The world's most in-depth and scientific reviews of outdoor gear

Black Diamond Glidelite 147 Snow Trekkers Review

Unique, all-in-one skis for gentle, fresh-snow exploring of mellow open terrain.
Top Pick Award
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Price:  $470 List | $469.95 at REI
Compare prices at 2 resellers
Pros:  Unique, purpose-built, “one stop shopping”
Cons:  Very narrow application, limited to mellow terrain in soft snow
Manufacturer:   Black Diamond
By Jediah Porter ⋅ Review Editor  ⋅  Feb 27, 2019
  • Share this article:
33
OVERALL
SCORE


RANKED
#12 of 12
  • Weight - 25% 7
  • Stability at Speed - 15% 2
  • Firm Snow - 20% 1
  • Powder - 20% 4
  • Crud and Poor Snow - 20% 1

Our Verdict

The Black Diamond Glidelite Snow Trekkers are the most unique ski product we've seen in a decade. Essentially, they create a whole new niche of product and enable a sort of outdoor adventuring that will appeal to a broad set of the ski population. They enable gentle and casual exploration of mellow winter landscapes with a minimum of commitment, gear, and skill. They go much further than cross-country skis and are far less complicated and costly than AT ski setups. In the right context, these will enable many people to explore their favorite wildernesses in winter comfort and fun. Mind the limitations, please. As encouraging as our prose and our award granting is, the Snow Trekkers have genuine limitations. On firm snow, regular cross country skis are better. Anytime the terrain is steeper than your typical road grade, dedicated AT skis are vastly superior.


Compare to Similar Products

 
Awards Top Pick Award Editors' Choice Award  Best Buy Award Best Buy Award 
Price $469.95 at REI
Compare at 2 sellers
$949 List$698.95 at Backcountry$470.91 at Amazon
Compare at 2 sellers
$699.95 at Backcountry
Compare at 2 sellers
Overall Score Sort Icon
100
0
33
100
0
86
100
0
80
100
0
76
100
0
75
Star Rating
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Pros Unique, purpose-built, “one stop shopping”Light, well-balanced downhill performanceAll around ski performance, hit what we consider to be the weight ‘sweet spot’Light and versatileLight, all around downhill performance
Cons Very narrow application, limited to mellow terrain in soft snowExpensive, ski “short”Grabby firm snow performance, expensiveLimited poor snow performanceWobble in longer radius powder turns, slow down in tough snow
Bottom Line Unique, all-in-one skis for gentle, fresh-snow exploring of mellow open terrain.Excellent, all around backcountry skis for human powered adventures in nearly all conditions.Excellent backcountry skis for the majority of applications.All around choice for beginner to advanced backcountry skiers on a budget.Light, big mountain skis for human powered skiing in all conditions; you won’t ski like a movie star, but you will ski it all efficiently and easy on your wallet.
Rating Categories Glidelite 147 Snow Trekkers Kastle TX98 Volkl VTA 98 Fischer Hannibal Blizzard Zero G 95
Weight (25%)
10
0
7
10
0
8
10
0
7
10
0
8
10
0
8
Stability At Speed (15%)
10
0
2
10
0
8
10
0
8
10
0
5
10
0
7
Firm Snow (20%)
10
0
1
10
0
9
10
0
7
10
0
9
10
0
9
Powder (20%)
10
0
4
10
0
9
10
0
10
10
0
8
10
0
6
Crud And Poor Snow (20%)
10
0
1
10
0
9
10
0
8
10
0
7
10
0
7
Specs Glidelite 147 Snow... Kastle TX98 Volkl VTA 98 Fischer Hannibal Blizzard Zero G 95
Tested length 147 178 184 183 178
Actual Length 146 177 185 183 176
Weight Per Pair (lbs.) 8.1 lbs 6.2 lbs 6.4 lbs 6.2 lbs 5.9 lbs
Available Lengths 147 168, 178, 188 156, 163, 170, 177, 184 162, 169, 176, 183 164, 171, 178, 185
Claimed Dimensions 124/110/122 128/98/117 133/98/116 126/96/114 128/95/111.5
Actual Dimensions 132/110/122 122/97/116 132/98/111 127/97/113 123/94/110
Weight Per Ski grams 1855g, 1828g, average: 1842g 1394g, 1400g, average: 1397g 1454g, 1449g, average: 1452g 1421g, 1388g, average: 1405g 1340g, 1347g, average: 1344g
Weight Per Pair grams 3683 2794 2903 2809 2687
Weight per Surface Area Ratio, g/cm^2 1.04 0.71 0.69 0.69 0.7
Construction Type Cap Sandwich Cap Hybrid Sandwich Cap Hybrid Sandwich Cap Hybrid Sandwich
Core Material compression-resistant elastic foam Karuba Wood Beech, poplar & paulownia Paulownia wood with carbon stringers Paulownia wood, Carbon Drive Technology
Waist Width 110 98 98 97 95
Radius (meters) N/a 22 22.3 21 21
Rocker/Camber Slight camber Low camber Tip rocker Tip rocker Tip and tail rocker, camber underfoot

