Hands-on Gear Review

Compare locking carabiner ratings side-by-side >

Petzl Attache 3D Review

   
Editors' Choice Award

Locking Carabiner

  • Currently 4.5/5
Overall avg rating 4.5 of 5 based on 9 reviews. Most recent review: June 3, 2014
Street Price:   Varies from $19 - $21 | Compare prices at 3 resellers
Pros:  Light, low friction when belaying from anchor, compact, easy to handle
Cons:  Expensive, gate barrel can loosen
Best Uses:  Any type of climbing: alpine, mountaineering, tradition, sport and, big wall
User Rating:     
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
 (4.2 of 5) based on 8 reviews
Recommendations:  60% of reviewers (3/5) recommend this product
Manufacturer:   Petzl
Review by: Chris McNamara ⋅ Founder and Editor-in-Chief, OutdoorGearLab ⋅ January 14, 2010  
Overview
The Petzl Attache 3D locking carabiner from Petzl is a new version of the classic Petzl Attache carabiner that is 37 percent lighter and about 37 percent more expensive than the original. We found the Attache to be a little smoother for belaying a second in auto-block mode. However, the Attache 3D is better in just about every other category. It excels on alpine climbs where every ounce counts but can be used for any climbing application. While it is not as light as an ultralight biner like the Wild Country Neon, it is much more versatile and excelled in just about every test, becoming the runaway top scorer. At $20 it is also one of the most expensive carabiners (you can buy two Metolius Element carabiners for the same cost as one of these). If we had unlimited funds we would load up on these. But if you are on a budget, it makes more sense to use a few of these as belay biners and maybe a Black Diamond Rocklock for anchors and then a few Black Diamond Quicksilver Screwgate carabiners for everyday use.

See how this compared to others in our complete Locking Carabiners Review

Compare top rated competitors side-by-side >

  • Photos
Click to enlarge
Click to enlarge
Click to enlarge


OutdoorGearLab Editors' Hands-on Review

Likes
What is not to like about this locking carabiner? It scored well in every test. It is light yet big enough to hold many knots of climbing rope. It is compact yet still easy to handle due to the featured spine. The key-lock gate is one of the smoothest to operate and has a special design to prevent over-tightening and locking up. It is incredibly smooth to belay with (the regular Petzl Attache only beats it by a hair).

Dislikes
There are not many dislikes with Petzl Attache 3D other than the price. We did notice that every once in a while the gate barrel/locking sleeve untwisted itself a little while belaying. Not a big deal because it never happened enough for the gate to become unlocked or open.

Best Application
This is an all around great locking biner for everything. If you don't have a budget, you can buy a bunch of these and they work for just about everything.

Value
This is one of the most expensive carabiners on the market. But because it scored so high, we feel it's a good value if it becomes your belay carabiner that you use for everything. If you want to load up on other carabiners, I would get some less expensive ones unless you have very deep pockets.

Other Versions
The Petzl Attache, $16, is ideal as a belay carabiner, especially for multi-pitch climbs if you want to belay off the anchor. It is also light enough, compact enough, and a enough of a value to use as a locking biner in anchors and wherever lockers are needed. For alpine climbing we would go with something lighter.

Chris McNamara

Compare this product side-by-side to top competitors >

Where to Buy?


Thinking about buying some gear we've reviewed? Help OutdoorGearLab out if you do. Just click on any of the above seller links and if you make any purchase, the seller will contribute a portion of the sale to help support this site. It won't cost you anything extra, and it's a simple way to help us fund our gear reviews. Thanks!

*Most retailers free shipping offers apply only to lower 48 US states using ground/economy shipping. See retailer's website for details.


OutdoorGearLab Member Reviews


Most recent review: June 3, 2014
Summary of All Ratings

OutdoorGearLab Editors' Rating:   
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
 (5.0)
Average Customer Rating:   
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
 (4.2)

60% of 5 reviewers recommend it
Rating Distribution
6 Total Ratings
5 star: 67%  (4)
4 star: 17%  (1)
3 star: 0%  (0)
2 star: 17%  (1)
1 star: 0%  (0)
Sort 8 member reviews by: Most Recent | Most Helpful
Write a Review on this Gear

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Jun 3, 2014 - 02:57am
Sean Maguire · Climber · Manassas
Great carabiner! Very smooth gate and it stays locked very well. The main thing though is its just so light. This is my go to belay biner!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

Apr 16, 2014 - 03:08pm
 
r0x0rwolfo · Climber · Manchester
No going to vote because don't own one (however my mate does).

I would buy this however, I was hoping for a strength improvement as the original is literally the weakest carabiner I own. As the review says the gate is pretty 'loose'. Would be perfect if they could get an extra KN or two on the minor/open gate axis and fix the screwgate on it.

It's annoying when things aren't quite right.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Dec 24, 2012 - 05:39am
ItsAtrap · Climber · Wonderland
The gate unlock itself a few times before, and it happened again today when I was belaying. I wish they had the standard screw gate. Other than this, it's a great biner.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Apr 21, 2012 - 06:25pm
Blakey · Climber · Newcastle UK
I've several of these on my rack, they strike a great balance between weight, bulk/size.

They are silky smooth to use, the gate doesn't hook up on slings or wires. In particular, the action of the screwgate has a reassuringly secure feel to it.

A winner in my book.

Steve

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Feb 17, 2011 - 12:31pm
Nate Ricklin · Climber · San Diego
Just got this, silky smooth, works great with an autoblock. I like it.

A few grams heavier than the DMM sentinel which I think is the lightest HMS locker out there, but a bit bigger and nicer.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Sep 17, 2010 - 04:55pm
Alpinist63 · Climber · Schleck-Country
the gate unlocking while belaying is a problem, so for anchors ok, but for belay devices not recommended.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

Aug 10, 2010 - 07:43pm
 
the Fet · Climber · Tu-Tok-A-Nu-La
We did notice that the gate everyone once in a while opened itself a little while belaying. Not a big deal, but we had to think of something.

I hope that really means the gates unlocks once in a while. The 'everyone once in a while' leads me to believe this was written quickly!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

Jan 29, 2010 - 05:27pm
 
bmacd · Climber · 100% Canadian
I prefer the uniform surface of the old Attache. I choose a few narrow profile Petzl Locker's for some station building. The Locker clips thru station chains easily or bolts jammed with slings. Cheaper than the light weight Attache but not as large an open area. The narrow profile of the Locker has it's advantages sometimes.

I think the old Attache is a great bargain at half the price of the new style.

The old Petzl attache performed all it's functions well. I absolutely agree with the JimT review.


Click to enlarge
Credit: Petzl.com

For gri gri aid soloing I have purchased the DMM Belay master with the anti cross loading design.

DMM Belay Master anti cross load design
DMM Belay Master anti cross load design
Credit: DMM
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No


Have you used the Petzl Attache 3D?
Don't hold back. Share your viewpoint by posting a review with your thoughts...

Write a Review on this Gear
Click to enlarge
The Petzl Attache 3D is 37% lighter than the original Attache.
Credit: Petzl.com
Where's the Best Price?
Seller Price
Amazon $19.00
REI $20.95
MountainGear $20.95
Compare prices at 3 sellers >

*Help support OutdoorGearLab. If you click on one of the seller links and make a purchase, a portion of the sale helps support this site
Related Best-in-Class Review
The Best Locking Carabiners

The Best Locking Carabiners

What is the best locking carabiner for rock climbing? We compared 15 of the best locking carabiners in a variety of tests to find out.
Get More OutdoorGearLab
Follow us on Twitter, be a fan on Facebook!
Subscribe to our Newsletter