Hands-on Gear Review

Hilleberg Unna Review

Price:  $680 List | $680.00 at MooseJaw
Compare prices at 2 resellers
Pros:  Freestanding design pitches easy and in small areas, strong and tough, very fast setup, adaptable.
Cons:  Side entrance is tricky with two people, heavier than many single wall tents with a similar area.
Bottom line:  The lightest double wall tent and one of the lightest freestanding winter tents we've tested
Editors' Rating:   
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Type:  Double Wall
Weight (oz.):  71 oz.
Weight (lb.):  4 lb 7 oz
Manufacturer:   Hilleberg

Our Verdict

The Hilleberg Unna is one of the lightest freestanding winter tents we've tested. It provides bomber protection from high wind and snow loading, and is equally or more comfortable than many two-person single wall tents, even though Hilleberg calls this a solo tent. Adaptability is one thing that makes this tent shine: remove the inner tent to save 18 oz. and create a more spacious floorless tent. The Unna is a favorite double wall tent for solo missions. It also performs well for going light with two people, particularly if you remove the inner tent. However, whether going alone or with another person our testers reach for lighter tents more often than the Unna.



RELATED REVIEW: The Best Four Season Tents of 2018

Our Analysis and Test Results

Review by:
Chris McNamara and Max Neale

Last Updated:
Monday
July 13, 2015

Share:

Performance Comparison of 2017 Version of the Unna


Ease of Setup


Two sleeves let you insert the poles quickly like all Hilleberg tunnel tents. Tighten the poles down and guy out the corners and the tent is ROCK SOLID in ~2 minutes tops. This is one of the fastest tents to pitch ever.

Livability


Hilleberg calls this a solo tent, but their views are generally rather conservative. The tent has the same or more floor area when compared to the Black Diamond Firstlight, Mountain Hardwear Direkt 2, and it's only 1 sq. ft. shy of the Nemo Tenshi. The Unna is also long for its weight. For example, the Unna is 10" longer than the Mountain Hardwear Direkt 2 and longer than all other single wall tents tested except the Mountain Hardwear EV 2, which is only 1" longer. The point here is that the Unna is a two-person tent, not a one-person tent.

You can remove the inner tent to have considerably more space. The 4-6" gap between the inner and outer tents can now be utilized for lounging and provides extra height to sit up. With the inner tent, this same gap can be used to shelter boots or other small objects from the weather.

Weather Resistance


The freestanding design coupled with top-tier fabrics and critical reinforcements make the Unna worthy of just about any condition. See the Hilleberg Jannu review for info about why the materials used in the Unna are so fantastic.

Durability


The Unna is one of Hilleberg's Kerlon 1200 series tents, and while not as tough as Kerlon 1800 series tents (Hilleberg Nammatj 2 and Hilleberg Tarra among others), it is still exceptionally tough. Durability is a non-issue with the Unna; we give it 9 out of 10 points in this category.

Weight/Packed Size


Without stakes the tent weighs 71 oz. or 4 lb 7 oz., that's only 1 lb. less than the Hilleberg Nammatj 2. Removing the inner tent drops its weight down to 48.5 oz.

When saving weight is a top priority our testers reach for the Mountain Hardwear Direkt 2 because it is significantly lighter than the Unna with an inner tent. For winter solo trips we also reach for the Direkt 2. The Unna is very heavy for a solo tent!

Adaptability


Again, being able to remove the inner tent is a fantastic benefit. When using the tent alone, you can unhook several toggles in a corner to create vestibule space. This works well particularly if you want to have access to a wet pack. More generally, the Unna's size positions it well for cramped, rocky alpine sites and thing ledges. It is a go anywhere, do anything tent.

Features


Most Hilleberg tents have best in class ventilation. The Unna is an exception. It has a small opening at the top of the door and a relatively small top cover. A larger vent would be particularly good for cooking in the tent. See the photos above for images of the vent and vent cover.

Best Application


Solo use or alpine expedition bivy tent for two people.

Value


The Unna is a good value if your needs align with what it delivers. We feel that many other tents, such as the company's Nammatj, are a better value because they are much more versatile and only slightly heavier.

Chris McNamara and Max Neale

You Might Also Like

OutdoorGearLab Member Reviews


Most recent review: June 1, 2016
Summary of All Ratings

OutdoorGearLab Editors' Rating:  
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
 (4.0)
Average Customer Rating:  
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
 (5.0)

100% of 4 reviewers recommend it
 
Rating Distribution
5 Total Ratings
5 star: 80%  (4)
4 star: 20%  (1)
3 star: 0%  (0)
2 star: 0%  (0)
1 star: 0%  (0)
Climber

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Jul 10, 2015 - 12:57am
SewellyMon · Climber · So Cal

Just an update to my last review. I now use a cuben fiber ZPacks 2 person bathtub floor and marry it to the outer wall of the Unna. The bathtub floor enhances waterproofness… just using the Unna footprint allows deluge to slosh over. The outer tent wall is super roomy and far more bombproof than any other light tent out there (re; wind, snow) for 3 season camping at about 3 lbs.



Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.

Backpacker

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Jun 1, 2016 - 02:58am
amtc · Backpacker · Sequim, Washington

I agree with other reviewers and think Outdoorgearlab missed the mark with this review. This tent is outstanding and one of the more versatile tents on the market. It has the option to use an inner tent in the summer, remove the inner tent, use the winter inner tent, and double pole setup for the worst of conditions. I have used this tent several times and I feel this is most versatile and durable solo tent you can buy.



Backpacker

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Apr 14, 2016 - 02:06pm
eräjorma · Backpacker · rovaniemi, lappland

A good tent. I think the gearlabs review was unfair towards the unna and felt rushed. Poor ventilation? The review mentioned nothing about the raisable flysheet on both long sides of the tent, nor about using the entire door as a huge vent in good weather conditions. And then they complain that it weighs more than a single wall tent…well of course it does…its a double wall tent. You cant have everything you want. Weight isnt an issue. If you cant carry a strong do-it-all 2kg tent in a backpack then you are unfit to hike in the first place. Weight isnt the only dimension that matters in a shelter.



Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.

Climber

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Apr 23, 2015 - 06:29am
SewellyMon · Climber · So Cal

I have an Unna. It's utterly stout. It's a better tent than Outdoor Gear Lab indicates. All Hillebergs are super-well designed and the Unna is no exception. For summmer use, I use the footprint regularly when backpacking with my wife.



Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.

Skier

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Apr 23, 2015 - 05:10am
mikeskisandflies · Skier · The world
I have an Unna and it is outstanding.
I bought it for the perfect space inside… 2x EXPED med are identical to the floor width so you have a completely insulated double bed inside. I'm only 173cm and my G/F a little shorter and we both happily spoon away inside. It packs down to an extremely small package too.
The pack size aren't really well shown on this review, I can pack the outer in the roof pocket of my pack.
Pitching is a breeze and absolutely solid in wind.
All of which means it's spot on for all uses. We use it for summit bids and summer camps…. And in any conditions, horizontal freezing rain or 100 Deg nights in the desert, it's perfect. I paid for a mesh inner for the summer which can be pitched alone for star gazing. We only use the regular (yellow) inner for winter camps. The tent is solid in any weather, is genuinely 4 season mountaineering capable… It's just brilliant.

But the main difference… It's a 2 person tent, very comfortably…. And when used in conjunction with 2x EXPED 7 or 9 mats it's as comfortable as a bed!



Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.

Backpacker

Dec 10, 2013 - 07:27pm
 
Jedi5150 · Backpacker · CA

I recently purchased an Unna and just returned it yesterday, but not because I wasn't impressed with it…I just wanted sand color instead of red. The Sand colored Unna should arrive next week.

I will add a much more thorough review of the Unna once I've had a chance to use it, but I felt the need to clear something up beforehand. I think it is unfair to compare the Unna to the Nammatj 2 (which I have owned). The Nammatj 2 is a phenomenal tent, don't get me wrong, and would hands down be my preference for a 2 person tent in all but the worst weather (the Tarra fills that role). But saying it is only a pound heavier than the Unna is misleading. The Nammatj 2 is only a pound heavier than the Unna at it's base weight, which is unrealistic. To get a decent pitch on the Nammatj, a MINIMUM of 6 stakes is required, including their guylines. The Unna is one of the few tents that can actually function decently at its' specified minimum weight, due to being free standing.

The areas I camp in (Sierras and various other California locations), generally have pretty crappy ground for staking. Of course all tents should be staked to some degree, but a tent that relies on staking for it's shape requires a much more thorough and bomb-proof staking job.

In short, having now owned both the Nammatj 2 and the Unna (briefly), they are very different animals, for different purposes. The Nammatj is 2 lbs heavier (useful weight) than the Unna, requires larger pitching sites, and takes up considerably more room in a pack. I think the Unna will very effectively fill the role of a solo backpacking tent in foul weather, and a respectable weight given the features. The Nammatj 2 is flat out a 2 person tent. I wouldn't even consider using it as a solo tent for backpacking (motorcycle/ pulk/ etc. is a different story, where solo use would be acceptable even with the weight).




Have you used this product?
Don't hold back. Share your viewpoint by posting a review with your thoughts...