Hands-on Gear Review

Compare spork ratings side-by-side >

Light My Fire Spork Review

   
Best Buy Award

Sporks

  • Currently 2.7/5
Overall avg rating 2.7 of 5 based on 11 reviews. Most recent review: February 11, 2014
Street Price:   Varies from $2 - $8 | Compare prices at 4 resellers
Pros:  Spoon and fork are separate, has semi-functional knife edge.
Cons:  Plastic, Inelegant.
Best Uses:  Backpacking, car camping.
User Rating:     
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
 (2.6 of 5) based on 10 reviews
Recommendations:  33% of reviewers (3/9) recommend this product
Manufacturer:   Light My Fire
Review by: Atherton Phleger ⋅ Review Editor, OutdoorGearLab ⋅ November 6, 2011  
Overview
The Light My Fire Spork can twirl pasta and hold soup, but its cumbersome design and brittle materials make it a runner-up to the other products tested. For something elegant that will last for years, try our Editors’ Choice, the Snow Peak Titanium Spork. It may not have a separate spoon and fork, but it works almost as well, has a great design, and is much easier to clean. For ultralight backpacking we recommend the Sea To Summit Alphalight, which, at a scant .3 oz, is .06 oz lighter than the Light my Fire Spork. See our complete Sporks Review to see how they scored in head-to-head tests.

Compare top rated competitors side-by-side >

  • Photos
Click to enlarge


OutdoorGearLab Editors' Hands-on Review

Likes
This spork can twirl pasta and hold soup like no other. The spoon and fork are separated, which means, for pure functionality, the Light My Fire spork is unrivaled. It has a neat but almost useless knife edge built into one of the fork tines. The Light My Fire Spork was the second lightest of the products tested, heavier than the Alpha Light by only .06 oz.

Dislikes
Copolyester is brittle. The knife edge snapped off while testing and the fork tines feel fragile. The plastic has an unusual texture and is often difficult to clean. It also has a relatively low melting point. When a tester used this spork while cooking with a cast-iron skillet, the metal got hot enough to melt the tips of the fork tines.

The shaft is wide and bulky, which makes the utensil rather unwieldy. Eating the same meal with both sides of the spork would be a great way to get hands and clothes covered in food.

Best Application
The Light My Fire Spork is best used for car camping or backpacking. Because this spork can’t really be used for cooking, its applications are more limited than the other sporks tested.

Value
Of the products tested, the Light My Fire Spork is by far the best value. It might not be as durable as the others, but an individual Light My Fire Spork sells for as little as $2.50. Four-packs are sold for $6.

Atherton Phleger

Compare this product side-by-side to top competitors >

Where to Buy?


Thinking about buying some gear we've reviewed? Help OutdoorGearLab out if you do. Just click on any of the above seller links and if you make any purchase, the seller will contribute a portion of the sale to help support this site. It won't cost you anything extra, and it's a simple way to help us fund our gear reviews. Thanks!

*Most retailers free shipping offers apply only to lower 48 US states using ground/economy shipping. See retailer's website for details.


OutdoorGearLab Member Reviews


Most recent review: February 11, 2014
Summary of All Ratings

OutdoorGearLab Editors' Rating:   
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
 (3.0)
Average Customer Rating:   
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
 (2.6)

33% of 9 reviewers recommend it
Rating Distribution
11 Total Ratings
5 star: 18%  (2)
4 star: 0%  (0)
3 star: 18%  (2)
2 star: 55%  (6)
1 star: 9%  (1)
Sort 10 member reviews by: Most Recent | Most Helpful
Write a Review on this Gear

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   May 19, 2012 - 11:03am
wade · Climber · Boulder, CO
I bought a few of these sparks to take along on climbing trips. Theres nothing like a hot bowl of chili after a day of subfreezing aid climbing. Your tent mate might not enjoy it as much, but you'll be zipped up in your bag soon anyway. Bottom line, these sporks didn't last long. I think the cold temps make these extra brittle. They broke really fast and I've since upgraded to titanium ones.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Feb 11, 2014 - 11:53pm
Fair-In-Height · Backpacker · Portland, Oregon
This review is for the Light My Fire Titanium Spork. Why titanium? Because the plastic sporks break qithout notice. I can say this because its all my kids will use to eat with. We probably have 10+ plastic sporks and 2 Ti sporks. The plastic ones break in half without warning. Not a big deal at home but a very big deal on the trail. The Ti sporks are awesome.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Jun 8, 2013 - 10:06am
Morgan · Climber · East Coast
Concur with most of the reviews. The price is right. Lightweight. Pretty good design/ergonomics. I haven't broken one yet. The most annoying thing about the spork is that it seems saggy and flexible in the middle, but it can also spring load and catapult some food at you if you are not careful.