Our Analysis and Test Results

On the US market, this is a brand new category of gear. Are they fast snowshoes, or slow skis? Are they for going downhill, uphill, or neither? Are they most similar to cross-country skis, AT skis, or those once-trendy "snow blades"? Because of the buzz around their release and because of their unique position in the market, we had to get ahold of a pair. Testing is easy and quite enjoyable. As it turns out, where and when these skis excel is in low-commitment, casual adventures through meadows and valleys. Who doesn't love a stroll in the woods with slippery flotation on their feet? We have countless warnings and limitations to advise you about with the Black Diamond Glidelite 147 "skis". We'll elaborate on all that below, but wrap up our summary by saying that there is no better product we know of for mellow (read: flat) wilderness ski exploration.

Performance Comparison


It is a bold move to compare a niche product like this to your typical Alpine Touring backcountry skis. We only make these comparisons because you might be doing the same without the opportunity to try before you buy. At first glance, these seem like backcountry skis that are easier to set up, cheaper, and a little more maneuverable. That isn't the case. In every way, for what most call "backcountry skiing", any of the other skis we use are vastly superior to the Black Diamond Glidelite 147 Snow Trekkers. In exceptional circumstances though, these are the best tool for the job. If you are headed out to essentially flat terrain, in fresh snow, with limited time to select, prepare, and maintain equipment and limited skills or time to acquire specialized skills, these skis are great. Their function and application is so unique that we had to grant them our Top Pick award. This is a clever category of equipment and for a variety of reasons the Black Diamond Glidelite 147 is the best available.

In many ways, the Glidelite Snow Trekkers compare better to snowshoes. Throughout our testing and subsequent review, we found ourselves comparing them to snowshoes. Overall, the Glidelite Snow Trekkers are heavier than snowshoes and don't work as well on steep terrain. They are better than snowshoes in deep snow trail breaking and are much more efficient on flats, gentle ups, and low-angle descents. There is a slightly greater learning curve with the Snow Trekkers than with snowshoes of any sort.

For mellow terrain and fresh snow exploration  the Top Pick Snow Trekkers are a unique and budget-friendly ski option.
For mellow terrain and fresh snow exploration, the Top Pick Snow Trekkers are a unique and budget-friendly ski option.

Weight


The Black Diamond Glidelite 147 skis come equipped with universal bindings. To compare their weight to the other non-bound skis is misleading. On the surface, the 8-pound skis seem like the heaviest in the test. Indeed, even when we add modern AT bindings to the other skis we tested, their weight is less than the bound Glidelite skis. Even this comparison, though, is not apt. With the Glidelite skis, you can use your own hiking boots. This alone saves a ton of weight and is truly different than anything else we have tested here.


At over 8 pounds, including bindings and skins, this is not ultralight equipment. The lightest AT setups, including bindings and skins, are lighter and offer more control. The Top Pick Atomic Backland 78 skis with suitably ultralight bindings and skins are around 2/3rds the weight of the Snow Trekkers. Snowshoes also are lighter. The Editors Choice MSR Lightning Ascent is half the weight of the Snow Trekkers. Despite the weight penalty, in their intended conditions, the Snow Trekkers are more efficient. They glide better than any snowshoes and better than any skin-equipped AT skis. The ability to use lightweight, flexible hiking shoes further enhances efficiency in stride.

The clever "universal" binding of the Snow Trekkers works on your regular flexible hiking boots. In fact  according to emphatic BD information  they are not to be used with rigid soled boots.
The clever "universal" binding of the Snow Trekkers works on your regular flexible hiking boots. In fact, according to emphatic BD information, they are not to be used with rigid soled boots.

Stability at Speed


This is almost laughable. These are not meant for high-speed sliding. To test, we took them on some screaming fast packed-road descents. We were terrified. The good news is that they are not intended for that purpose. Even normal cross-country skis are better at firm and fast conditions, downhill. The Glidelite 147 Snow Trekkers are for soft snow shuffling, with just occasional short downhills. Very skilled skiers can make turns of sorts in excellent snow and on gentle (less than 15 deg or so) terrain.


Every single other AT ski we tested vastly exceeds the stability of the Black Diamond Snow Trekker. Any sort of speed on the Glidelite requires nerves of steel and well-developed skills.

Whether you are coming from a ski background  a hiking background  or with no experience at all  the Snow Trekkers will require some adjustment time. No matter how much you practice with them  some terrain will be just too much.
Whether you are coming from a ski background, a hiking background, or with no experience at all, the Snow Trekkers will require some adjustment time. No matter how much you practice with them, some terrain will be just too much.

Firm Snow


Again, this isn't what they are made for. The metal edges belie their actual performance. The main issue with firm snow performance is actually beyond the ski itself. The bindings are intended only for soft-sole hiking boots. The Glidelite Snow Trekkers come with explicit instructions to not use rigid boots in the bindings. Stiffer boots would definitely ski downhill better, especially on firm snow. But those same stiff boots will damage the bindings with greater leverage.


