Hands-on Gear Review

Compare approach shoes ratings side-by-side >

Five Ten Camp Four Review

   
Top Pick Award

Approach Shoes - Men's

  • Currently 3.9/5
Overall avg rating 3.9 of 5 based on 16 reviews. Most recent review: January 8, 2014
Street Price:   Varies from $100 - $150 | Compare prices at 6 resellers
Pros:  Durable, good all-around performance
Cons:  Not great at edging, a little bulky when put in a backpack
Best Uses:  Big walls, big hikes, every day approach shoe
User Rating:     
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
 (3.9 of 5) based on 15 reviews
Recommendations:  80% of reviewers (8/10) recommend this product
Manufacturer:   Five Ten
Review by: Chris McNamara ⋅ Founder and Editor-in-Chief, OutdoorGearLab ⋅ May 4, 2012  
Overview
The Camp Four stands out as perhaps the most versatile Five Ten approach shoe. Its design makes it work on big hikes as well as big walls. Ammon McNeely has set many of his El Capitan speed records in this shoe, which is testament to the durability of the toe rand and overall design. It does not climb as well as the Five Ten Guide Tennie and is not as light as the Five Ten Savant or Five Ten Daescent. But it is a much better all-around shoe and is probably the most well-rounded of all the Five Ten shoes. Most other shoes that climb well do not do nearly as well on long hikes as the Camp 4 does. No approach shoes or any rock shoes last forever, but this one is pretty beefy and performs solidly in a lot of conditions. It is popular with guides because it climbs well on easier terrain but is beefy enough for many many days of hiking and scrambling.

View our complete Climbing Approach Shoe Review to see how this compared to others.

Compare top rated competitors side-by-side >

  • Photos
Click to enlarge
Click to enlarge
Click to enlarge
Click to enlarge
Click to enlarge
Click to enlarge
Click to enlarge
Click to enlarge
Click to enlarge


OutdoorGearLab Editors' Hands-on Review

Likes
This is one of the best all-around approach shoes. You can hike for miles, scramble 4th class with confidence and climb big walls. It is beefy and durable relative to most other approach shoes. The tread pattern is a nice riff on the old standard dot tread. The tread is more aggressive, which gives better traction but still smears incredibly well. The design of the sole makes it relatively comfortable for hanging around in aiders.

Dislikes
Because they are so beefy, they are not a great shoe for multi-pitch climbing. If you clip them to the side of your harness you really notice them. If you put them in your daypack they take up a bunch of space. They also don't edge particularly well.

Value
These are a little on the expensive side. However, they do have a longer than normal lifespan so they give great overall value.

Other Versions
Five Ten Camp Four - Women's, $150. These shoes feel like they could handle a beating and protect your feet during rough use.
The Five Ten AEscent Men's, $110, has added traction and is lightweight.
Five Ten Guide Tennie Canvas NEW, $130.
The Five Ten Guide Tennie - Women's, $119, is a great all-around approach shoe and climbs better than most others.

Chris McNamara

Compare this product side-by-side to top competitors >

Where to Buy?


Thinking about buying some gear we've reviewed? Help OutdoorGearLab out if you do. Just click on any of the above seller links and if you make any purchase, the seller will contribute a portion of the sale to help support this site. It won't cost you anything extra, and it's a simple way to help us fund our gear reviews. Thanks!

*Most retailers free shipping offers apply only to lower 48 US states using ground/economy shipping. See retailer's website for details.


OutdoorGearLab Member Reviews


Most recent review: January 8, 2014
Summary of All Ratings

OutdoorGearLab Editors' Rating:   
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
 (4.0)
Average Customer Rating:   
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
 (3.9)

80% of 10 reviewers recommend it
Rating Distribution
13 Total Ratings
5 star: 38%  (5)
4 star: 31%  (4)
3 star: 15%  (2)
2 star: 15%  (2)
1 star: 0%  (0)
Sort 15 member reviews by: Most Recent | Most Helpful
Write a Review on this Gear

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Jan 8, 2014 - 01:11pm
Right length but much stiffer, and tighter across my wide foot and high instep, than I've been used to with other approach/hiking shoes. (I'm not a climber but I like this kind of shoe.) I thought they'd ease, but was ready to give up before stuffing bags of water into them and freezing them. This worked amazingly well, now they're perfect. Equally stable and comfortable on dry rock, wet rock, gravel, cobbles, mud…. everything. Very grippy in all conditions I tried, yet muck doesn't build up on the soles. Highly recommended.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Feb 3, 2013 - 03:29pm
Rick LeDuc · Climber · Mazama, WA
I'm on my 3rd pair and I've never had a problem with fit or break in on any pair I've purchased. I have high arches and the Camp 4's accommodate my feet perfectly. The extra thick rubber heel and toe cap offer excellent protection. In the summer I wear them almost every day, for approaches, work, casual, you name it. I love these shoes.

If there's one weak spot its that the uppers split/wear-out faster than the soles do. A little patch work can easily fix the problem.

I'll be buying another pair this spring………….

