Hands-on Gear Review

Compare climbing shoes ratings side-by-side >

La Sportiva TC Pro Review

   
Top Pick Award

Climbing Shoes - Men's

  • Currently 4.4/5
Overall avg rating 4.4 of 5 based on 38 reviews. Most recent review: October 6, 2013
Street Price:   Varies from $162 - $180 | Compare prices at 9 resellers
Pros:  Great edging, all-day comfort, ankle protection.
Cons:  Not stickiest rubber (but also a pro), expensive.
Best Uses:  All-day climbing, edging, long routes (especially on granite).
User Rating:     
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
 (4.4 of 5) based on 37 reviews
Recommendations:  90% of reviewers (27/30) recommend this product
Manufacturer:   La Sportiva
Review by: Chris McNamara ⋅ Founder and Editor-in-Chief, OutdoorGearLab ⋅ March 8, 2010  
Overview
The TC Pro is named after Tommy Caldwell, who designed them. It the result of La Sportiva saying, "Okay Tommy, design your ultimate shoe for long technical routes." These shoes are stiff and stand on just about any edge no matter how small. It is designed for climbing super-technical El Cap free routes where you stand on "edges" only a few millimeters wide. But according to this climbing shoe review the shoes work for much more than just micro edging. They also smear surprisingly well and work great in cracks. Their high-top design means they protect your ankles on wide cracks. Before the TC Pro, Tommy was using the La Sportiva Miura, which is an edging machine and still his top choice for cragging routes and bouldering. For super techy boulder problems, Tommy uses the La Sportiva Solution. But for just about everything else, and all the recent hard sends you read about, he uses the TC Pro.

If you are a granite trad climbing addict, you should strongly consider the TC Pro. If you want something a little more versatile for sport and bouldering, we would go with the Miura or Five Ten Anasazi VCS. Chris McNamara

Compare top rated competitors side-by-side >

  • Photos
Click to enlarge
Click to enlarge
Click to enlarge
Click to enlarge
Click to enlarge
Click to enlarge
Click to enlarge
Click to enlarge
Click to enlarge
Click to enlarge


OutdoorGearLab Editors' Hands-on Review

Likes
These are the best technical granite climbing shoe available, especially for multi-pitch climbs. They attack everything from precision cracks to offwidths. The P3 Platform combined with the XS Edge rubber lets you confidently stand on tiny edges for marathon technical leads. The three-quarter length protects your ankles from nasty wide cracks. Yet the shoe still ventilates relatively well because of its mesh tongue, perforated leather, and lighter color. There is not a more comfortable shoe that performs this well.

Dislikes
Since this is a three-quarter high-top, it it is not as precise or sensitive as a shoe like the Miura. We would not recommend it for steep routes where you need to lightly paste your feet on rounded holds.

The rubber took us a little getting used. The Vibram XS Edge is not as tacky as most rubber we are used to. When you reach your foot way out for a smear, it is not as grippy. That said, this rubber also is more durable and does not slip off tiny edges like softer rubber can.

Value
At $170 they are the most expensive climbing shoe we know of. However, they also use rubber and a design that is claimed to make them last at least twice as long as most shoes. They offer a great long-term value if you love the shoe design and are a trad climbing fiend.


Tommy Caldwell On Designing the TC Pro
"These shoes stand out because they use a crazy technology in the middle of the shoe that not even La Sportiva would tell me all the details about. The technology makes it so that shoe has amazing support. The goal is a shoe that really stable to you could wear it a little big for all day comfort and still stand on tiny edges. I wear the same size shoe whether I am working on 5.14 on Mescalito or climbing easier long routes. The mid top protects your ankles but doesn't feel like a clunky high top. It has more durable rubber than the La Sportiva Miura that will probably last twice as long. It is not quite as tacky as other rubber. But it won't creep off tiny edges if you are standing on them for a while and won't start flaking and scaling like softer rubber does. Because it's a high top, I wanted to make it super breathable hence all the vent holes in the tongue and sides. I do all my long routes in these whether it is El Cap or long limestone routes. I don't boulder in them. These are what I wore to climb Magic Mushroom. For all previous El Cap free routes I used the La Sportiva Miura.

"I was very involved with the design of these shoes. I would Skype back and forth with La Sportiva, give them feedback, and then get a new prototype a week or two later. We went through nine rounds of this until we got the design just where we wanted it."

Chris McNamara

Compare this product side-by-side to top competitors >

Where to Buy?