All the other skis we tested work better on firm snow. Even the noodly Top Pick DPS Wailer 99 Tour1 is better on firm snow. A stiff and narrow option like the Best Buy Blizzard Zero G 95 is in a whole different league. We didn't test outside of the manufacturer's recommendations, but we do envision with good authority that the Glidelite Snow Trekkers would make better hard snow snow plow turns with stiffer boots. Regular mountaineering boots are the logical choice, but their rigid sole is recommended against by Black Diamond. Mountaineering boots would ski noticeably better in the Snow Trekkers than your typical winter hiking boots.

The striped portion in the center of each ski is "climbing skin" material for grip.
The striped portion in the center of each ski is "climbing skin" material for grip.

Powder


In perfect powder is the only situation in which even our highly skilled test team could make serviceable turns with the Black Diamond Glidelite Snow Trekkers. At the right pitch (about 15 degrees from horizontal), on open slopes and in ankle deep, "graduated" powder snow, turns with the Snow Trekkers felt good and enjoyable. Deeper, steeper, or with any issues in snow consistency and the Snow Trekkers suffered and sent us back to survival skiing techniques. The real nice thing about powder skiing with the Snow Trekkers is that you can seamlessly go from uphill to down. To skiers accustomed to major boot and skin transitions, the lack of changeover is a welcome diversion.


Again, all the other skis go downhill in powder better than the Snow Trekkers. In fact, all the downhill characteristics are exceeded with other products. It is in powder snow that the competition gets the closest. The super skinny and lightweight Top Pick Atomic Backland UL 78 only slightly edges out the Snow Trekkers in perfect powder. The difference is even less dramatic between these two for unpracticed powder skiers. The skinny Atomic requires greater speed and energy in powder skiing than the Snow Trekkers. Beginner and non-skiers will actually enjoy the Snow Trekkers more in powder because they do their thing at lower speeds.

Here you see the full Snow Trekkers all set up and ready for use.
Here you see the full Snow Trekkers all set up and ready for use.

Because it doesn't fit anywhere else, we have to point out an issue with the bindings of the Snow Trekkers in powder snow. Loose snow works its way into the flexible mechanism under your foot and freezes there with repeated compression of each step. The growing ice prevents contraction of the spring-loaded aspect of the binding tension. The result is an ever-loosening binding as you ski. Periodic (like, once every hour or so) stops to clear the ice are required for secure attachment.

Our one construction issue with the Snow Trekkers was this ice build up in the binding. This accumulation of ice grows with each step and eventually loosens the binding on your foot.
Our one construction issue with the Snow Trekkers was this ice build up in the binding. This accumulation of ice grows with each step and eventually loosens the binding on your foot.

Crud/Poor Snow


Don't even pretend to try and ski downhill in tough snow on the Black Diamond Glidelite Snow Trekkers. If the snow is deep and slushy or with any sort of breakable crust, you will immediately revert to survival techniques like traverse-kick-turn moves, and desperate snow plow plunges.


Perhaps needless to say, by this point, that every other ski we assessed is better than the Snow Trekkers in tough snow. Again, though, an exception is for non-skiers. The short and wide stature of the Snow Trekker skis is suitable for super-low-speed survival techniques. Snowplowing and kick-turning is easier on these dimensions. If you are a brand new skier, you will find that slow survival skiing is a little easier with the stubby Snow Trekkers than with "regular" backcountry skis. If you have any sort of downhill skiing skill or ability, regular backcountry skis will do better for you than the Snow Trekkers.

This is exactly the sweet spot for the Black Diamond Snow Trekkers. Here  lead tester Jediah Porter uses them to approach a remote ice climb in Western Wyoming. The entire approach was on snow-covered roads and Jed used hiking boots while he carried his ice climbing shoes.
This is exactly the sweet spot for the Black Diamond Snow Trekkers. Here, lead tester Jediah Porter uses them to approach a remote ice climb in Western Wyoming. The entire approach was on snow-covered roads and Jed used hiking boots while he carried his ice climbing shoes.

Best Applications


The best application - heck, the only real application - for these skis is short, low-commitment excursions on fresh soft snow and terrain that is no more confined or steep than your typical two-track forest road. Much exploratory skiing is available within these criteria. For that purpose, these are excellent tools to use. For anything else, select a different product.

The universal fit bindings cinch down on all variety of hiking footwear.
The universal fit bindings cinch down on all variety of hiking footwear.

Value


As the only product like it on the market, these are a pretty good value. When you compare the cost of assembling a full backcountry set up of more traditional equipment, the value is huge. With the Black Diamond Snow Trekkers you get skis, skins, and bindings (plus you get to use your regular winter hiking boots) for less than the price of just the skis should you choose even our Best Buy winner.

Conclusion


Heed all the above warnings and limitations, consider your actual usage, and ponder whether the Top Pick Black Diamond Glidelite 147 Snow Trekkers are for you. If your ski adventuring is defined by soft snow, very gentle terrain, short excursions, and plenty of room to maneuver, these are just the ticket. When a product excels in a narrow niche like this, we can't help but grant it our Top Pick award.


Jediah Porter