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

Feb 3, 2013 - 01:57pm
 
Old Hand · Climber · Lilliwaup, WA
Just picked up my second pair of Camp Fours. After a few years of abusing a pair of the Prodigy in the Olympics, I found them to be the most durable, comfortable and versatile "shoe" I've ever owned. After those were discontinued, the C4 was the closest match, and I wasn't disappointed. This is a tough shoe for mixed terrain and long distance comfort. I've never experienced the quality control issues mentioned here--quite the contrary--and they've held up better than anything I've owned outside of full on mountaineering boots. Handles 50 milers without trouble, and is a great shoe for a late season Bailey Range Traverse, for example. Not a nitch shoe, by any means.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Jan 20, 2013 - 04:43pm
Jay Wood · Climber · Land of God-less fools
I've had these for a year. They suck as approach shoes, but are good for knock around because they fit so sloppy that they slip on and off without tying/untying, and the thick sole keeps you up out of the wet. Don't even think about climbing in them. Agree with the ankle-turning comments below.

Have been through ~ 6 different approach shoes. The Gandas, while expensive, ROCK and climb up to 5.9
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Jan 20, 2013 - 02:34pm
FreddyD · Mountain Biker · new york
I'm now on my fourth pair of these.

1st pair: after 7 months started splitting where the toe guard rubber material stated coming away from the leather of the shoe.

2nd pair: Shop replaced previous pair. These lasted fine, based on which I bought a third pair.

3th pair: Developed a squeak with two months of light use. I could feel layers of rubber within the sole rubbing against each other as they were coming apart.

4th pair: Shop replaced previous pair. This pair now squelch if exposed to moisture.

They're very comfy, extremely good grip but for the money they just aren't made very well. FiveTen really need to address these. 3 our of 4 pairs of these shoes have been faulty. This really isn't what I expect for this level of product.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Nov 3, 2012 - 09:43pm
Banquo · Climber · aMERRICKa
These are good approach shoes and I think they climb well. I can generally manage about 5.8 in them which is good since I fall off anything over 5.9 regardless of what I have on my feet.

I've had these for quite awhile and they are beginning to wear out. I've liked them but am not sure I will get the same again.

The uppers wear out fairly fast but you can prevent that with a little modification. I used a sewing awl to sew a piece of webbing to the outside of the upper where they wear out first. I cut some flat webbing, saturated it in silicone sealant and glued it to the shoe with more silicone. I then sewed it in place and smeared more silicone over the stitching. It has lasted a long while this way. Make sure and run the webbing out over the toe rand.
Click to enlarge
Credit: Banquo
The other problem I have is the toe box is small. This is good for climbing but not so good for long hikes. A little over a year ago I hiked about 45 miles in two days in them and lost 4 toenails (I know, stupid shoes to wear for a long hike). This year I did a long hard approach (and return) on steep terrain with a pack and lost one big toenail. I wear 9.5 in street shoes or boots and mine are 9.5. I don't think I would buy a bigger pair because I don't think they would climb well and I don't think the lacing would tighten them up. My somewhat low volume foot is a challenge to get the laces tight and the resulting pucker at the toe may be what is killing toenails. I've taken to skipping the center toe eyelet for this reason.

Summary:
Comfortable
Stable
Climb well
Very stylish
Wear out fairly fast
black toenails

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Oct 23, 2012 - 04:38pm
Getch · Climber · Flagstaff, AZ
I love this shoe. I bought it because I have a size 15 foot and have few options. The fit is rubbish. The forefoot is extremely wide, I have noticed this about many of their shoes. It might be that I have a Yeti sized foot, but friends with a size 10 agree.

They also fall apart pretty quick. I went through a pair in 3 months of light use. The last peeled off the upper, but 5.10 sent me a new pair.

I am just getting into bigwall and I'm stuck between this shoe and the guide tennie. Overall compared to better shoes like LaSportiva, their shoes are higher volume.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Jul 18, 2012 - 12:33am
riley wyna · Climber · cali
I have heard some folks have had great results with these shoes.
Not me - mine are on consignment in Bishop for almost half of the 155 dollars I paid for them last week in Tuolumne.
I wore them for about 3 hours on the approach to Conness and than a few days at work in the ER to try and break them in a bit.

In short - they are ankle sprainers.
Easily the most unstable shoe I have ever worn.
I'm not smart enough to understand why - they have what seems like a high heel and you are certainly a lot taller when wearing them - perhaps something about the center of gravity on them just rolls you over.
They actually rolled over on me just stepping on a tiny offset crack on a sidewalk.

I tried to use them - it really sucked spending this much cash and than not be able to wear them.
Perhaps if you don't have weak little girl ankles than you will ok.