Bottom Line: It's nice to have a couple of these lying around, but worth to have a Titanium spork with a clip in loop that you shouldn't lose.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Jun 8, 2013 - 06:12am
tooth · Climber · B.C.
Break every time. I hear they make a metal one, it just isn't available in stores near you.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Jun 8, 2013 - 05:08am
Coast2Coast · Other · New Brunswick, Canada
I've used a couple of these sporks for a year now during winter in temps as low as -20 and summer as high as 86 and I have never had one break on me. I suppose if you were trying to poke at a steak or something it might break but I just use mine for rehydrated meals. I keep a couple of them attached to the side of my jetboil sumo pot that I always take because I'm always with someone else. Just use them gently, they're plastic dude. They're like one step above the plastic cutlery that you get at the grocery store but these can take a lot more heat before they melt, and are quite a bit more rigid. If there was a titanium one with this exact shape I would buy one, but they don't exist, so I prefer this one.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Jan 22, 2013 - 11:00am
simply_light · Backpacker · Midwest, Indiana
Don't expect these to last. I'm not rough on my gear at all, but these are barely a step above a plastic spork you get from a fast food dive.

If you want to go this route, you would have to at least get a titanium one, so that it is durable.

Jared M. Baker
Simply Light Designs

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Jan 15, 2013 - 04:40am
Arc · Backpacker · Stanford, CA
I've owned three of these sporks, lost one and broke the other two. They are light and the texture isn't bad. They also tend not be burn your mouth if they were just in hot soup. As the review says, you get a real fork on one end with a full spoon on the other with a useless pseudo-knife. But, be delicate with them or they will break and then you'll have no spork until you get back to civilization.

If I was going anywhere for more than a week, I'd bring two just to be safe…

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Nov 25, 2012 - 02:22pm
Scouter9 · Backpacker · San Diego, Calif.
I've used these, and recommended them to others, in the past. However, we have found, universally, that the Achilles Heel for this product is durability: they snap in half at the most inopportune moment.

As a "spork", the design (not the material) is great, because you've got a real spoon, instead of a "leaky one" like that found on true sporks. You've also got a true fork, instead of a dull, sort-of fork. This part of the Light My Fire product is great. If they didn't break so easily, it would be excellent.

We found them to be easy to clean and that the texture on them wasn't a problem, at all. They fit in the hand well and are light in weight.

However, they break suddenly and without any extraordinary stress. They snap in warm weather, and in cold. They snap without stress marks and they snap right when it will break your heart.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Aug 12, 2012 - 11:31pm
johnboy · Climber · Can't get here from there
I'll give it a 3 star rating as long as it holds together. I didn't give it any more stars since mine broke in two while in my pack. Dipping into the bottom of a rehydrated pouch of vittles when it's broken gets messy. There OK but I'd recommend that you spend a little more and get a Ti spork.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Aug 12, 2012 - 08:50pm
mirogak · Camper · Scarborough
The only reason why I would recommend it is because of its price but it too broke off on me on its very first trip to Algonquin Park backcountry. It just became brittle and a little bend, its snapped in two.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No


Have you used the Light My Fire Spork?
Don't hold back. Share your viewpoint by posting a review with your thoughts...

Write a Review on this Gear
Click to enlarge
The Light My Fire Spork
Credit: Stock
Where's the Best Price?
Seller Price
REI $1.73
CampSaver $2.97
Amazon $7.62
Compare prices at 4 sellers >

*Help support OutdoorGearLab. If you click on one of the seller links and make a purchase, a portion of the sale helps support this site
Related Best-in-Class Review
The Best Sporks Review

The Best Sporks Review

We brought together three of the best sporks on the market and tested them side-by-side. Find out which sporks proved their mettle and which bent under pressure.
Video video review
Helpful Buying Tips
Spork Buying Advice
by OutdoorGearLab Review Team
Get More OutdoorGearLab
Follow us on Twitter, be a fan on Facebook!
Subscribe to our Newsletter
Related Gear Reviews