Hands-on Gear Review

Compare nuts and stopper ratings side-by-side >

DMM Peenut Review

   
Top Pick Award

Nuts and Stoppers

  • Currently 4.9/5
Overall avg rating 4.9 of 5 based on 7 reviews. Most recent review: September 9, 2010
Street Price:   Varies from $11 - $42 | Compare prices at 3 resellers
Pros:  Durable, excels in pins scars, light weight
Cons:  Metal is not as soft giving them less bite in marginal placements
Best Uses:  Trad climbing, aid climbing, alpine climbing
User Rating:     
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
 (4.8 of 5) based on 6 reviews
Recommendations:  100% of reviewers (6/6) recommend this product
Manufacturer:   DMM
Review by: Ian Nicholson ⋅ Review Editor, OutdoorGearLab ⋅ February 9, 2010  
Overview
As their name implies, DMM Peenuts are a series of smaller Climbing Nut. They come in only five sizes and have a heavily tapered design that fits wonderfully into small pods, pin scars and flairs. Being made of hot forged aluminum, they are more durable than copper, bronze or brass nuts. Also, the cables are not fixed as with most brass nuts, adding to their toughness. They match the color scheme of the rest of the DMM and Wild Country nut families. So while they are not designed to be a stand-alone rack, they make a great addition that increases small protection options.

They are extremely light and less bulky than many other micro nuts. They can work well for aid climbing but not as well as the DMM Brass Offsets, making them an addition to an aid climber's rack rather than a replacement.

View our complete Climbing Nut Review to see how this product compared to others.

Compare top rated competitors side-by-side >

  • Photos
Click to enlarge
Click to enlarge
Click to enlarge
Click to enlarge
Click to enlarge


OutdoorGearLab Editors' Hands-on Review

Likes
The best part of the DMM Peenut is its slightly offset taper, which allows them to fit into pin scars where another climbing nut might not be fall worthy. They are better than WC Superlight Rocks and not quite as good as DMM Alloy Offsets in these types of cracks. The Peenuts offer one of the best aluminum options for thin crack protection. Aid climbers will enjoy Peenuts because of their pin scar prowess. While they didn't fit into scars quite as well as DMM Brass Offsets, Peenuts were more durable. Although Peenuts are not a complete set on their own, their color coding matches the rest of the DMM and Wild Country nuts, making them a convenient addition. Also, the large amount of surface area gives these nuts greater holding power.

Dislikes
Aluminum doesn't bite as well as brass, bronze or copper. The large surface area on the sides of the nut, while offering more surface, can be harder to place in smaller cracks. These larger sides worked better in smooth rock than in highly textured or irregular rock. Peenuts were also harder to clean than similar aluminum nuts. They were among the poorest nuts for placing in parallel sided cracks.

Best Application
Peenuts are a good complement to a rack of any type, especially those of other DMM or Wild Country nuts where Peenuts will follow the same color scheme. They are best for smaller cracks if you aren't willing to give up the durability of aluminum. They fit pin scars and shallow flares well for aid climbers but they should not replace a set of brass nuts.

Value
Peenuts are functional and durable. Plus, they are only $50 per set, much less than other specialized micro nuts, whether brass, bronze or aluminum. They should not replace an aid climber's brass nuts but they complement that set quite well.

Other Versions
DMM Wallnuts, DMM Brass Offsets, DMM Offset Nut and the DMM Micro Wallnuts

Ian Nicholson

Compare this product side-by-side to top competitors >

Where to Buy?


Thinking about buying some gear we've reviewed? Help OutdoorGearLab out if you do. Just click on any of the above seller links and if you make any purchase, the seller will contribute a portion of the sale to help support this site. It won't cost you anything extra, and it's a simple way to help us fund our gear reviews. Thanks!

*Most retailers free shipping offers apply only to lower 48 US states using ground/economy shipping. See retailer's website for details.