Thinking about buying some gear we've reviewed? Help OutdoorGearLab out if you do. Just click on any of the above seller links and if you make any purchase, the seller will contribute a portion of the sale to help support this site. It won't cost you anything extra, and it's a simple way to help us fund our gear reviews. Thanks!

*Most retailers free shipping offers apply only to lower 48 US states using ground/economy shipping. See retailer's website for details.


OutdoorGearLab Member Reviews


Most recent review: October 6, 2013
Summary of All Ratings

OutdoorGearLab Editors' Rating:   
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
 (4.0)
Average Customer Rating:   
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
 (4.4)

90% of 30 reviewers recommend it
Rating Distribution
27 Total Ratings
5 star: 63%  (17)
4 star: 26%  (7)
3 star: 0%  (0)
2 star: 11%  (3)
1 star: 0%  (0)
Sort 37 member reviews by: Most Recent | Most Helpful
Write a Review on this Gear

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
Apr 30, 2010 - 07:04pm
 
Chris McNamara · Founder and Editor-in-Chief, OutdoorGearLab
In part of the more detailed review I am working on for these, I just interviewed Tommy Caldwell five minutes ago. I asked him "What are the key features of this shoe."

Says Tommy:

"These shoes stand out because they use a crazy technology in the middle of the shoe that not even La Sportiva would tell me all the details about. The technology makes it so that shoe has amazing support. The goal is a shoe that really stable to you could wear it a little big for all day comfort and still stand on tiny edges. I wear the same size shoe whether I am working on 5.14 on Mescalito or climbing easier long routes. The mid top protects your ankles but doesnt feel like a clunky high top. It has more durable rubber than the La Sportiva Miura that will probably last twice as long. It is not quite as tacky as other rubber. But, it won't creep off tiny edges if you are standing on them for a while and won't start flaking and scaling like softer rubber dos. Because high top, wanted to make them super breathable hence all the vent holes in the tongue and sides. I do all my long routes in these whether it El Cap or long limestone routes. I don't boulder in them. These are what I climbed Magic Mushroom. For all previous El Cap free routes, I used the La Sportiva Miura."

"I was very involved with the design of these shoes. I would skype back and forth with La Sportiva, give them feedback, and then get a new protype a week or two later. We went through nine rounds of this until we got the deign just where we wanted it."
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Aug 9, 2010 - 11:30am
BrassNuts · Climber · Save your a_s, reach for the brass...
I love the TC Pros. Finally, after years of hoping for a great all-around shoe, TC Pros appeared. I have been using these consistently for a little more than a year, and IMO, they work well for ALL types of climbing. I've used these at Josh, Yosemite, High Sierra, Red Rocks, Eldorado, Needles of SD, Devil's Tower, Tennessee Wall, North Caroline granite, South Platte CO, Owens River Gorge, Shelf Road, Sedona, Granite Mtn, Jack's Canyon, Canyon Lands, etc. I find they perform great for all types of climbing. I can throw the TC Pros in my pack and go to any climbing area and feel confident that they'll deliver for short or long routes. A big thumbs up.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Apr 30, 2010 - 08:11pm
Studly · Climber · WA
These climb technical like the Miura's but also the comfortable rock shoes I have ever owned, all day!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Apr 23, 2010 - 02:41pm
Tattooed 1 · Climber · Sebastopol, Ca
I have been carrying 2 pairs of shoes in the Valley. My Muiras for edging and short routes and my Pitons for cracks and long routes. Not anymore. These shoes do it all for me. They stick in any size crack surprisingly well and they edge better than any shoe I have worn including the Muiras. They fit with your toes flat so they are comfortable all day on long stuff. I wear a 43 in the Muiras which are only good for a pitch or two and I got the TCs in a 43.5 which are perfect.
Tim

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Feb 5, 2010 - 03:51am
Cpt0bvi0u5 · Climber · Merced CA
radical I have a pair of these but have not given them a thorough go on Yosemite Granite yet. They are very comfortable though but I head it fits a specific foot type. I'll let you know my opinion on them when I test them more.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Oct 6, 2013 - 07:05pm
jfailing · Climber · Lone Pine
As a follow up - I have two pairs of these, each of which has had 2 resoles (1 due for a third).

Their performance value is still unchanged - 5 stars. They're terrific climbing shoes for all sorts of climbing, especially long traditional routes.

