Hands-on Gear Review

Compare rain jacket ratings side-by-side >

Marmot Precip Review

   
Best Buy Award

Rain Jackets - Men's

  • Currently 3.0/5
Overall avg rating 3.0 of 5 based on 10 reviews. Most recent review: August 13, 2014
Street Price:   Varies from $79 - $120 | Compare prices at 9 resellers
Pros:  Affordable, breathable, highly functional, packable
Cons:  A little less durable, not very stylish, hood adjustment design comes undone, heavy
Best Uses:  Hiking, backpacking, general rain use
User Rating:     
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
 (3.0 of 5) based on 9 reviews
Recommendations:  56% of reviewers (5/9) recommend this product
Manufacturer:   Marmot
Review by: Robert Beno and McKenzie Long ⋅ December 1, 2013  
Overview
This is the best value out of all the rain jackets we tested, and wins of our Best Buy Award. If you want the most rain jacket for your money, get the PreCip. It beats out similarly priced competitors like the North Face Venture with its performance and ventilation features. To see exactly how it compares to others, check out our complete Rain Jacket Review.

This is the suped-down version of the Marmot Oracle, and offers just about everything you'd want from a budget rain shell. While not the most stylish, and not loaded with tons of comfort features, the it gets the job done at an extremely attractive price.


Compare top rated competitors side-by-side >

  • Photos
Click to enlarge
Click to enlarge
Click to enlarge
Click to enlarge
Click to enlarge
Click to enlarge
Click to enlarge
Click to enlarge
Click to enlarge


OutdoorGearLab Editors' Hands-on Review

The PreCip is not the most attractive jacket that we tested, but it is highly functional and goes for a great price. It' is middle of the road in terms of weight at 13.5 ounces, but it packs down neatly into one of its pockets, complete with a loop to easily to clip it onto a harness or the outside of a pack.

Performance Comparison
The Marmot PreCip, our Best Buy winning rain jacket on a rainy, misty ...
The Marmot PreCip, our Best Buy winning rain jacket on a rainy, misty day on the coast.

Water Resistance
The PreCip is completely waterproof. We had no issues with leaking water in any areas of the jacket. From light drizzles to an hour long run in a heavy downpour, the jacket did the job of keeping the testers dry. The structure of the hood is bomber and keeps the head and face dry.

Breathability
This jacket has large mesh lined pockets with large openings that can be left open in addition to the pit-zips to increase air circulation and help with breathability. While the jacket isn't very breathable with the vents closed, once the pit-zips and the pockets are opened, there is considerable breathability with little loss on weather protection. All in all, we think this jacket features a good design.

Comfort & Mobility
Click to enlarge
The Marmot Precip doesn't raise up too uncomfortably far when the arms are raised.
Credit: Erisa Coppernoll
Testers found that the PreCip was generally comfortable and layered well. The jacket allows for good freedom of motion and Marmot's AngelWing design prevents the waistline of the jacket from riding up when reaching far overhead. The cuffs and collar are not as comfortable as some of the other jackets that we tested, as there is no lining on the cuffs, and the collar has only a small patch of microfleece.

A minor dislike is that we didn't find the jacket to be very attractive. It has a somewhat boxy cut, and the elastic on the cuffs is not as sleek as some other jackets we tested. Performance and price wise it's awesome, but if looks are your primary concern, the PreCip might not turn any heads.

Features
While there are only two pockets, they are spacious with plenty of room for your belongings. One drawback to the pockets, however, is that they are mesh lined, allowing the condensation from your body to penetrate the pocket. This is particularly inconvenient if you have, say, an iPod in your pocket while running. On the flip-side, you can open the pockets for additional ventilation.

The hood is bomber with easy to reach and operate cinches. It does lack a quality adjustment in the back, featuring a Velcro strap that often comes undone and pulls the brim away from your eyes. The collar boasts a fuzzy lining to help keep the chin warm, and the cuffs adjust easily with a Velcro strap. It cinches up along the waistline with an easy pull on one side, and stays tight once cinched. All of the zippers on the jacket are super smooth and easy to use, the pit-zips are easily operated with one hand, and all the zippers are covered with storm flaps.

