First Look Gear Review

Alico Summit Review

   

Hiking Boots - Men's

  • Currently 4.5/5
Overall avg rating 4.5 of 5 based on 5 reviews. Most recent review: June 6, 2013
Street Price:   $185
Pros:  Burly, old-school, durable.
Cons:  Heavy.
Best Uses:  Burl-festing.
User Rating:     
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
 (5.0 of 5) based on 4 reviews
Recommendations:  100% of reviewers (3/3) recommend this product
Manufacturer:   Alico
Review by: Atherton Phleger ⋅ Review Editor, OutdoorGearLab ⋅ June 1, 2012  
Overview
This product is no longer available, please check out the Hiking Boots Review.

Have you ever thought the best way to make a boot would be to put your foot through the side of a cow, then bolt on a sole? So did these guys. The result is the Alico Summit. Over four pounds of cow and rubber per pair. With incredible craftsmanship and old-school design, these can weather anything that you can throw at them.

That said, there are better options. While we loved that they are leather, rubber, and nothing else, it meant that wearing them in hot weather was miserable. The Asolo Power Matic 200 is a good choice for those who want the durability of an all-leather boot, but with some of the advantages of modern materials technology; namely, weight and breathability. If you want something lighter and considerably cheaper, try the Keen Glarus which wins our Best Buy Award.

The Summit is also hard to come by since it is not sold by most major online outdoor retailers. For boots that are easier to get your hands on read our full Hiking Boot Review which includes our Editors' Choice winner the Keen Targhee II.


  • Photos
Click to enlarge
Click to enlarge

Atherton Phleger

OutdoorGearLab Member Reviews


Most recent review: June 6, 2013
Summary of All Ratings

OutdoorGearLab Editors' Rating:   
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
 (4.0)
Average Customer Rating:   
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
 (5.0)

100% of 3 reviewers recommend it
Rating Distribution
4 Total Ratings
5 star: 75%  (3)
4 star: 25%  (1)
3 star: 0%  (0)
2 star: 0%  (0)
1 star: 0%  (0)
Sort 4 member reviews by: Most Recent | Most Helpful
Write a Review on this Gear

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Feb 15, 2012 - 10:36am
Andrew B · Hiker · MA
I bought a pair of Alico Summit's about 4 years ago and I still love them. Once they break in they are supper comfy and as Outdoor Gear Lab pointed out, super burly. They truly are waterproof if taken care of, I use leather conditioner and waterproofer about 6 times a year. The break in is rough but well worth it. I bought these for $180 and it is the best $180 I have ever spent. I have well over 500 miles in them and they still look, perform and feel great. They are heavy and they do make your feet sweaty but those are the only negatives I have with the boot.
This is craftsmanship at its finest. There are many boot manufactures who now make their boots in china and the quality really took a hit
Click to enlarge
Sorry for the black and white but here are the Summit's at a favorite hiking spot.
Credit: Andrew B
. Alico Summit's are made in Italy by hand. That alone speaks to its quality. If you are in the market for a quality, old school hiking/backpacking boot then look no further. The Summits will not let you down!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Jun 6, 2013 - 11:06pm
patrick berrend · Backpacker · colorado usa
I love it when some doofus who doesn't own a product writes a review on it!!!

Anyway, also over 500 miles on a pair of Alico Summits. These replaced my 20 year old pair of all-leather Scarpa SL. The Alico Summit is the only boot I could find these days with a full calfskin leather interior. This detail is far superior ro cambrelle or other fabrics on long treks. Comfort is key for all day treks. This is not a boot to wear to Starbucks so the previous reviewer can be safe in his stylish Keens.

This boot is for wearing with a sizeable pack load and will support you and the load all-day for 15 milers on the CDT and 14ers with heavy day packs. I have used these in the heat of Canyonlands to the cold of fall hunting above Colorado's treeline. The stiff vibram sole is well suited to protecting your arch from sharp rocks and heavy footing downhill. The one piece upper is the real deal for waterproof construction when kept maintained with Biwell "Red" tube boot grease. Superb! Quality and good design is never passe.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Dec 23, 2012 - 08:08am
Stu · Backpacker · Wisconsin
First thing, donini you should try these before commenting. These are a great boot in terms of quality of construction and performance. Yes, they are heavier than the glued sole boots but the soles can be replaced on these and not the glued boots. These are not throw away boots like their more modern brothers. I have had to toss 2 pair of glued boots not because they wore out but due to the mid sole material disintegrating. The material crumbled. Yes they were 10 year old boots but Raichle and Vasque should have done a better job on longevity of their materials. These Alicos have hard rubber Vibram soles that will last a long time without crumbling and when they do wear out then get them resoled. Also, I went on a challenging Colorado backpacking trip in the Alico Summits with 5 mi of prior break in putting 40 mi on them with absolutely no comfort issues. I have no doubt that if you purchase the right "modern" boot for your needs and fit that they will perform well, they just won't last nearly as long as the Summits and I am not willing to invest my hard earned money in a product that will breakdown too early in its life.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

0 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
Jun 1, 2012 - 02:54pm
 
donini · Climber · Ouray, Colorado
I know nothing about the boot, but I think the whole category of heavy, full grain leather boots for general hiking is passe.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No


Have you used the Alico Summit?
Don't hold back. Share your viewpoint by posting a review with your thoughts...

Write a Review on this Gear
Click to enlarge
Related Best-in-Class Review
The Best Hiking Boots Review

The Best Hiking Boots Review

To find out which men's hiking boots are the best, we compare 16 top-rated models side-by-side.
Helpful Buying Tips
Get More OutdoorGearLab
Follow us on Twitter, be a fan on Facebook!
Subscribe to our Newsletter
Related Gear Reviews