The one issue that I have noticed however, is that in both pairs (including resoles), the very tip of the toe - between the sole and the rand - is the first part to erode through. This hole has developed somewhat faster in these shoes than other shoes I've had - it almost seems like there is more open space between the shoe leather, and the rubber rand.

It doesn't warrant a lower rating, because I still like the shoes so freaking much, but I'm curious if anyone else has experienced this faster-than-normal-toe/rand-wear in the TC Pro.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Sep 24, 2012 - 09:23pm
jmayfiel · Climber
Awesome shoe for outdoor climbing, especially cracks.

Terrible shoe for the gym. Don't do it.

Yes, stiff. Very still. But stuff it in a crack and eat lunch. You won't feel the tiny ledges, but you will stand on them. This shoe is better than anything else for Yosemite walls. Also [relatively] comfortable.

But not for all around use. This is a specialist shoe.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Sep 4, 2012 - 12:15pm
Grambo · Climber · North Conway, NH
Not sure what all the hype is over this shoe. I have been cimbing for roughly 25 years and have seen a lot of shoes come and go in my own personal quiver. The fit is very nice and yes your ankles are somewhat protected from the nasties in offwidth and larger cracks, but the rubber sucks…hands down as does the detached tongue that bunches up and folds over every time you try to put them on. They lack any sensitivity that the miuras once had prior to moving to XS-Edge…The rubber wears well and admitingly, they do edge nicely once you learn how to stand up on those crystals with no tactile feedback. I much prefer a more sensitive shoe than the TC Pro has delivered. I feel like I am climbing in water skis half the time. Maybe I am being a little harsh, but I tried these shoes twice and both times these shoes let me down. Maybe if they went to XS Grip 2 I would give them a third try. XS Edge gets the big thumbs down in this camp.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Jul 6, 2012 - 01:45am
Hummerchine · Climber · East Wenatchee, WA
I'm with a prior reviewer…these feel way clunky to me, and the rubber ain't so sticky either. That's coming from a major gear slut who has not only climbed extensively for well over 30 years, but also loves Sportiva rock shoes!

Obviously I'm missing something, since so many climbers (some far better than me) like them…

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Jul 4, 2012 - 07:25pm
ItsAtrap · Climber · Wonderland
I my opinion, the best best climbing shoes I've ever owned. Wear it to both sport and trad.
Lace is a bit too long though.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Jun 5, 2012 - 05:45pm
wade · Climber · Boulder, CO
I feel guilty every time I put them on. A shoe that performs this well shouldn't be so comfortable. I should have more blisters, right? The technical ability of the shoe is confidence inspiring. They no doubt excel at edging and earn their worth in cracks as well. As others have said, they aren't the best smearing shoe but they still perform well in that category. I'm about due for a resole and plan on giving the C4 rubber a shot.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   May 29, 2012 - 07:39pm
mooser · Climber · seattle
So…I have a buttload of climbing shoes for every possible scenario. I picked up the TC Pros, thinking they might be a better all-day/all around shoe than my Mythos. The price is nuts, but with an REI gift card I got for my birthday--and the discount I get there since my wife works there--they only cost me around $20.

I tested them out initially at Vantage (Central Washington), and have had a hard time slipping any other pair on since. I LOVE these shoes! They jam, they smear, they edge, they heel hook…they might even do the laundry (don't want to be disillusioned, so I haven't put them to that test).

As stiff and relatively slick as the soles felt out of the box, I've been genuinely amazed at how my perception has changed. For an REI discount kind of guy…I'd have to say that I may even be willing to pay full price for these buggers, should my wife ever lose her job.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Oct 10, 2011 - 02:22pm
Brian · Climber · California
Solid all around shoe that I would recommend with only two reservations:

(1) You really need to size down in these shoes. I wear a size 9 street shoe, and my toes are completely bent and knuckled under in size 8 Anasazi Blancos (from 5.10). I had to go down to a size 7 (?!) in the TC Pros and with the minor stretch they have become solid all day technical shoes. Two sizes down for a snug, toe-flat fit? What kind of last are they using?

(2) I'm now convinced that Tommy Caldwell can climb 5.18c/d, because if he climbs 5.14d/5.15 with La Sportiva rubber who knows what he would be able to do with some C4 on his shoes! The rubber on the TC Pros is, in my opinion, noticeably inferior to 5.10 C4, but that's just my two cents.

Overall I'm still happy with these shoes, and I suspect after a winter in Josh and their first resole, I'll be very, very happy with these shoes.

