Hands-on Gear Review

Compare climbing harness ratings side-by-side >

CAMP Quartz CR3 Review

   
Editors' Choice Award

Climbing Harness - Men's

  • Currently 3.6/5
Overall avg rating 3.6 of 5 based on 6 reviews. Most recent review: July 25, 2013
Street Price:   $55 | Compare prices at 1 resellers
Pros:  waist belt, features,
Cons:  gear loops
Best Uses:  sport climbing, trad climbing, multi-pitch climbing, gym climbing
User Rating:     
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
 (3.4 of 5) based on 5 reviews
Recommendations:  75% of reviewers (3/4) recommend this product
Manufacturer:   Camp
Review by: Chris McNamara ⋅ Founder and Editor-in-Chief, OutdoorGearLab ⋅ February 8, 2010  
Overview
The CAMP Quartz CR3 is a Rock Climbing Harness that has a ton of features; it's a true techie's harness. There is a special belay loop that keeps the belay biner from cross loading, an extra way to tighten the waist belt, special rounding to the padding and self-locking buckles. This harness has one of the most comfortable waist belts we tested. Overall it is a great all-around harness that is highly adjustable and not too expensive, especially considering all the features.

If those features are important to you, then it is a great harness for the money that will excel in any application. If those features are not important, you might also consider the Black Diamond Momentum SA, which is not quite as comfortable but is $10 less. If you don't want the adjustable leg loops, there is the CAMP Quartz (for some reason it costs $5 extra). Also consider the Petzl Sama that is a little less comfortable but also lighter, more streamlined and a little less expensive. Overall, this harness stood out as one we would eagerly grab for long routes in Yosemite.

View our complete Climbing Harness Review to see how this product compared to others.

Compare top rated competitors side-by-side >

  • Photos
Click to enlarge
Click to enlarge
Click to enlarge
Click to enlarge


OutdoorGearLab Editors' Hands-on Review

Likes
The waist belt is among the most comfortable we tested if not the most. It has a special rounded top that keeps it from digging into your side and feels nice even with your shirt off. While not totally intuitive (we had to read the manual to figure it out), there is a cool adjustable waist belt. When most harnesses get bigger or smaller around the waist the position of the gear loops on the buckle side changes. But this harness, once you figure it out, allows you to center the harness where you want it. Brilliant.

Another feature we finally figured out after reading the manual was the cool belay device feature where you can slide the belay device into a special slot in the belay loop. This makes it hard to cross load the biner or for pear-shaped biners to flip into an awkward position. It does take a little extra effort to set up the belay device this way and we seldom used this feature. But someone who is extra safety conscious or really wants to make sure their belay device is positioned right will appreciate it.

The adjustment for the rear leg loops was one of the best we tested. It is easy to adjust the leg loops while the harness is on. In comparison, the Black Diamond leg loop attachments on their high end harnesses were in a similar spot but much harder to get on and off. The haul loop is just where we like it: below the harness so that the biner does not press into you in chimneys.

We generally prefer harnesses without adjustable leg loops. However, at least with these adjustable leg loops the extra webbing tucked away cleanly and the buckles were low profile. Ironically, the version without the adjustable leg loops costs $5 more, not less.

Dislikes
The gear loops were not our favorites. They don't have much stiffness, which makes them harder to clip and means that the gear clumps up. It's not a big deal, but we definitely preferred other gear loops.

There is no padding between the waist buckle and your skin so if you climb with your shirt off you will feel the metal buckle. It never irritated our skin, but we noticed it. There is a space between the front and rear gear loops for a special biner for ice climbing. While this is great if you are an ice climber, for rock climbing it pushes the rear gear loop further back than it needs to be.

On a minor note, the leg loops are not as comfortable as the waist belt. They are good, but the waist belt stands out while the legs are just good.

Best Application
This is an all-around harness designed for everything from the gym to El Cap. It is one of the few non "big wall specific harnesses" we would take on El Capitan. It excels at multi-pitch climbing where you are hanging around a lot.

Value
This is a good value for having adjustable leg loops most such harnesses cost at least $10 more. The Black Diamond Momentum SA and Mad Rock Mars are among the few that cost less but they are not as comfortable.

Other Versions
Camp Quartz CR and the female version Camp Jade CR.

Chris McNamara, Chris Van Leuven

Compare this product side-by-side to top competitors >

Where to Buy?

Seller Price  Shipping Cost Visit
MooseJaw
$54.99  -  21% off! FREE!*

Thinking about buying some gear we've reviewed? Help OutdoorGearLab out if you do. Just click on any of the above seller links and if you make any purchase, the seller will contribute a portion of the sale to help support this site. It won't cost you anything extra, and it's a simple way to help us fund our gear reviews. Thanks!

*Most retailers free shipping offers apply only to lower 48 US states using ground/economy shipping. See retailer's website for details.


