Hands-on Gear Review

Compare men's sleeping pad ratings side-by-side >

Therm-A-Rest ProLite Plus Review

   

Men's Sleeping Pads

  • Currently 3.8/5
Overall avg rating 3.8 of 5 based on 6 reviews. Most recent review: April 7, 2015
Street Price:   Varies from $90 - $130 | Compare prices at 8 resellers
Pros:  Comfortable, warm, non-slip surface.
Cons:  Heavier and bulkier than Therm-a-Rest ProLite and Nemo Zor.
Best Uses:  Ideal for winter conditions, but also wonderfully comfortable in the summer.
User Rating:     
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
 (3.7 of 5) based on 5 reviews
Recommendations:  100% of reviewers (4/4) recommend this product
Manufacturer:   Therm-a-Rest
Review by: Chris McNamara ⋅ Founder and Editor-in-Chief, OutdoorGearLab ⋅ April 7, 2015  
Overview
The Therm-a-Rest ProLite Plus is a high quality all-purpose inflatable foam pad. This is more comfortable and warmer than the Therm-a-Rest ProLite and Nemo Zor. But its also larger and heavier. We prefer the ProLite to the ProLite Plus because its lighter and more compact.

The best all-purpose portable pad is the Therm-a-Rest NeoAir XTherm, which provides the ultimate blend of warmth, comfort, weight savings, and pack ability. Taking weight savings a level further, the Therm-a-Rest NeoAir XLite weighs only 12 oz. and packs down super small. For those who spend less time backpacking and more time base and car camping opt for the Nemo Astro Insulated, a cheaper and slightly wider alternative to the expensive and fancy abovementioned NeoAirs.

Go for a closed cell pad if you need something really durable or are on a budget. We recommend the Therm-a-Rest Z Lite Sol if space is a concern and the Therm-a-Rest Ridge Rest SOLite if its not. Both pads weigh only 14 ounces.

If comfort is top priority get yourself a Car Camping Mattress. These luxurious portable beds turn roots and rocks into plush, heavenly clouds.

New Version Update - April 2015
The ProLite Plus has been updated to include the following upgrades, as reported by Therm-A-Rest. It isn't so different from the ProLite Plus that we reviewed and we think you'll still get a pretty good feeling based on our review.

"Our fabrics moved from a plain weave to a mini hex rip-stop and we moved to a lighter weight foam. This reduced the weight of the Pro Plus by 2 oz on our regular model and it packs down smaller. The R-value did decrease with this new design slightly and is now an r-value of 2.2."
-Therm-A-Rest

Compare top rated competitors side-by-side >

  • Photos
Click to enlarge
Click to enlarge
Click to enlarge


OutdoorGearLab Editors' Hands-on Review

Likes


The ProLite Plus is the warmest and most comfortable portable inflatable foam pad weve pad we tested. Its contoured shape provides ample slumber space while shaving off unnecessary ounces. The main thing that sets this pad apart from the companys ProLite, the Nemo Zor, and Pacific Outdoor Equipments Peak Oyl Mtn is comfort. The ProLite Plus is 50% thicker than the ProLite and 100% thicker than the Zor. This added air and foam makes sleeping on your side much more comfortable and warmer. Therm-a-Rest measures the ProLite Pluss R-Value at 3.8, which makes the pad close to twice as warm as the ProLite. This is a versatile, all-season pad that priorities comfort. The best part about the pad (and all other inflatable foam pads) is its flat surface, which is more comfortable to lay your head directly on than bumpy NeoAirs or other ridged sleeping pads.

Dislikes


Despite being warm and comfortable, the ProLite Plus weighs a pound and a half, which firmly sets it among the heavier backpacking pads weve tested. The pad packs to a passable 3.25 Liters (about a third larger than the companys ProLite and over twice the size of the NeoAir XTherm). Its therefore geared more toward the casual backpacker than the fast and fast and light crowd.

The NeoAir series offers much more performance and comfort. The NeoAir All-Season is our top rated all-purpose portable pad. Its warmer, lighter, and more comfortable (for side sleepers) than the ProLite Plus. We recommend the AllSeason if you can afford its $40 increased price.

Value


The ProLite Plus is a good value if you favor the flat surface of self-inflating foam pads. If youre willing to give air core pads a try we recommend the Nemo Astro Insulated or Therm-a-Rest NeoAir All Season.

Other Versions


Click to enlarge
Therm-a-Rest ProLite Women's
  • Women's specific version of this pad
  • 16oz. packs to just over 2L in size
  • Self-inflating
  • durable, time-tested design
  • $100

Click to enlarge
Therm-a-Rest NeoAir XLite and Therm-a-Rest NeoAir XLite - Women's
  • Most comfortable lightweight sleeping pad available
  • Regular size weighs 12oz
  • Small size weighs 8oz
  • Women's specific includes reflective layer for added warmth
  • Packs down to 1L size
  • $159.95

Click to enlarge
Therm-a-Rest NeoAir Xtherm
  • The best winter sleeping pad available
  • Ideal for cold weather camping (recommended as the pad to buy if looking to own a single, multipurpose inflatable pad).
  • Regular size weighs 15oz.
  • Packs slightly larger than 1L in size
  • Consistently proven to be the warmest, most comfortable, lightest and most compact sleeping pad available.