Brian

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Oct 10, 2011 - 02:14pm
bkalaska · Climber · San Francisco, CA
Slight addendum to my last review… the only problem with these shoes is that they press on my achilles tendon especially when I am spending more time on my toes (slabby routesand hanging belays). My solution has been to not lace the top eylette which helps a lot while still protecting my ankles, but it doesn't solve the problem completely. As a result these are my go to shoes for multipitch up to four pitches but I take a more comfortable pair of shoes for longer routes.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Aug 6, 2011 - 09:25am
Archie Richardson · Climber · Grand Junction, CO
Really good shoe. I sized them comfortably for thin socks and they work great. My only gripe is durability of the rand, which seems to be sanded paper-thin in spots. Mine started peeling after a few dozen crack pitches, and developed a small hole after one pitch in aiders.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

Aug 5, 2011 - 09:41pm
 
Silver · Climber · Nor Nev
Ok thanks I will test drive em tomorrow.

Just need a little room on the right foot.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

Aug 5, 2011 - 09:02pm
 
aliebling · Climber · San Francisco, CA
Agree on the half size stretching.

Love them. All day comfort and great performance.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Aug 5, 2011 - 08:33pm
Rudder · Climber · Long Beach, CA
Yes, they do stretch about 1/2 a size.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

Aug 5, 2011 - 08:28pm
 
Silver · Climber · Nor Nev
Just bought a pair. Do they stretch at all? Typical left foot fits perfect and the right
is tight and perhaps a tad small. Just wamt to know ig any of
you got any stretch out of your's.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Jul 9, 2011 - 01:45am
WML · Climber · Edge of the Electric Ocean Beneath Red Rock
One year update!

I just reread my old review and wanted to edit/update a few things.

The ability that was in question was the smearing ability, which still isn't that great, however…

They still edge well after their first resole (about midway through that), which I made the mistake of resoling them with Vibram rubber again…fail.

I have a feeling that the next resole (#2) may be the last ride for them, maybe not. Either way I will definitely buy either these or the JB's next (whatever I can get fer cheaper) and once done with the factory rubber will resole with Five Ten C4.

These are an outstanding all-around-except-for-smearing shoe. I was very skeptical at first, considering the sticker shock…thankfully I didn't pay anywhere close to full price, but the ride is well worth the cost of admission.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Jun 8, 2011 - 06:56pm
Sergio Colombo · Climber · Red Rock
I only climb trad and these shoes are phenomenal. Despite having sized them 1/2 size bigger, I can climb harder and longer routes than before. I can stand on small, tiny edges yet I can wear them all day long without having to take them off at belays. I have climbed probably 60-70 pitches in them and the rubber is still all there. The outer edges of the rand are coming unglued as a result of some crack climbing, but other than that I love them. I just wish they were cheaper.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   May 5, 2011 - 08:28pm
Brokedownclimber · Climber · Douglas, WY
My problem with these shoes is the fit: I have extremely narrow feet amd to get the edging performanc needed, I bought them a tad too small and my 3rd toes are really sore after only a few minutes wearing them. They really don't stretch lengthwise. I've been climbing in either a new pair of Mythos (great for comfort, but not stiff enough) or my resoled Mariacher's. These would be great, in my book, but for the fit problem. Still, I gave them 4 stars for the design concept.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Dec 15, 2010 - 11:00pm
WML · Climber · Edge of the Electric Ocean Beneath Red Rock
These shoes are outstanding for thin hands and wider cracks, obviously the high top helps with the WYDE stuff. Toebox is pretty big, I have wide, flat feet, and these shoes are great. Edges on a dime, comfortable once broken in (does take a while), and seem to retain their shape fairly well.

Only big complaint is lack of edging ability, but that should be an inherent part of the compromise between being able to edge powerfully and smear well.

All in all, these are great shoes, and if you can find them on sale they are well worth it.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Nov 8, 2010 - 04:53am
Rudder · Climber · Long Beach, CA
Been climbing since the 70's, and have tried alot of shoes. The toe area of my feet is wide and my toes line up pretty straight across (not on an angle to my little toe). Then my feet get narrower quickly, even at the arch. My foot shape is pretty much like a pair of flippers, or basically like a duck's foot. Consequently alot of shoes hurt my feet. The TC Pros fit my feet perfectly and are the best shoes I've ever owned. They edge well, smear well, and are great in cracks. Add the great comfortable fit and my feet are climbing hard in these shoes. Definitely improving my confidence. Highly recommend.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

Sep 8, 2010 - 06:57pm
 
Damn this looks high · Climber · Temecula, CA
Second pair of climbing shoes for me, so I don't really know what I'm talking about in the world of climbing but…great shoes. Tight on my feet but not painfully so like my Coyotes were when new.