Weight & Bulk
This jacket packs down nice and small into one of the pockets. There's also a little loop making it easy to attach to your harness or the outside of your pack, making this an ideal piece to bring along with you on hiking and camping adventures.

At 13.5 ounces, it isn't the most lightweight rain shell. If you need something light for long and fast missions, check out the Patagonia Rain Shadow, Montane Minimus Jacket or the Outdoor Research Helium 2 - Men's

Best Application
This jacket performs during any activity in wet or rainy conditions: from backpacking trips to around town use. As with all the rain jackets we tested, breathability is poor, so layer with a synthetic base layer during high intensity activities or suffer the clammy consequences.

Other versions and Accessories
The Marmot Precip Jacket - Women's, is the women's version of this jacket and also wins our Best Buy Award, as it offers all the desirable features that can be found in a higher end rain shell such as pit-zips, venting mesh pockets, and the ability to pack into a pocket.

The PreCip Pant, $80, is a rainy weather pant that features NanoPro and slips easily over your shoes or boots, as they have ankle zips. The fabric is fully seam tapped.

Value
We like a lot of things about this jacket. It's an all-around solid, budget jacket. At only $100, it is one of the least expensive jackets that we tested, and let's face it, saving money is awesome. The fabric is not as durable as other jackets, so don't expect it to last forever.

Conclusion
If you seek a highly functional rain jacket that will get the job done at a reasonable price, this is it. If you need something along the same lines that is slightly more compact and light check out the Mountain Hardwear Epic Jacket If money's no issue and you are in the market for a sharper looking, super-light jacket, check out the Patagonia Rain Shadow. If you want the highest performance with plush features, shell out for the Marmot Oracle.

Robert Beno and McKenzie Long

Compare this product side-by-side to top competitors >

Where to Buy?


Thinking about buying some gear we've reviewed? Help OutdoorGearLab out if you do. Just click on any of the above seller links and if you make any purchase, the seller will contribute a portion of the sale to help support this site. It won't cost you anything extra, and it's a simple way to help us fund our gear reviews. Thanks!

*Most retailers free shipping offers apply only to lower 48 US states using ground/economy shipping. See retailer's website for details.


OutdoorGearLab Member Reviews


Most recent review: August 13, 2014
Summary of All Ratings

OutdoorGearLab Editors' Rating:   
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
 (3.0)
Average Customer Rating:   
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
 (3.0)

56% of 9 reviewers recommend it
Rating Distribution
10 Total Ratings
5 star: 10%  (1)
4 star: 20%  (2)
3 star: 40%  (4)
2 star: 20%  (2)
1 star: 10%  (1)
Sort 9 member reviews by: Most Recent | Most Helpful
Write a Review on this Gear

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Aug 25, 2010 - 04:42pm
TrundleBum · Climber · Las Vegas
For the price I would say the Precip rocks.
I totally appreciate the simplicity as well as the dimension and position of the pit zips. I do not like a lot of pockets, bells and whistles on a light weight shell. I just wish they would make the sleeves and lower back longer. I bought mine extra large to remedy this so mine is rather baggy on me and certainly not a 'form fitted' garment. I love it for hiking, snowboarding or just getting down off a crag in a rain squall but I wouldn't want to wear it as a winter shell for technical climbing.
As a light, affordable, all around rain/wind shell I absolutely love mine.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   May 19, 2010 - 03:10pm
MN_SlowTrad · Climber · MN
Great for summer in the mountians when you want a lightweight shell for sudden storms. It won't replace your shell for winter travel or ice climbing. It isn't all that breathable, especially if you wear a pack. The cut is not designed for having your arms overhead, like when you are climbing. Also found my Ecrin didn't fit very well under the hood. But it is really great for getting off the mountain and staying dry. Great for day hiking with a fanny.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Apr 24, 2010 - 07:46pm
jewedlaw · Climber · San Francisco, CA
I really love this jacket. I live in SF, and it's held up great during our downpours. You know, the coldest winter and all that jazz… I wish it had more pockets sometimes. An MP3 pocket would be great for when I'm stuck on the bus with the crazies and don't want to fumble with an ipod. Not too breathable. Wore it once on a rainy bike ride and was soaked on the inside… but from sweat only! The brim on the hood works great.

