The world's most in-depth and scientific reviews of outdoor gear

Atomic Backland UL 78 Review

This is a specialized touring ski for high tempo and high volume ski missions.
Top Pick Award
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Price:  $700 List | $699.00 at Amazon
Pros:  Super light, excellent firm snow performance
Cons:  Slow downhill skiing, tough times in tough snow
Manufacturer:   Atomic
By Jediah Porter ⋅ Review Editor  ⋅  Oct 23, 2019
  • Share this article:
Our Editors independently research, test, and rate the best products. We only make money if you purchase a product through our links, and we never accept free products from manufacturers. Learn more
68
OVERALL
SCORE


RANKED
#11 of 15
  • Weight - 25% 10
  • Stability at Speed - 15% 3
  • Firm Snow - 20% 9
  • Powder - 20% 5
  • Crud and Poor Snow - 20% 5

Our Verdict

The Atomic Backland UL 78 is an outlier product. It sits way outside the main pack - on the lightweight end. Just as far outside the other end of the pack are heavy skis that are likely high on your list, while this end of the bell curve goes unnoticed. We think that dedicated ski tourers should be considering skis in this general category; super light tools for high-volume, rowdy missions. The light weight of these skis enables you, with commensurate improved efficiency and fitness, to ski twice or three times as much terrain as you might have imagined. If skiing Mount Rainier is a big day, imagine doing it before lunch. If you skied the Grand Teton, these will support a mission to ski the Grand-Middle-South. Like the Haute Route? How about doing it all in one day? Our lead test editor took these skis on a recent tour in which he and (similarly equipped) partners racked up nearly 12000 vertical feet of human-powered skiing. Try that on your 8-pound hard-chargers.

Graphics Update

This Top Pick winner was graced with some updated graphics since our testing period, but nothing in the construction of the ski itself has changed. See the new top sheets in the image above.

October 2019


Compare to Similar Products

 
Awards Top Pick Award Editors' Choice Award   Best Buy Award 
Price $699.00 at Amazon$948.95 at Backcountry
Compare at 2 sellers
$698.95 at Backcountry$559.96 at Amazon
Compare at 2 sellers
$458.00 at Amazon
Compare at 2 sellers
Overall Score Sort Icon
100
0
68
100
0
86
100
0
80
100
0
79
100
0
76
Star Rating
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Pros Super light, excellent firm snow performanceLight, well-balanced downhill performanceAll around ski performance, hit what we consider to be the weight ‘sweet spot’Solid all around downhill performance, compatible with excellent Dynafit SpeedSkinsLight and versatile
Cons Slow downhill skiing, tough times in tough snowExpensive, ski “short”Grabby firm snow performance, expensiveHeavier than averageLimited poor snow performance
Bottom Line This is a specialized touring ski for high tempo and high volume ski missions.Excellent, all-around backcountry skis in nearly all conditions.Excellent backcountry skis for the majority of applications.Touring skis for he or she that prefers downhill performance to uphill efficiency.All around choice for beginner to advanced backcountry skiers on a budget.
Rating Categories Atomic Backland UL 78 Kastle TX98 Volkl VTA 98 Dynafit Beast 98 Fischer Hannibal
Weight (25%)
10
0
10
10
0
8
10
0
7
10
0
6
10
0
8
Stability At Speed (15%)
10
0
3
10
0
8
10
0
8
10
0
9
10
0
5
Firm Snow (20%)
10
0
9
10
0
9
10
0
7
10
0
8
10
0
9
Powder (20%)
10
0
5
10
0
9
10
0
10
10
0
9
10
0
8
Crud And Poor Snow (20%)
10
0
5
10
0
9
10
0
8
10
0
8
10
0
7
Specs Atomic Backland UL... Kastle TX98 Volkl VTA 98 Dynafit Beast 98 Fischer Hannibal
Weight Per Pair 4.8 lbs 6.2 lbs 6.4 lbs 6.8 lbs 6.2 lbs
Measured Length 168 cm 177 cm 185 cm 183 cm 183 cm
Manufacturer Length 169 cm 178 cm 184 cm 184 cm 183 cm
Available Lengths 151, 157, 163, 169, 175 cm 168, 178, 188 cm 156, 163, 170, 177, 184 cm 170, 177, 184 cm 162, 169, 176, 183 cm
Claimed Dimensions 113/78/102.5 mm 128/98/117 mm 133/98/116 mm 136/98/117 mm 126/96/114 mm
Measured Dimensions 112/78/102 mm 122/97/116 mm 132/98/111 mm 126/97/116 mm 127/97/113 mm
Weight Per Ski grams 1085g, 1110g, average: 1098g 1394g, 1400g, average: 1397g 1454g, 1449g, average: 1452g 1541g, 1553g, average: 1547g 1421g, 1388g, average: 1405g
Weight Per Pair 2196g 2794g 2903g 3094g 2809g
Weight per Surface Area Ratio, g/cm^2 0.67 0.71 0.69 0.75 0.69
Construction Type Sandwich Cap Hybrid Sandwich Cap Hybrid Sandwich Cap Hybrid Sandwich Sandwich Cap Hybrid
Core Material Ultra Light Woodcore Karuba Wood Beech, poplar & paulownia Ash/poplar wood Paulownia wood with carbon stringers
Waist Width 78 mm 98 mm 98 mm 98 mm 97 mm
Radius 17 meters 22 meters 22.3 meters 21 meters 21 meters
Rocker/Camber All mountain rocker (15/85/0) Low camber Tip rocker Double Ellipse Rocker Tip rocker