OutdoorGearLab Member Reviews


Most recent review: September 9, 2010
Summary of All Ratings

OutdoorGearLab Editors' Rating:   
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
 (5.0)
Average Customer Rating:   
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
 (4.8)

100% of 6 reviewers recommend it
Rating Distribution
7 Total Ratings
5 star: 86%  (6)
4 star: 14%  (1)
3 star: 0%  (0)
2 star: 0%  (0)
1 star: 0%  (0)
Sort 6 member reviews by: Most Recent | Most Helpful
Write a Review on this Gear

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Sep 9, 2010 - 05:37am
bearbreeder · Climber
fits small squamish cracks …. tough

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Feb 12, 2010 - 08:00am
freerider · Climber
I think these nuts are especially goo d on tricky limestone placements, and any othe more broken kind of rock. You really understand why they made them in Wales once you've climbed there. Also on quarzite they are super nice… If you only buy one type of small stopper, buy this one.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Jan 23, 2010 - 03:04am
Salamanizer · Climber · The land of Fruits & Nuts!
By far the best nut for pin scars. I've had a set of these nuts on my rack since they came on the market and never ever climb with out them. The smallest red one (as well as other sizes) have saved me from potential huge whippers on R and X rated routes twice. They can easily take the severity out of a route by fitting where only a piton would.

Single best nut on the market as far as small nuts go without being considered "micro nuts" for free climbing. They are the HB offsets of small nuts "Perfect and would be hard to improve". Never leave ground with out them.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Dec 16, 2009 - 01:00am
msiddens · Climber
I just picked up a set this Summer and got a chance to use them in the Meadows. Awesome small nut for scars. I'll be taking them to the Valley

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Dec 15, 2009 - 03:39pm
adam d · Climber
Rich Gottlieb turned me on to these and they became my default small nuts for free climbing in the Gunks. The cutaway at the base and the thinner wire helps them seat really nicely. I wore out the cables on some and fixed others in falls but kept buying more. I don't use them quite as much in other areas as I did there.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Dec 15, 2009 - 01:43pm
Chris McNamara · Founder and Editor-in-Chief, OutdoorGearLab
This is my favorite nut on El Cap and the one I place the most. When doing the Nose, this is usually the only nut I end up using (though I must admit I dont like placing nuts much). For anything bigger, I can usually get a cam. For anything smaller, I usually go with the DMM Brass Offsets.

These are much more durable than the Brass Offsets and just feel more bomber. They are perfectly shaped for most pin scars. Its nice that you can slide the head down for aid climbs. This comes in handy if you need to improvise a rivet hanger or snag a hangerless bolt that is just out of reach.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No


Have you used the DMM Peenut?
Don't hold back. Share your viewpoint by posting a review with your thoughts...

Write a Review on this Gear
Click to enlarge
Showing a set of DMM Peenuts
Credit: Ian Nicholson
Where's the Best Price?
Seller Price
Backcountry $10.95
MountainGear $41.96  -  21% off!
Amazon $42.36  -  15% off!
Compare prices at 3 sellers >

*Help support OutdoorGearLab. If you click on one of the seller links and make a purchase, a portion of the sale helps support this site
Related Best-in-Class Review
The Best Nuts and Stoppers

The Best Nuts and Stoppers

We looked at 11 different types of nuts, testing them in a wide range of cracks in a mixture of rock types to choose the best.
Video video review
Helpful Buying Tips
Get More OutdoorGearLab
Follow us on Twitter, be a fan on Facebook!
Subscribe to our Newsletter
Related Gear Reviews
DMM Offset Nut

DMM Offset Nut
$16 ($75/set)
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Editors' Choice Award
Video video review
DMM Brass Offsets

DMM Brass Offsets
$16.50 ($105/set)
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Editors' Choice Award
Video video review
ABC Huevo

ABC Huevo
$6-7 ($85/set)
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Best Buy Award
Wild Country Superlight Rocks

Wild Country Superlight Rocks
$14 (74/set)
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Top Pick Award
Metolius Ultralight Curve Nut

Metolius Ultralight Curve Nut
$14 ($130/set)
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Top Pick Award
DMM Wallnut

DMM Wallnut
$10-12 ($107/set)
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
More related gear reviews...
Other Gear by DMM
DMM Offset Nut

DMM Offset Nut
$16 ($75/set)
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Editors' Choice Award
Video video review
DMM Brass Offsets Climbing Nut

DMM Brass Offsets Climbing Nut
$16.50 ($105/set)
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Editors' Choice Award
Video video review
DMM Wallnut

DMM Wallnut
$10-12 ($107/set)
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
DMM Boa Locking Carabiner

DMM Boa Locking Carabiner
$18
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
DMM Dragon Cam Climbing Cams

DMM Dragon Cam Climbing Cams
$75-80
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
DMM V Twin Belay Device

DMM V Twin Belay Device
$26
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
More related gear reviews...