sticky hitch before it returned to full extension. We removed the saddle and attached a shock pump to the post. There was only 140 PSI in the post. We pumped it up to 240 PSI and the problem was permanently solved. We should have checked the air pressure during the initial installation. Thankfully, the air spring valve is easy to access with the saddle removed.

We were able to use the full 200mm of travel with plenty of room to spare. This post has a short insertion length and a very short, 32mm stack height, which should allow riders to fit a longer travel post. In the event you need to reduce travel for the sake of bike fit, you can use spacers (sold separately) to reduce travel in 5mm increments. Wolf Tooth has a handy calculator on its website to help calculate how much travel you can fit on your frame. In addition, if you order from Wolf Tooth, there is an option to have them reduce the travel prior to shipping your post. For home mechanics, the travel reduction process is straightforward and involves removing the main head assembly and clipping some spacers into place.

The Resolve also features a self-bleeding cartridge that automatically purges itself of air every time the post is dropped. Reducing air in the fluid chamber keeps the post from sagging or squishing at its fully extended position. All we can say is that our test post didn't have any sag or slop at the top.

wolf tooth components resolve dropper seatpost review - the simple two-bolt design is paired with a low stack height.
The simple two-bolt design is paired with a low stack height.
Credit: Pat Donahue

Saddle Clamp


The Resolve uses a standard 2-bolt saddle clamp. This popular design is quite simple although installation can be a little clunky as the barrel nuts can be difficult to hold in place as you first thread the bolt into them. This design works fine. You can tilt or lower the nose of your saddle by tightening and loosening the bolts.


The big story as it pertains to the saddle clamp is the short, 32mm stack height. This essentially means that the top assembly and saddle clamp are very low profile. This allows users to maximize the amount of dropper post travel on their bike by keeping the upper assembly as compact as possible.

wolf tooth components resolve dropper seatpost review - this post is very light. many riders put a large focus on component...
This post is very light. Many riders put a large focus on component and bike weight.
Credit: Pat Donahue

Remote


The Resolve does not come with a remote. This allows users to choose any cable-actuated lever they like. The Wolf Tooth website gives you the option to purchase their highly acclaimed light action lever on the Resolve product page. It is offered in a variety of colors and with a bar clamp or to pair with virtually any brand of brake. We know from previous experience that it is a fantastic remote lever.

We used this test post with a OneUp V2 remote, which was a suitable combination.

Weight


Our 30.9mm post with 200mm of travel hit the scales at 545 grams. Measured with our OneUp remote it weighs 592 grams. This makes it the lightest dropper in our review. It is substantially lighter than other long-travel dropper posts in our test class. As a result, it's our recommendation for those seeking a lightweight option. There is a substantial percentage of riders who place an emphasis on component and bike weight. For these riders saving 100-200 grams is nothing to sneeze at.


Ease of Setup


The Resolve was a simple dropper post to set up. Without boring you with a step-by-step tutorial, the process is identical to almost all cable-routed droppers. It involves routing some housing through your frame, attaching an actuator barrel to a shifter cable, running the cable through the housing, and attaching it at the remote. Tension can be tweaked with the barrel adjuster at the lever. It can take some effort to dial in the tension perfectly, but it only requires a couple of minutes of patience.

wolf tooth components resolve dropper seatpost review - installation is reasonably easy. the layout of your bike's internal...
Installation is reasonably easy. The layout of your bike's internal routing system will play a large role in ease of setup.
Credit: Pat Donahue

As mentioned previously, your bike's internal routing design can make this process a little trickier as you might spend some additional time routing the housing.

Value


The Wolf Tooth Resolve is on one of the most expensive posts in our test class. That said, we still feel like it is a decent value.

Wolf Tooth made this dropper post pretty user-friendly and the website has some excellent resources. One item really caught our eye was the ability to swap the lower post for a different diameter. You can turn the 30.9 diameter seatpost into a 31.6 post by swapping the lower tube. This means you can carry this seatpost over to new bikes even if the seat tube diameters are different. This is a very unique feature that can extend its lifespan. Wolftooth is also committed to making it easily serviceable, with online videos and every part of the post available if you need to replace something. Home mechanics can take care of some issues at home without needing to spend money at the shop.

Conclusion


The Wolf Tooth Resolve is a user-friendly and lightweight post. As a result, we recommend it to those seeking a long-travel dropper at the highest weight. This post has some pretty cool features and is serviceable at home. With adjustable travel and a self-bleeding feature, it should also keep your bike on the trail and out of the shop. On the trail, the performance was totally functional and beautifully uneventful.

wolf tooth components resolve dropper seatpost review - with the adjustability features and ease of service, the resolve...
With the adjustability features and ease of service, the Resolve will be ready to shred for years to come.
Credit: Pat Donahue

Other Versions and Accessories


We tested the Resolve in the 30.9 diameter in the 200mm travel length.

It is also available in the 31.6mm diameter. Other travel options are 125mm and 160mm.

Other accessories available are packs of travel spacers, refills of the dropper fluid, and titanium hardware.

The post also came with the tool to open up the post.

Pat Donahue
 
You Might Also Like

Ad-free. Influence-free. Powered by Testing.

GearLab is founded on the principle of honest, objective, reviews. Our experts test thousands of products each year using thoughtful test plans that bring out key performance differences between competing products. And, to assure complete independence, we buy all the products we test ourselves. No cherry-picked units sent by manufacturers. No sponsored content. No ads. Just real, honest, side-by-side testing and comparison.

Learn More