First Look Gear Review

Petzl Meteor III Review

   

Climbing Helmets - Men's

  • Currently 4.9/5
Overall avg rating 4.9 of 5 based on 11 reviews. Most recent review: November 27, 2011
Street Price:   Varies from $94 - $100 | Compare prices at 4 resellers
Pros:  Extremely lightweight, excellent fit, breathable
Cons:  Expensive, fragile
Best Uses:  Free climbing, clean–aid walls
User Rating:     
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
 (4.9 of 5) based on 10 reviews
Recommendations:  100% of reviewers (9/9) recommend this product
Manufacturer:   Petzl
Review by: Chris Van Leuven, Chris McNamara ⋅ January 31, 2010  
Overview
The Meteor III or Meteor 3 is now called the Petzl Meteor III Plus. We can't tell any difference between the two other than new colors. If you have a Meteor III, no need to upgrade to the Plus. Check our our review of the Petzl Meteor III Plus. It won our Editors' Choice Award for climbing helmet because it is so light and comfortable. It is the lightest helmet we have tested and has the best ventilation. Also, check out our complete Climbing Helmet Review to see how other helmets compared to each other.


  • Photos
Click to enlarge
Click to enlarge
Click to enlarge
Click to enlarge
Click to enlarge
Click to enlarge
Click to enlarge
Click to enlarge
Click to enlarge
Click to enlarge

Chris Van Leuven, Chris McNamara

Where to Buy?


Thinking about buying some gear we've reviewed? Help OutdoorGearLab out if you do. Just click on any of the above seller links and if you make any purchase, the seller will contribute a portion of the sale to help support this site. It won't cost you anything extra, and it's a simple way to help us fund our gear reviews. Thanks!

*Most retailers free shipping offers apply only to lower 48 US states using ground/economy shipping. See retailer's website for details.


OutdoorGearLab Member Reviews


Most recent review: November 27, 2011
Summary of All Ratings

OutdoorGearLab Editors' Rating:   
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
 (5.0)
Average Customer Rating:   
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
 (4.9)

100% of 9 reviewers recommend it
Rating Distribution
8 Total Ratings
5 star: 88%  (7)
4 star: 13%  (1)
3 star: 0%  (0)
2 star: 0%  (0)
1 star: 0%  (0)
Sort 10 member reviews by: Most Recent | Most Helpful
Write a Review on this Gear

Nov 27, 2011 - 10:12am
 
Rankin · Climber · Greensboro, North Carolina
Other than walls and a few alpine routes, I never climbed with a helmet until I took a massive fall this year cragging. I got one of these and it's pretty awesome. Like every helmet, once in a while I'll bump my head, but other than that, it's barely noticeable. This helmet is so much more comfortable because it has two adjustment points instead of one. One adjustment point tends to restrict the fitting band to an uncomfortable oval type shape, where as two give the band a wider, more rounded shape like that of your head.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

Nov 26, 2011 - 07:39pm
 
johngenx · Climber
I'd probably give it five stars save for the lack of one-handed adjustment. As I use this lid for mountaineering, I find over the course of a day, I might have a touque on, and then off, and then on, etc. Nice to be able to adjust the helmet quickly.

Other than that, it's damned good. It's light, the headlamp clips work well, and like another noted, I appreciate the storage/transport bag.

I use an Elios where the danger of rockfall is high, otherwise this lightweight unit is my helmet of choice…

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Nov 21, 2010 - 05:51pm
Crimpergirl · Climber · Boulder, Colorado!
Just got one for my birthday and love it. It is so lightweight I forget it is on. And it has the advantage of fitting a big pod. Two thumbs up.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Nov 21, 2010 - 05:30pm
spsmc · Climber · Swall Meadows,CA
The first helmet I ever had was an fiberglass Joe Brown. Weighed a couple of pounds and compressed of the c-spine. Finally melted a hole in it using it as a candle holder in the tent.
The Meteor is great - lightweight, easily adjusted and pretty comfortable. Last time I used it I walked part way back down the trail before remembering it was on.
I find the rear band digs in a little into the back of the head.
Have to take care of it and not put it on the outside of the pack. For once I actually use the cute little bag manufacturers put things in.
Not sure if it is flame resistant since I have given up on candles and moved on to an LED headlamp

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

Jan 28, 2010 - 10:25am
 
Mike. · Climber
I haven't been wearing climbing helmets long--since the early 90s--but in that time they have improved dramatically. Like cycling helmets, they've gotten more refined; lighter, better fitting and hopefully just as improved at protecting the bean.

