< Go to Sporks

Hands-on Gear Review

Light My Fire Spork Review


Spork

Click to enlarge
Best Buy Award
Price:   $3 List | Sale $2.95 online  —  Compare prices at 3 resellers
Pros:  Spoon and fork are separate, has semi-functional knife edge.
Cons:  Plastic, Inelegant.
Editors' Rating:     
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Manufacturer:   Light My Fire

Overview

The Light My Fire Spork can twirl pasta and hold soup, but its cumbersome design and brittle materials make it a runner-up to the other products tested. For something elegant that will last for years, try our Editors' Choice, the Snow Peak Titanium Spork. It may not have a separate spoon and fork, but it works almost as well, has a great design, and is much easier to clean. For ultralight backpacking we recommend the Sea To Summit Alphalight, which, at a scant .3 oz, is .06 oz lighter than the Light my Fire Spork. See our complete Sporks Review to see how they scored in head-to-head tests.


RELATED: Our complete review of sporks

Compare Side-by-Side

Compare all Sporks >

Analysis and Hands-on Test Findings

Review by:
Atherton Phleger

Last Updated:
Saturday
November 5, 2011

Likes


This spork can twirl pasta and hold soup like no other. The spoon and fork are separated, which means, for pure functionality, the Light My Fire spork is unrivaled. It has a neat but almost useless knife edge built into one of the fork tines. The Light My Fire Spork was the second lightest of the products tested, heavier than the Alpha Light by only .06 oz.

Dislikes


Copolyester is brittle. The knife edge snapped off while testing and the fork tines feel fragile. The plastic has an unusual texture and is often difficult to clean. It also has a relatively low melting point. When a tester used this spork while cooking with a cast-iron skillet, the metal got hot enough to melt the tips of the fork tines.

The shaft is wide and bulky, which makes the utensil rather unwieldy. Eating the same meal with both sides of the spork would be a great way to get hands and clothes covered in food.

Best Application


The Light My Fire Spork is best used for car camping or backpacking. Because this spork can't really be used for cooking, its applications are more limited than the other sporks tested.

Value


Of the products tested, the Light My Fire Spork is by far the best value. It might not be as durable as the others, but an individual Light My Fire Spork sells for as little as $2.50.

Other Versions


Light My Fire Spork Four Pack
Click to enlarge
  • Cost - $10
  • Pack of four sporks

Light My Fire Titanium Spork
Click to enlarge
  • Cost -$17
  • Titanium spoon-fork-knife combo
  • Durable, lightweight, heat resistant
Atherton Phleger

Where to Buy?

Seller Price  Shipping Cost Visit
REI $2.95
Amazon $2.95 Check Site
Eastern Mountain Sports $2.95

Thinking about buying some gear we've reviewed? Help OutdoorGearLab out if you do. Just click on any of the above seller links and if you make any purchase, the seller will contribute a portion of the sale to help support this site. It won't cost you anything extra, and it's a simple way to help us fund our gear reviews. Thanks!

*Most retailers free shipping offers apply only to lower 48 US states using ground/economy shipping. See retailer's website for details.


OutdoorGearLab Member Reviews


Most recent review: February 23, 2016
Summary of All Ratings

OutdoorGearLab Editors' Rating:   
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
 (3.0)
Average Customer Rating:   
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
 (2.4)

33% of 12 reviewers recommend it
Rating Distribution
14 Total Ratings
5 star: 14%  (2)
4 star: 0%  (0)
3 star: 21%  (3)
2 star: 43%  (6)
1 star: 21%  (3)
Sort 14 member reviews by: Most Recent | Most Helpful
Write a Review on this Gear

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Dec 4, 2015 - 06:44am
GoblinArk · Camper · Calgary, AB
It does the job and does it well. Haven't had any problems. It's inexpensive and light yet durable..so far.

I wouldn't doubt it'd snap under pressure but if you take care of your gear even the smallest items, they will take care of you.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   May 19, 2012 - 11:03am
wade · Climber · Boulder, CO
I bought a few of these sparks to take along on climbing trips. Theres nothing like a hot bowl of chili after a day of subfreezing aid climbing. Your tent mate might not enjoy it as much, but you'll be zipped up in your bag soon anyway. Bottom line, these sporks didn't last long. I think the cold temps make these extra brittle. They broke really fast and I've since upgraded to titanium ones.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Feb 23, 2016 - 08:01pm
Arkansmay · Backpacker · Mountain Home, AR
Got a 4 pack of these for family camping and hiking. Every one has broken after VERY light use. I'm talking about scraping warm oatmeal from a bottom of a bowl. Snapped in half, every single one somehow or another just snapped during eating. Cold weather *snap*, warm weather *snap*.

Kind of expensive for disposable utensils eh? Light my fire makes some pretty decent stuff, just not this stuff. Go with the aluminum or titanium variety and be happy.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

Nov 16, 2015 - 09:00am
 
nutjob · Climber · Berkeley, CA
"Light My Fire Spork"

When I was a kid, my mom found me a cool knife at a thrift store. It had all folding attachments like a swiss army knife, but the handle was more like some plastic molded to look like deer antler. And the best part is it had a regular metal spoon on one end, and a regular metal fork on the other end, both of which folded down in a compact fashion.

Now one day I was with some family friends sitting around a campfire on their land, somewhere in central California. He was using my knife, making a show of slicing down his arm and hand while peeling a potato, to poke fun at how I didn't keep the blade sharp. Well, the poking fun was on him when he took a big chunk out of his thumbnail. He cursed and threw my knife in the fire, at which I loudly protested!

