Hands-on Gear Review

Compare haul bag ratings side-by-side >

Metolius Half Dome Haul Bag Review

   
Editors' Choice Award

Haul Bags

  • Currently 5.0/5
Overall avg rating 5.0 of 5 based on 7 reviews. Most recent review: July 5, 2012
Street Price:   Varies from $197 - $219 | Compare prices at 3 resellers
Pros:  Bomber, great size, comfy, one of the most waterproof.
Cons:  Takes some time to get in and out of top.
Best Uses:  Big wall climbing, aid climbing.
User Rating:     
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
 (5.0 of 5) based on 6 reviews
Recommendations:  100% of reviewers (4/4) recommend this product
Manufacturer:   Metolius Climbing
Review by: Chris McNamara ⋅ Founder and Editor-in-Chief, OutdoorGearLab ⋅ January 18, 2010  
Overview
This haul bag is my favorite. For starters, it's a great size: big enough but not so big that you have to go spelunking to find the Snickers bar that fell to the bottom. It is also among the most bomber bags, thanks to welded seems and thick material. The bright orange color will make you a friend for life of Tom Evans of the El Cap Report and other photographers shooting wall climbers from El Cap Meadow. I used this haul bag when doing the first Girdle Traverse of El Capitan and on many other walls.

There are lots of other great haul bag options, but this one has one of the better sizes, better features, and is incredibly bomber. For most two-day walls this is a perfect size. If you are doing a longer wall, go with the larger Metolius El Cap Haul Bag. If you are short on cash and want the absolute most bag for your dollar, check out the Fish bags.

Check out our article Haul Bag Buying Advice to read what is important to consider when buying a haul bag. See how this bag compared to others at our Haul Bag Review - The Best Bags for Big Wall Climbing

Compare top rated competitors side-by-side >

  • Photos
Click to enlarge
Click to enlarge
Click to enlarge


OutdoorGearLab Editors' Hands-on Review

Likes
The construction on the Metolius Half Dome haul bag is super-bomber, from the material to the seams to the buckles. I have put a lot of big ascents on this without ever doing too much damage. You still need to line the bag with a foam pad if you are hauling on slabs, but it's not as crucial as it is with a bag made of thinner material. The river bag closure system is one of the most water-proof made. While it is impossible to keep everything dry if you are in a downpour, the Metolius and Yates closure systems do the best job. The extra skirt also makes this a great improvised bivy sack if you need to bivy on the summit.

Lastly, the bag just gets all the details right. The bottom of the bag is easy to clip your ledge and extras to and is rated to over 300 pounds. The carrying system now tucks away nicely and is comfortable. The internal pocket is right where you need it.

This and the Yates are the only bags with good compression straps across the top. These are key for managing the bag when it is a bit over-stuffed.

Dislikes
If I had to make this bag a little better, I would make it a bit wider. That would make accessing the bottom just a little easier and add enough extra volume that the El Cap size would almost be unnecessary for any climb. Also, while I love the river bag closure, it does add extra time to open and close. I think the tradeoff is worth it, but it may annoy some people.

Best Application
It is a great size for a route like Half Dome. However, it is hard to fit in everything for a Nose ascent unless you pack real light and spend two nights or less on the wall. Bring two of these on a route like Zodiac or Mescalito and you are loving life.

Other Versions
The bigger version of this is the El Cap great if you only want to take one bag but hard to get to its bottom. The smaller version is the Quarter Dome too small for most walls but a great side car to your bigger haul bag or a great haul pack.

Value
This is not one of the cheaper bags, but it probably will last longer than any bag for its price. The burly material and welded seams mean that a seam blowout is unlikely.

Chris McNamara

Compare this product side-by-side to top competitors >

Where to Buy?


Thinking about buying some gear we've reviewed? Help OutdoorGearLab out if you do. Just click on any of the above seller links and if you make any purchase, the seller will contribute a portion of the sale to help support this site. It won't cost you anything extra, and it's a simple way to help us fund our gear reviews. Thanks!

*Most retailers free shipping offers apply only to lower 48 US states using ground/economy shipping. See retailer's website for details.


OutdoorGearLab Member Reviews


Most recent review: July 5, 2012
Summary of All Ratings

OutdoorGearLab Editors' Rating:   
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
 (5.0)
Average Customer Rating:   
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
 (5.0)

100% of 4 reviewers recommend it
Rating Distribution
5 Total Ratings
5 star: 100%  (5)
4 star: 0%  (0)
3 star: 0%  (0)
2 star: 0%  (0)
1 star: 0%  (0)
Sort 6 member reviews by: Most Recent | Most Helpful
Write a Review on this Gear

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Jul 5, 2012 - 10:30am
Chris McNamara · Founder and Editor-in-Chief, OutdoorGearLab
in response to ItsAtrap, yes the Half Dome makes a good travel bag. However, it is big. My feeling is that you would get a LOT more use out of a bag that is the size of the Metolius Quarter Dome Haul Bag or the Yates Rock Sac Haul Pack. I use the Yates all the time for travel, as a cragging pack, and to take SuperTopo books to the Post Office. The Half Dome is a size that you probably will not use much except for big walls and your trip. And it is not nearly as comfortable to hike with as a backpack. I would never take any haulbag on a backpacking trip (the back doesn't breathe and the suspension is not nearly as comfortable as a backpack).