I would guess the Petzl Ecrin Roc is most used climbing helmet. I had one and liked it for its simplicity and performance. Eventually it developed a crack in the brim (from what I don't know) so away it went. Next I had an Elios and liked it even more. A metal rivet (the only metal component in an otherwise all-plastic helmet) failed and back it went to REI, replaced by a Meteor 3.

At this point I have to talk about perspiration. I had an Edelrid Ultralight which was literally destroyed by the salt in my sweat. Buckles became hopelessly corroded, and rivets failed. Yes, I sweat a lot. If you also do, and do not vigilantly rinse your gear after each daily use (like I never do), you can be sure that your helmet's life will be compromised if it has any metal parts.

Happily, the Metor 3 has no metal parts. I've used this helmet for lots of cragging, alpine and big wall climbing over a couple of years and am happy with almost every nuance of it. I did like the adjusting wheel on the Elios better than the two-sided adjustment sliders on the M3. I honestly have still not gotten a solid groove on adjusting the M3 without taking it off, but to me that's not a big inconvenience. The headlamp attachment points seem secure and sleek, and the adjustability and comfort good enough to virtually forget it's on your head. The unit I own has seen a decent amount of mileage over a span of time and is showing no signs of needing replacement.

It seems a critical test in any helmet review would be to fully explore the protection each offers. That being beyond the scope of this review, I would again purchase and do recommend this headlamp for any rock climbing use.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Jan 16, 2010 - 04:16pm
Cpt0bvi0u5 · Climber · Merced CA
This is a great helmet. Im not usually one for helmets but if I'm on a big wall or a climb I know that a fall is possible I'll slip this one on and forget it is there. It is extremely adjustable and the clips for the headlamp on the helmet are fantastic. The only issue I have with the helmet is i cant take as much of a beating as other helmets. Will it protect your noggin in a bad fall? Absolutely! But I noticed if I hit my head on a wall (happens on small ledges) that it leaves minor indents on the foam on the side. Nothing big but this isn't a helmet you can sit on and beat the crap out of. But if you take care of it, it will take care of you.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Dec 9, 2009 - 07:32am
bkalaska · Climber · San Francisco, CA
This is my go to for trad climbing. It is light, comfortable and well ventilated. At first I thought that the size adjustment was cheap, but it has held up well and tightens easily by pushing the suspension together. It is fragile, and for that reason I will not take it on aid climbs where a broken helmet would mean no helmet for the rest of the climb. One last comment would be that the headlamp attachment works well, but is harder to get on than the elios.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Dec 5, 2009 - 10:38pm
Hummerchine · Climber · East Wenatchee, WA
I'm with Hudon; I've been climbing a ton for over 30 years, most of which did not involve wearing a helmet. I climb safer every year, figure if I have not been injured yet, why start now. No question in my mind that wearing a helmet is safer; having said that, and after committing to wearing one a few years back, I'm still not at 100% usage. Part of that is occasionally forgetting it! Anyway, this helmet is as close as you can get to not noticing you are wearing a helmet. I see people wearing hats to keep sun off their head; try this! Most of the time in gear there are multiple options that are overall such close calls as to which is best…in helmets, this is the one to buy! Lightest, most comfortable, low profile, designed with crushable foam all around like bike helmets which I think is safer…

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Dec 4, 2009 - 05:51pm
Mark Hudon · Climber · Hood River, OR
I'm old school where we never wore a helmet. I can't say that I love wearing this one but I guess I should since I usually can't remember if I have it on or not! Wearing it is basically a non-issue.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Dec 4, 2009 - 11:15am
the Fet · Climber · Tu-Tok-A-Nu-La
Good review. I have large head and I hate wearing helmets, or even hats, but the Meteor III is more comfortable than a headlamp.

Petzl freakin' rules.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No


Have you used the Petzl Meteor III?
Don't hold back. Share your viewpoint by posting a review with your thoughts...

Write a Review on this Gear
Click to enlarge
The Meteor III is extremely lightweight and very comfortable.
Credit: Petzl website
Where's the Best Price?
Seller Price
CampSaver $93.50  -  7% off!
Backcountry $99.95
Amazon $99.95
Compare prices at 4 sellers >

*Help support OutdoorGearLab. If you click on one of the seller links and make a purchase, a portion of the sale helps support this site
Related Best-in-Class Review
Best Climbing Helmet for Your Dome

Best Climbing Helmet for Your Dome

We chose eight top climbing helmets, dragged them through tight chimneys and up big walls, sport climbs, and long trad routes to pick the best.
Video video review
Helpful Buying Tips
How to Choose the Best Climbing Helmet - Click for details
 How to Choose the Best Climbing Helmet

by Chris Van Leuven, Chris McNamara
Get More OutdoorGearLab
Follow us on Twitter, be a fan on Facebook!
Subscribe to our Newsletter
Related Gear Reviews