Our Analysis and Test Results

These are definitely an outlier product in our overall review. As narrow, short, light ski mountaineering skis, these could be seen as one of the most specialized product we have assessed; only the Top Pick Black Diamond Glidelite Snow Trekkers are more purpose-built. We hope, though, that we can paint a positive picture that broadens the appeal of these skis and others like them. On the spectrum of backcountry skis, these are actually as useful and important as much heavier skis. Skis like the Black Crows Corvus Freebird are also outliers but are far more popular than the Backland UL 78. We look critically at this trend and find the Backland skis to be very useful.

Performance Comparison


Long  low-angle  and encumbered ski slogs (like this mission in wild Wyoming) virtually require the lightweight design of the Atomic Backland UL 78.
Long, low-angle, and encumbered ski slogs (like this mission in wild Wyoming) virtually require the lightweight design of the Atomic Backland UL 78.

Weight


Weight is king. It is the primary determinant of uphill skiing performance. The majority of your backcountry skiing day is spent going uphill. We feel that we wouldn't be wrong to prioritize this scoring metric at greater than 50%. However, that would be aggressive and a bit controversial, so we weight our metrics the way we have; downhill attributes make up 75% of the score, with uphill attributes making up 25%. If we flipped that script (more in line with how you spend your time backcountry skiing), the Backland UL 78 would come out on top of the whole chart, easily. Light skis are easier to move up the mountain. If its easier to move them up the mountain, you have more energy and more time to go downhill. If you can go downhill more, isn't that a win? Of course, we realize the flaws in this logic, but we also know the advantages of truly super light backcountry skis.


No skis in our test come close to the Backland UL 78. Only randonnee race skis and other such specialized equipment exceeds the weight advantages of these. The next heaviest skis ski downhill better, at least in some conditions.

The snow looks ugly here  but these last days of the season hold amazing corn skiing for those that tough it out. Corn skiing is hero skiing  enabling great turns on even little skis.
The snow looks ugly here, but these last days of the season hold amazing corn skiing for those that tough it out. Corn skiing is hero skiing, enabling great turns on even little skis.

Stability at Speed


You don't choose these skis to go downhill fast; these are for going uphill fast. These might enable an ascent rate of 1.5x your typical ski touring set up. However, that typical ski touring setup will go downhill at 2x the speed of these Atomic award winners. If downhill speed is important to you, these are not for you. The lightweight, short length, and narrow platform needs to stay on edge and under angulation. These are not particularly fast skis.


Every other ski in our test is more stable at speed, at least in one or two types of snow than the Atomic Backland.

Perhaps the clumsiest ski picture we've published. With a big pack on and spongy legs deep in the wild  the slightest lapse in technique will throw you off balance on the Atomic little sticks.
Perhaps the clumsiest ski picture we've published. With a big pack on and spongy legs deep in the wild, the slightest lapse in technique will throw you off balance on the Atomic little sticks.