They made my feet REALLY hot when I wore them on a sunny belay on Suicide last weekend. I'm sure that lining warmth will come in hand in December!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Aug 31, 2010 - 12:10pm
tmc · Climber · slc, ut
Just got these for a trip to the Bugaboos. I've had several pairs of the Miuras which I love and now am running a semi-tight pair of VS's which are good but painful at times. My VS's are 41.5, Miuras are 42 and the TC Pro's are 42.5. So far I've done 5.12 in these in the City of Rocks, climbed all day in them wearing socks in the Bugaboos, and done some 11+'s in Little Cottonwood. They seem to do everything well. At this point I need to wear socks with them for a more techy fit which is fine and the sock thing throws people off a bit. Bottom line is I love them because I can now have a comfy shoe and not sacrifice performance. I also don't have to take as much Vitamin I (for foot pain) which is nice.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Aug 23, 2010 - 05:36pm
socialclimber · Climber · CA
At first I hated them, thought I got them too tight… but then I broke them in. Excellent shoe!

Charles

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Aug 9, 2010 - 05:04am
Andyfin · Climber
Took a little time to get used to these, the sole is thick so trusting they wont slip, with less feel, was hard in the beginning. They might feel clumsy to start with, but dont be put off.

Edging is great, the sole offers a lot of support and you can put a lot of pressure on small holds for long periods of time while on multipithes.
For hand size cracks and larger I haven't found a match. The padding is great for twisting in hand cracks and the stiff sole enables efficient heel toe action while doing wide cracks, not to mention the ankle protection.

There are definitely better shoes for friction climbing, but TC's are not bad. Also for overhanging stuff where you have to toe hook they are understandably pretty useless.
For finger cracks I find that the tips of the shoes (especially when new) dont always bend quite as well as I would like nor do the tips fit in the tightest of cracks. But you wont have issues with pain so that compensates when you can use DA force…

Solid build allows them to be resoled more than most fivetens.

At the moment they are my favorite shoes for trad, and the only shoes I've onsighted 5.12 trad pitches in.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Aug 9, 2010 - 02:31am
Curt · Climber · Gilbert, AZ
As others have said, the sizing on these is a little different from other LaSportivas. I have the TC Pro and the Tradmaster both in size 42 and the TC Pro shoes are significantly tighter--perhaps even a whole size. They are also about 1/2 size smaller than the Miuras.

These shoes are incredibly comfortable and I have no problems with the rubber. Others may like C4 better, but I have a hard time telling the difference, performance wise. These are perhaps the best climbing shoes I have ever had and I do even boulder in them.

Curt

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   May 30, 2010 - 02:00am
jfailing · Climber · Lone Pine
Totally wicked. I was going to buy the 5.10 Grandstone, wanting an all day boot with a high top, and decided to just try these on for comparison. As soon as I slipped them on, I knew that I was going to walk out with them.

I bought them a size down from my street shoe, so they're snug but still extremely comfortable. When they're on, my foot is oriented pretty flat - minimal toe-curl - and the toe box fits my long, fat big toe perfectly. I mostly wear them for multi pitch climbs and for cragging, and have found that I wasn't even thinking about foot pain.

Performance-wise, these shoes kill it. I can edge the tiniest dime edges and crystals without crying out in pain, and they stiff sole makes hand and fist cracks a joy to climb. They do thin cracks really well, mostly because my toes aren't screaming when I toe jam.

As said before, the tongue can curl inwards and be kind of uncomfortable, but if you undo the laces all the way down, it remedies the problem. The high-top is relatively loose around the ankle, so it's kind of easy for dirt and grit to get in the shoe. The performance however, outweighs these factors by a lot.