OutdoorGearLab Member Reviews


Most recent review: July 25, 2013
Summary of All Ratings

OutdoorGearLab Editors' Rating:   
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
 (4.0)
Average Customer Rating:   
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
 (3.4)

75% of 4 reviewers recommend it
Rating Distribution
6 Total Ratings
5 star: 17%  (1)
4 star: 50%  (3)
3 star: 0%  (0)
2 star: 33%  (2)
1 star: 0%  (0)
Sort 5 member reviews by: Most Recent | Most Helpful
Write a Review on this Gear

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Jul 25, 2013 - 04:16pm
Ragatokk · Climber · Norway
When you fall or hang, it hurts on the inside of the thigh where the support is really thin.
Otherwise a rather good harness, I have had it for about a week now, but rather curious as to why this was not mentioned, this said I am not an experienced climber and I might have done something wrong.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   May 18, 2011 - 03:54pm
ozarkroamer · Climber · Kaneohe
This harness is not very comfortable. The padding on the waist belt is pretty stiff and the leg loops taper down a lot and dig in where the leg loop is narrow. The dimensions of the harness just seam off. I am right in the middle of the size range so it wasn't that I had the wrong size. The harness's belay loop is small so it brings the leg loops up too high and material from the belay loop to the leg loop is also short, bring them up more. Also the gear loops are not that great. I was very disappointed with this harness especially for the price and what I heard for other reviews (Supertopo). I have a blackdiamond momentum SA and thought I was upgrading, but this was a downgrade. If you are looking for a harness with speed buckles or a good harness in this price range save $10 and get the blackdiamond momentum SA. It's lighter, has better gear loops, and is way more comfortable than this harness. At least I got this for backcountry and they will let me send it back.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Mar 28, 2011 - 03:44am
WML · Climber · Edge of the Electric Ocean Beneath Red Rock
Best harness I have owned, period.

If you are thinking of getting this harness, just do it. Why?

As is stated in the review by Chris Mac, this thing is super comfortable. I have owned my CR3 for just over a year now and have put it through some extensive use. It has excelled at everything I have thrown its way, whether it has been multi-pitch rock (Being able to feel your legs after hanging belays is a pleasant experience), single pitch cragging, sport, ice, and alpine climbing. Very comfortable with or without shirt, breathes well, simple. Generally a harness should not be something you are noticing (in terms of pain or wear) while wearing it, and this sticks with that ideal.

The only drawback of this harness is that the gear loops are extremely flexible.

5/5, and would still be my main harness right now if I hadn't recently dropped some lbs and the damn thing got to be too big for me now.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Jun 30, 2010 - 01:00pm
MN_SlowTrad · Climber · MN
I can recommend this with a caveat: don't expect it to last very long in places like JTree or Black Hills, SD. I wore my new CAMP Quartz CR3 to the Black Hills this past weekend and climbed a couple of classics that required some chimney moves. The back side of the swami got pretty tore up by the crystals. The material covering the foam is not all that "burly".

But it is super light and pretty comfortable, even compared to my regular trad harness (MM Cadillac). Gear loops didn't bother me, but they are a little flaccid. Loved the feature that keeps the tie in point centered (I am large).

Overall good to great harness.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Apr 24, 2010 - 06:56am
powderrush · Climber · Back of My Truck, CA
I just bought mine awhile ago/shortly after the harness was reviewed on supertopo and man do I like it! It's super comfy… but adjusting your, um, nether regions took a little getting used to; I think that's as a result of me being so used to my ol' BD Momentum harness. Other than that it's super cush with a nice waistbelt, racks gear pretty well, is great to hang in, and still looks new after 4/5 months climbing. The carabiner loop in the belay loop is very cool, it took a few sessions to get it broken into so the carabiner could be easily removed and taken out.

It is sized kind of weird though. The leg loops on the medium don't get very large and I'm not a big guy at all so I had to upgrade to a large where the legs fit great but I have to synch the waistbelt all the way, it almost even made me feel fat for a minute.

Overall I love it thought would recommend to anyone looking for a moderately priced comfy harness that works well on short trad days, multi-pitch, gym or top-roping.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No


Have you used the CAMP Quartz CR3?
Don't hold back. Share your viewpoint by posting a review with your thoughts...

Write a Review on this Gear
Click to enlarge
Camp Quartz C3 Climbing Harness
Credit: camp-usa.com
Where's the Best Price?
Seller Price
MooseJaw $54.99  -  21% off!
Compare prices at 1 sellers >

*Help support OutdoorGearLab. If you click on one of the seller links and make a purchase, a portion of the sale helps support this site
Related Best-in-Class Review
The Best Climbing Harness Review

The Best Climbing Harness Review

A review of top climbing harness options for trad, sport, and gym climbing.
Video video review
Helpful Buying Tips
How to Choose the Best Climbing Harness - Click for details
 How to Choose the Best Climbing Harness

by Chris McNamara, Chris Van Leuven, Ian Nicholson
Get More OutdoorGearLab
Follow us on Twitter, be a fan on Facebook!
Subscribe to our Newsletter
Related Gear Reviews