Firm Snow


As long as you keep the speeds reasonable, these are great ice skis. Hard snow rewards patience and narrow skis; you provide the patience and technique, and these little rockets will edge all you need. The steepest ski lines ever ridden, at least those done in firmer conditions, have been done on skis of these dimensions. We took advantage of a January 2019 high-pressure spell to ski 50 deg couloirs on the Atomic Backland 78. We noticed literally no disadvantage with these skis when the snow was hard.


We draw a distinct line between the performance of the UL 78 on hard snow. If it is slow and technical, these are right in the mix with the others. If it is faster carving, the big guns will do better. Hop turns on ice in steep terrain are exactly where the UL 78 excels.

For steep  firm  and technical skiing  you might actually prefer the lightweight set up of this Top Pick. Take some time to adjust to the Atomic Backland UL and give them a chance. You might be pleasantly surprised.
For steep, firm, and technical skiing, you might actually prefer the lightweight set up of this Top Pick. Take some time to adjust to the Atomic Backland UL and give them a chance. You might be pleasantly surprised.

Powder


Powder skiing isn't why you choose these skis. However, we are absolutely certain that you would be surprised at the performance of the Backland UL 78 (in truly perfect powder with technique that is sound… both of these things are rarer than you might first think). Of course, if it is deep and heavy enough or flat enough, bigger skis will float and cruise better than the Backland UL 78. Those conditions and that terrain, though, isn't the perfect powder slope we look for. On 25-40 degree, light, graduated powder slopes (the sweet spot, for sure) and with good, centered powder skiing technique, you might not be able to distinguish the short radius turns of a skier on these vs. on bigger skis.


Of course, bigger skis are going to perform better in powder. Every other ski in our test will be more forgiving and faster in true powder snow. We can't quite say that bigger skis are more "fun", because any powder snow basically maxes out the fun meter.

Corn snow  as captured here on a springtime Teton Pass mission  is a joy on light and narrow skis. Bigger sticks will go faster  but control is equal at lower speeds.
Corn snow, as captured here on a springtime Teton Pass mission, is a joy on light and narrow skis. Bigger sticks will go faster, but control is equal at lower speeds.

Crud/Poor Snow


This is the real Achilles of these little wonders. Light and narrow is the exact opposite of what makes for high-end bad snow performance. Atomic adds rocker and side cut, but they're just going to get pushed around no matter what. It is your patience and technique that will get you down and through breakable crust and bottomless slop. You'll revert to snowplow and christie turns between long traverses, and you'll like it. Or else.


On slopping spring ski tours, exiting through the shaded forests of lower altitude Teton Pass, Wyoming, the Atomic Backland dives and bogs down where the longer and wider options float higher.

Lead tester Jediah Porter deep in the wilderness on the ultralight and uber efficient Atomic Backland UL 78.
Lead tester Jediah Porter deep in the wilderness on the ultralight and uber efficient Atomic Backland UL 78.

Value


These aren't super expensive, but they are specialized tools. Dedicated, high-tempo ski tourers will justify these as a quiver tool for those massive vertical days.

Pair light skis with light boots and bindings. Here  a full "Top Pick" set up of skis bindings  and boots  makes for a speedy  featherweight package that survives even the most rugged skiing.
Pair light skis with light boots and bindings. Here, a full "Top Pick" set up of skis bindings, and boots, makes for a speedy, featherweight package that survives even the most rugged skiing.

Conclusion


With good downhill technique, we know you will be pleasantly surprised at the performance of these skis, and guarantee that you will dig the uphill efficiency. Yes, these are specialized tools. They earn their spot here in our review, though. They perform well, fill a niche, and are something that likely should be more prominent on your radar. Super light alpine touring ski gear gets better all the time, and it has applications in many different types of backcountry skiing. If most of our skis sit in the center of the bell curve of what is available, the Backland UL 78 is as far one direction as the other Top Pick Black Crows Corvus Freebird is in the other direction. This shows in a variety of ways, except in public perception. We know that you are far more likely to investigate the Corvus (and skis like it) than you are to consider the Backland. Hopefully, the above spells out why that may be faulty logic.


Jediah Porter