I thought about using them for just for big walls but I would certainly break my leg wearing them if i tried to walk off El Cap tired and with a big load.

pros

They are bomber and sort of feel like you are wearing tanks on your feet.
They stick to rocks like lichen and lizards.
The big heal cup seems to provide some serious support and cussion when walking down hills.


cons
very bulky for a pack or hanging on a harness.
ankle sprainers.
they edge horribly - maybe something to do with their instability as far as turning the ankle?
You basiclaly get all the bulk of boots with none of the edging machine ability of boots.


riley

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Mar 1, 2012 - 02:59pm
jfailing · Climber · Lone Pine
These shoes are the cat's pajamas. I could not be happier with them (wearing them right now).

They're super comfortable and supportive of my incredibly flat feet; they're durable - going on a year and half with this pair and they've still got plenty of life in them; they climb and scramble better than other approach shoes I've used.

I've lead up to 5.9 in them, and they're fantastic for scrambling and using as an all-around shoe for climbs in the Sierras. They're also very comfortable when standing in the aiders, and don't skitter off the rock if you need to bust an easy free-move.

Overall, I will continue to buy these as my main approach shoe. If you want a long lasting, all around approach shoe, this is it.

Edit: one thing I would add - beefier hauling loops on the heel end of the shoe. These shoes are a bit clunky when clipped to a harness, and the beefier haul loop might make more folks rest easier.

Click to enlarge
The FiveTen Camp 4's in action at Red Rocks
Credit: jfailing


Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Apr 7, 2011 - 05:01pm
Josh Nash · Climber · riverbank ca
This shoe is a really good hiker. I was looking for something that would be light enough not to be bothersome hanging on my harness yet beefy enough to hike miles in. This is that shoe. I use this shoe for just about everything now. I've used them for backpacking, day hiking, 4th and low 5th climbing. They are workhorses for sure.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Jan 28, 2011 - 07:39pm
Vegasclimber · Climber · Las Vegas, NV.
This shoe has been great for me in many aspects.

The Camp 4 is my second set, before that I had the Insights and they lasted about a year, mostly due to me getting a half size too small.

The Camp 4s fit my feet perfectly from day one, are super comfortable, and a great all around shoe. I have used mine for hiking, climbing, approaches, and daily wear and recommend them to anyone.

As noted, they are a bit bulky for a lead pack, but I generally clip mine to the back of my harness and they don't get in the way too much.

My pair is over 2 years old now, and need to be replaced. Considering that they were daily wear, I am more then pleased with the life of the shoe considering the amount of use.

I recently bought the Exum Guides, and have not been at all pleased with them even though they are on the same last as the Camp 4. So I will be buying a new pair of 4s soon.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Aug 14, 2010 - 01:44pm
Nkane · Climber · San Francisco, USA
I really like these shoes. They're beefy enough for rough approaches with a pack and they fit my feet well. Definitely more of a hiking shoe with sticky rubber than a climbing shoe that hikes.

HOWEVER - I want to point out that the weird rounded heel, while making them theoretically more stable with a pack, makes these VERY scary to plunge step in snow with - the rounded shape kicks your foot out and lands you on your ass. So beware taking these on early season approaches that have snow crossings.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Aug 11, 2010 - 11:17pm
Mtnmun · Climber · Top of the Mountain Mun
Approaches, walk offs, trail running, stream crossings, etc. These are the best all around mountain shoes I have ever owned. I need a new pair about every 8 months, but I give them plenty of abuse. I am on my 5th pair or so. They stick amazingly well on loose scree over rock, those little nubs dig in well.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
May 18, 2010 - 12:16am
 
enjoimx · Climber · Yosemite, ca
Amazing shoe. I feel so confident on rock terrain with these shoes. They smear well…you can climb up low angle face with more confidence than climbing shoes sometimes, because these feel more supportive. Ive done some long hikes in these, and have been working construction with them for the last three months. Its nice to have 5.10 rubber when you are up on a ladder.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

0 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
Aug 11, 2010 - 07:47pm
 
Mighty Hiker · Climber · Vancouver, B.C.
I have a pair of 5.10 "Guide Tennies", which are OK for general use, approaches, and scrambling, though as others have noted, not so good in damp places. They also don't provide a lot of support or cushioning, although I use orthotics in them, which helps.

It sounds like the "Camp Fours" are more an approach/hiking/scrambling shoe, and less an approach/climbing shoe. Is that correct? How would they be in damp places?
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No


Have you used the Five Ten Camp Four?
Don't hold back. Share your viewpoint by posting a review with your thoughts...

Write a Review on this Gear
Click to enlarge
Five Ten Camp 4
Credit: Fiveten.com
Where's the Best Price?
Seller Price
Amazon $99.71  -  13% off!
CampSaver $119.96  -  20% off!
MountainGear $149.95
Compare prices at 6 sellers >

*Help support OutdoorGearLab. If you click on one of the seller links and make a purchase, a portion of the sale helps support this site
Related Best-in-Class Review
Best Climbing Approach Shoes

Best Climbing Approach Shoes

We looked at 13 of the best climbing approach shoes and put them through rigorous head to head tests.
Video video review
Helpful Buying Tips
Get More OutdoorGearLab
Follow us on Twitter, be a fan on Facebook!
Subscribe to our Newsletter
Related Gear Reviews