Accessories



Click to enlarge
Therm-a-Rest NeoAir Pump Sack
  • Used to inflate any Thermarest pad
  • Functions as a stuff sack also, doubles as a camp seat by placing rolled and partially inflated NeoAir pad inside sack
  • Ideal for wintertime use when air from your lungs condenses inside the pad, decreasing the warmth
  • 3.8 oz
  • $29.95

Click to enlarge
Therm-a-Rest Compack
  • Turns any pad into a camp chair with back support
  • Works with all Thermarest Pads, including NeoAir and self-inflating pads
  • 6oz.
  • $29.95

Chris McNamara and Max Neale

Compare this product side-by-side to top competitors >

Where to Buy?


Thinking about buying some gear we've reviewed? Help OutdoorGearLab out if you do. Just click on any of the above seller links and if you make any purchase, the seller will contribute a portion of the sale to help support this site. It won't cost you anything extra, and it's a simple way to help us fund our gear reviews. Thanks!

*Most retailers free shipping offers apply only to lower 48 US states using ground/economy shipping. See retailer's website for details.


OutdoorGearLab Member Reviews


Most recent review: April 7, 2015
Summary of All Ratings

OutdoorGearLab Editors' Rating:   
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
 (4.0)
Average Customer Rating:   
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
 (3.7)

100% of 4 reviewers recommend it
Rating Distribution
4 Total Ratings
5 star: 0%  (0)
4 star: 75%  (3)
3 star: 25%  (1)
2 star: 0%  (0)
1 star: 0%  (0)
Sort 5 member reviews by: Most Recent | Most Helpful
Write a Review on this Gear

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   May 11, 2013 - 10:00pm
BORIS · Other · BOGOTA - COLOMBIA
This is a great sleeping pad, comfortable, durable and warm. I had use this pad on several base camp with a great performance.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   May 21, 2012 - 09:10pm
wade · Climber · Boulder, CO
This pad has gotten a lot of use year round and the only thing I can say is I wish it was lighter. It's proven to be comfortable (I'm a side sleeper), durable, and warm. If you have a short approach or you're base camping, this is an excellent option.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Mar 1, 2012 - 02:31pm
jfailing · Climber · Lone Pine
This has been my main sleeping pad for the past three years. It's pretty big, very durable, and moderately comfortable.

Since I mostly car camp at climbing spots (Bishop, J-tree, Yosemite), I figured I would get a large pad and not worry about weight too much. By using just the pad by itself, it's pretty comfy, but I find that even when it's blown up all the way, I can still feel the ground sometimes.

It's mostly used now in addition to a bouldering bad or separate foam pad — car camping should be luxurious, as weight and size aren't really factors.

The best thing it has going for it is durability. I've had it for three years and it's showing almost zero signs of wear. The reinforced bottom probably helps out here. I've had other inflatable therma-rests that have half a dozen patches on them, but so far no problem here.

Bottom line - if you're car camping this thing is pretty good, if you're backpacking it would be heavier than many other options and bulky too.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

Feb 20, 2012 - 11:23am
 
Tina · Climber · Los Angeles, CA
This is a great pad for a lightweight side sleeper. The pad isn't noisy if you toss and turn and R value is great. It may weigh a little more but I know that if it gets punctured the foam will still keep me warm and padded without air. It's worth the extra pack weight. I know other side sleepers who also use this pad and love it.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
May 12, 2013 - 01:03am
 
Lynne · Other · Lee Vining
I'm getting into the fun of backpacking. After much consideration I bought a Thermarest NeoAir Xtreme Four Season. At 15oz. and a Rvalue of 5.7 it works for me. I'm female, 124lbs. and don't like to be cold. This pad is light so even though it's four season, I use it year around.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No


Have you used the Therm-A-Rest ProLite Plus?
Don't hold back. Share your viewpoint by posting a review with your thoughts...

Write a Review on this Gear
Click to enlarge
Therm-a-Rest ProLite Plus
Credit: Max Neale
Where's the Best Price?
Seller Price
Backcountry $89.95  -  18% off!
CampSaver $89.95  -  18% off!
MooseJaw $89.95  -  18% off!
Compare prices at 8 sellers >

*Help support OutdoorGearLab. If you click on one of the seller links and make a purchase, a portion of the sale helps support this site
Related Review
The Best Sleeping Pad Review

The Best Sleeping Pad Review

We enrolled 18 of the best sleeping pads in a rigorous testing regime to evaluate the following five categories: warmth, comfort, durability, weight, and packed size.
Video video review
Helpful Buying Tips
How to Choose the Best Sleeping Pad - Click for details
 How to Choose the Best Sleeping Pad

by Chris McNamara and Max Neale