Also good for city yuppies who are tired of rocking TNF or Patagonia.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Aug 13, 2014 - 06:08pm
DS · Backpacker · Boise
I don't know what material they used in my jacket but it sure isn't waterproof.

I bought the Precip in 2011 but used it for the first time in the rain last year (in the Wind Rivers, Wyo.) and then again this week (White Clouds, Idaho). Both times it soaked through in about 5 minutes.

I know it sounds like that jacket may be worn and old but this jacket only comes out of my closet two times a summer for my backpacking trips. Most of my trips are during excellent weather (meaning dry and sunny) so most of the time it is in my pack. I may use it rarely for cold evenings or mornings. It still looks brand new it is so clean. Anyway, I'm taking it back to REI this week and will be looking for something that actually keeps the rain off.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Jun 27, 2014 - 11:04pm
bergbryce · Climber · South Lake Tahoe, CA
Note: my precip was purchased in about 2005.

My jacket de-laminated, did not breathe and did not pack down that small.

I don't have super high expectations for a jacket that is ~$60-$70, but they are a little higher than what this coat delivered.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Jun 27, 2014 - 07:10pm
Rolly · Fisherman · Frisco, CO
Just got my Marmot Precip Jacket yesterday. Fits great, a Med I'm 5'9", and looks pretty stylish (per the wife). Went to ride from Vail, CO to the top of Vail Pass and brought the new jacket. First the wind, then the rain, then the hail! Jacket kept me warm and dry, and was able to put the hood over my bike helmet. Super light, comfortable, and wind and waterproof. Exactly what I was looking for, and a great price, $76 on ebay.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Feb 17, 2014 - 10:36am
wade · Climber · Boulder, CO
I have a Precip from 2010 I believe. Im not in love with it. In terms of breathability, it leaves a lot to be desired. If it's raining and it's warm out, it feels like I'm wearing a garbage bag. The hood is also useless if wearing a helmet, which is a deal breaker for me.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Jun 28, 2013 - 10:33am
Voluncheer · Backpacker · Durham, NC
While I think this jacket accomplishes the minimal approach design, the hood is just a terrible design. While you all mention the lack of a cinch cord on the back of the hood in your review, this is a way bigger deal than you all make it out to be. The Velcro just doesn't allow any turning of the head and every time you do, you turn your face right into the side of the hood.

The hood design on the Aegis and the Oracle are pretty terrible as well with these strange flaps that Velcro under the storm flap on the front zipper. About the only place Marmot got it right was on the Minimalist.

Bottom line - There are way too many quality minimal approach shells out there to go with the Precip due to the poor hood design. Go to your local outdoor shop and see for yourself though!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Apr 7, 2011 - 01:24pm
HighTraverse · Climber · Bay Area
I'm 3 years into my second PreCip. The Goretex lamination began to wear off after about 10 years on my first one, no other problems with it. PreCip is nearly always at the top of my climbing, hiking or cross country skiing pack. Great for cycling. It's more than adequate over a sweater for wind and snow or rain showers. Marginal in serious mountain weather but that's why I have a "real" mountain parka as well. The hood fits fine over my climbing helmet. Great pockets, pit zips, velcro sealed zipper flap. I think it's excellent all around value for the money.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No


Have you used the Marmot Precip?
Don't hold back. Share your viewpoint by posting a review with your thoughts...

Write a Review on this Gear
Click to enlarge
Marmot Precip Jacket
Credit: Marmot.com
Where's the Best Price?
Seller Price
MooseJaw $78.99  -  21% off!
Eastern Mountain Sports $79.20  -  21% off!
Amazon $89.88  -  10% off!
Compare prices at 9 sellers >

*Help support OutdoorGearLab. If you click on one of the seller links and make a purchase, a portion of the sale helps support this site
Related Best-in-Class Review
The Best Rain Jacket Review

The Best Rain Jacket Review

Need a more price-concious way to stay dry in the outdoors? Our comparison of top-tier rain jackets will keep you dry on those soggy days.
Video video review
Helpful Buying Tips
How to Choose the Best Rain Jacket - Click for details
 How to Choose the Best Rain Jacket

by Chris McNamara and Max Neale
Get More OutdoorGearLab
Follow us on Twitter, be a fan on Facebook!
Subscribe to our Newsletter