There you have it, my spork was lit on fire. My very own "Light My Fire Spork" about 3 decades ago. My buddy stuck his calloused tile-setter hands into the fire and grabbed my spork, which was much the worse for the wear. I wonder when I lost track of that thing. I sure loved it.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Nov 16, 2015 - 03:57am
That guy Sean · Hiker · Sechelt, Camada
Hands down the biggest piece of garbage in my entire kit, three day old granola bar wrappers are more usful than this POS. Myself and my two other friends went on a five day hiking trip - prior to this, my hiking buddies had both owned these over priced, glorified infant spoons - and just for a laugh, I thought I'd leave the nice silverwear at home and cave to the glories of peer pressure, breaking down and buying one of these. Two days into the hike, we begin unpacking to cook dinner, and both my buddies pull out what used to be light my fire sporks, but now resemble something along the lines of fragmented plastic. Que the Kansas; dust in the wind. I'm loving it, laughing at both of them for being so careless as they stare at the physical imbodiement of their crushed dreams. I begin to pull my spork from my cook pot, and boom, same thing.

Broken in half just above the base of the spoon.

Needless to say. These are the most overpriced, fragile, sporks money can buy.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Feb 11, 2014 - 11:53pm
Fair-In-Height · Backpacker · Portland, Oregon
This review is for the Light My Fire Titanium Spork. Why titanium? Because the plastic sporks break qithout notice. I can say this because its all my kids will use to eat with. We probably have 10+ plastic sporks and 2 Ti sporks. The plastic ones break in half without warning. Not a big deal at home but a very big deal on the trail. The Ti sporks are awesome.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Jun 8, 2013 - 10:06am
Morgan · Climber · East Coast
Concur with most of the reviews. The price is right. Lightweight. Pretty good design/ergonomics. I haven't broken one yet. The most annoying thing about the spork is that it seems saggy and flexible in the middle, but it can also spring load and catapult some food at you if you are not careful.

Bottom Line: It's nice to have a couple of these lying around, but worth to have a Titanium spork with a clip in loop that you shouldn't lose.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Jun 8, 2013 - 06:12am
tooth · Climber · B.C.
Break every time. I hear they make a metal one, it just isn't available in stores near you.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Jun 8, 2013 - 05:08am
Coast2Coast · Other · New Brunswick, Canada
I've used a couple of these sporks for a year now during winter in temps as low as -20 and summer as high as 86 and I have never had one break on me. I suppose if you were trying to poke at a steak or something it might break but I just use mine for rehydrated meals. I keep a couple of them attached to the side of my jetboil sumo pot that I always take because I'm always with someone else. Just use them gently, they're plastic dude. They're like one step above the plastic cutlery that you get at the grocery store but these can take a lot more heat before they melt, and are quite a bit more rigid. If there was a titanium one with this exact shape I would buy one, but they don't exist, so I prefer this one.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Jan 22, 2013 - 11:00am
simply_light · Backpacker · Midwest, Indiana
Don't expect these to last. I'm not rough on my gear at all, but these are barely a step above a plastic spork you get from a fast food dive.

If you want to go this route, you would have to at least get a titanium one, so that it is durable.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Jan 15, 2013 - 04:40am
Arc · Backpacker · Stanford, CA
I've owned three of these sporks, lost one and broke the other two. They are light and the texture isn't bad. They also tend not be burn your mouth if they were just in hot soup. As the review says, you get a real fork on one end with a full spoon on the other with a useless pseudo-knife. But, be delicate with them or they will break and then you'll have no spork until you get back to civilization.

If I was going anywhere for more than a week, I'd bring two just to be safe…

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Nov 25, 2012 - 02:22pm
Scouter9 · Backpacker · San Diego, Calif.
I've used these, and recommended them to others, in the past. However, we have found, universally, that the Achilles Heel for this product is durability: they snap in half at the most inopportune moment.

As a "spork", the design (not the material) is great, because you've got a real spoon, instead of a "leaky one" like that found on true sporks. You've also got a true fork, instead of a dull, sort-of fork. This part of the Light My Fire product is great. If they didn't break so easily, it would be excellent.

We found them to be easy to clean and that the texture on them wasn't a problem, at all. They fit in the hand well and are light in weight.

However, they break suddenly and without any extraordinary stress. They snap in warm weather, and in cold. They snap without stress marks and they snap right when it will break your heart.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Aug 12, 2012 - 11:31pm
johnboy · Climber · Can't get here from there
I'll give it a 3 star rating as long as it holds together. I didn't give it any more stars since mine broke in two while in my pack. Dipping into the bottom of a rehydrated pouch of vittles when it's broken gets messy. There OK but I'd recommend that you spend a little more and get a Ti spork.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Aug 12, 2012 - 08:50pm
mirogak · Camper · Scarborough
The only reason why I would recommend it is because of its price but it too broke off on me on its very first trip to Algonquin Park backcountry. It just became brittle and a little bend, its snapped in two.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No


Have you used the Light My Fire Spork?
Don't hold back. Share your viewpoint by posting a review with your thoughts...

Write a Review on this Gear
Where's the Best Price?

*You help support OutdoorGearLab's product testing and reviews by purchasing from our retail partners.
Helpful Buying Tips
Spork Buying Advice
by OutdoorGearLab Review Team

Unbiased.