So I would say, get a Quarter Dome or stick to duffel like the The North Face Base Camp Duffel which is light, can be carried as a backpack for short distances and is very versatile. It is also a lot less expensive. Another alternative is the The North Face Rolling Thunder which is similar to the Base Camp but comes with wheels making it a lot easier to get through airports.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Jul 4, 2012 - 09:23pm
Mark Hudon · Climber · Hood River, OR
Mine has six walls on it and it's just starting to look broken in!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

Jul 4, 2012 - 07:10pm
 
ItsAtrap · Climber · Wonderland
I read your gear review about Half dome haul bag, the question is whether I can use it as a travel bag as well?

Long story, I'm gonna meet up a couple of friends in Yosemite and Boulder later this summer and climb with them. Since I don't have a car, I have to take the shuttle (cheaper than flight) and put all the gears in a pack or two. My 70 L backpack is only enough for camping gears and harness kind stuffs. I also need to bring a rack and a day pack, other than the backpack. It's awful to be a sandwich. Since I just start aid climbing, I think a haul bag would be a good investment even though I might not actually haul in the near future (only do some free climbing in the valley this time). I can fit everything I need in this trip in this 125 L bag. However, it doesn't have compression straps like backpack, would it be a bad idea to take it onto flight or bus? And hiking 20-30 miles with it (I'm assuming the suspension isn't as good as a backpack's)

Thank you for your time!
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

Apr 19, 2011 - 10:12am
 
spidey · Climber · Berkeley CA
Looks like a nice bag if you can find one. Metolius website says they are out of stock, and when I called they told me they won't have any half dome or el cap bags till about June 15. Looks like it might be crowded up there this year!
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Mar 25, 2011 - 05:03pm
Matt Thomsen · Climber · Places
I love this bag! It is just the right size to be able to easily get to you stuff. I also have the BD Zion, and I like the size of the HD Mel. Much better. This is the biggest bag I would haul. I would take two HD's before I would go up a size to the El Cap.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Mar 11, 2010 - 06:38pm
xtrmecat · Climber · Kalispell, Montanagonia
This bag has been up some pretty slabby and sharp routes and only one hole. I am sure as sharp as the edges of the hole are that is more my fault the bag construction or materials. I have the bland gray material as well as the orange sided critter, and the orange is visible from like miles away. Probably not a good choice if a stealthy ascent is desired, use the gray one.

All joking aside, the suspension system is nice on these units, as some of the stuff I have done has long approaches, and even though it is intended to haul, it does spend a fair amount of time on my back, in very unlevel terrain. I also have a fish of the nearly same size, and although it has it's good points also, it carries much more like a workbench than a backpack. But again, they are haulbags right. Another nice touch is the zippered pocket inside for the critical "can't loose this" stuff.

The suspension comes off easily and can even be reattached in the dark days later. Likely scenario, trust me. I pad mine, but I am not sure it is needed, the material is pretty thick and stiff. I would however recomend plastidip the top and bottom rims, the sandstone in zion and slabby stuff fuzzes them up in a big hurry. Also they are a little pricey, but hey, how many times do you buy a pig?

Bob

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No


Have you used the Metolius Half Dome Haul Bag?
Don't hold back. Share your viewpoint by posting a review with your thoughts...

Write a Review on this Gear
Click to enlarge
Metolius Half Dome Haul Bag
Credit: metoliusclimbing.com
Where's the Best Price?
Seller Price
Backcountry $197.06  -  6% off!
Amazon $197.10  -  6% off!
MountainGear $218.95
Compare prices at 3 sellers >

*Help support OutdoorGearLab. If you click on one of the seller links and make a purchase, a portion of the sale helps support this site
Related Best-in-Class Review
Haul Bag Review - The Best Bags for Big Wall Climbing

Haul Bag Review - The Best Bags for Big Wall Climbing

What is the best haul bag for big wall climbing? While it would hard to climb with all eight of these bags head-to-head, I did use them all over 110-plus big wall ascents from Yosemite to Norway.
Get More OutdoorGearLab
Follow us on Twitter, be a fan on Facebook!
Subscribe to our Newsletter