Overall, I am super stoked to have these shoes. If they fit your foot well, you will be extremely happy with them.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   May 23, 2010 - 04:03pm
Cpt0bvi0u5 · Climber · Merced CA
These are the best climbing shoes I have ever owned period. I have always liked La Sportiva shoes but they were never the "perfect shoe for me". My Nagos were awesome and comfortable but you couldn't get super technical with them and my Muira VS while extremely technical had a weird toe box that just didn't work. The TC Pros has everything to make it a classic climbing shoe. I went down 2 sizes from my street size (10 1/2 to 8 1/2 or 44 1/2 EU) and they are fantastic. The first thing you notice is how damn comfortable the shoes are. You're foot is sucked in and you can feel the difference. The toe box for me was wide enough to be comfortable yet still tight enough to be technical. The shoe is on the stiffer side but is able to smear and micro edge really really well. Along with the edging and smearing the rubber seems to be better than it has been on previous La Sportiva models and holds up pretty well against the wear of granite.The best feature though has to be the ankle guards. I have spent many weeks climbing and Yosemite and I have experienced first hand on many climbs the damage that can be done to your ankle and the ankle guards negate that damage completely. I have not had a cut on my ankle since i started using these shoes. My one complaint about the TC Pros is the tongue. Though it is nice padded and ventilated it can be a hassle sometimes to get it in the right place when your foot is in the shoe making you have to put on the shoe again until you get it right. Ultimately these are the BEST shoes I have ever owned and I will continue to resole and buy new pairs until the shoe is discontinued. Great job La Sportiva and great job Tommy!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Apr 30, 2010 - 07:57pm
sudarkoff · Climber · Sunnyvale, CA
Excellent shoes! They fit perfectly (I wear them in my street shoe size), they perform perfectly, and they are good for about any style of climbing. I am sending my first pair in for resoling (would be curious to see how they perform after that) after using them exclusively for 7 months of 12-16 hours of climbing per week outdoors and in the gym.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Apr 22, 2010 - 12:04pm
bkalaska · Climber · San Francisco, CA
I thought these would be like a hightop muira, but I was wrong (in a good way). They are significantly stiffer on the outside edge all the way around the rand which is nice for jamming in cracks that usually hurt my feet at the end of a long day. The inside edge and toe is similar in edging performance to the Muira and I am very happy with the fit. I sized them one half Euro size up (41) from my Muiras (40.5) which are tight. In a size 41 Muira my toes can wiggle a little bit, but my toes are comfy AND secure in the 41 TCs with a little bend, but nothing extreme. I am looking forward to taking them out on longer routes as soon as the Cathedrals dry out.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Jan 15, 2010 - 02:51am
N$ane · Climber · Granite Bay, CA
The best climbing shoes I have ever used! They rock.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Mar 17, 2011 - 02:41pm
j-tree · Climber · Classroom to crag to summer camp
Best Shoe ever.

Wore through the sole and rand on Jtree and Yosemite rock. Sent to Rubber Room for Onyx resole and they've been going strong.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Nov 10, 2010 - 04:34pm
 
Lynne Leichtfuss · Climber · Will know soon
What Radical said is why I'm saving up for a pair of the tc pros. I really enjoy crack climbing and want to do more but my la sportiva mythos and acopa merlin's are not cutting it. Pain to the inth degree climbing cracks. lynne
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Jun 1, 2010 - 05:06pm
aaron4peace · Climber · Santa Fe
Overrated. I tried these out this weekend, ordered two pairs and figured Id send one back; neither performed nearly as well as my Muiras do. Compared the Muira, TC pros climb like a cowboy boot. I really was psyched to use them for long routes BC there is always a wide pitch and I haven't seen anything with high ankles climb well. Alas, chalk them up to the ranks of the 5.10 Altia hightop in terms of their performance level.

I sent them back. Save your $$ too.


-a

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No


Have you used the La Sportiva TC Pro?
Don't hold back. Share your viewpoint by posting a review with your thoughts...

Write a Review on this Gear
Click to enlarge
La Sportiva TC Pro climbing shoe
Credit: LaSportiva.com
Where's the Best Price?
Seller Price
CampSaver $161.96  -  5% off!
Amazon $169.95  -  6% off!
Backcountry $179.95
Compare prices at 9 sellers >

*Help support OutdoorGearLab. If you click on one of the seller links and make a purchase, a portion of the sale helps support this site
Related Best-in-Class Review
The Best Rock Climbing Shoes Review

The Best Rock Climbing Shoes Review

We took 25 of the best men's rock climbing shoes and put them in head-to-head competition to find the very best.
Video video review
Helpful Buying Tips
Get More OutdoorGearLab
Follow us on Twitter, be a fan on Facebook!
Subscribe to our Newsletter
Related Gear Reviews