First Look Gear Review

Spot 2 Satellite Messenger Review

   

Personal Locator Beacons

  • Currently 2.8/5
Overall avg rating 2.8 of 5 based on 7 reviews. Most recent review: October 16, 2014
Street Price:   $89 | Compare prices at 1 resellers
Pros:  Compact and lightweight ergonomic design.
Cons:  Message-send performance was sub-par. No smartphone interface. SOS access and cover flap require bare fingernails or a tool. 0.4 watt transmission power. Globalstar satellite constellation is arguably less effective than Iridium or COSPAS/SARSAT
Best Uses:  Any activity or expedition during which simple pre-defined satellite message sending or tracking would be fun. Absolutely needs clear view of sky to function properly. Water resistant.
User Rating:     
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
 (2.7 of 5) based on 6 reviews
Recommendations:  50% of reviewers (3/6) recommend this product
Manufacturer:   Spot
Review by: Matt Gerdes ⋅ Review Editor, OutdoorGearLab ⋅ January 21, 2013  
Overview
The Spot 2 has been replaced by the SPOT 3 Satellite Messenger for which we have a detailed reviews. Also see our Personal Locator Beacon Review.


  • Photos
Click to enlarge

Matt Gerdes

Where to Buy?

Seller Price  Shipping Cost Visit
Amazon
$89.11  -  11% off! Check Site

Thinking about buying some gear we've reviewed? Help OutdoorGearLab out if you do. Just click on any of the above seller links and if you make any purchase, the seller will contribute a portion of the sale to help support this site. It won't cost you anything extra, and it's a simple way to help us fund our gear reviews. Thanks!

*Most retailers free shipping offers apply only to lower 48 US states using ground/economy shipping. See retailer's website for details.


OutdoorGearLab Member Reviews


Most recent review: October 16, 2014
Summary of All Ratings

OutdoorGearLab Editors' Rating:   
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
 (3.0)
Average Customer Rating:   
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
 (2.7)

50% of 6 reviewers recommend it
Rating Distribution
7 Total Ratings
5 star: 14%  (1)
4 star: 29%  (2)
3 star: 14%  (1)
2 star: 0%  (0)
1 star: 43%  (3)
Sort 6 member reviews by: Most Recent | Most Helpful
Write a Review on this Gear

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   May 8, 2014 - 05:22pm
zimmy · Camper · Omaha, NE
Unit is worthless. With other devices on the market now, I've moved on. 1-way service is like taking the baby for a walk. The unit really has poor reception in the trees. That has been confirmed by the USFS, who got a 14% success rate in their tests of the SPOT under canopy.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Oct 16, 2014 - 11:06pm
The device was fine, however the service is TERRIBLE! I paid for tracking for a two month cycle tour. When I got home I tried to locate the data. I couldn't find it online so I contacted them and they told me about how they only hold 30 days of information online.(two weeks had already passed since the end of the trip and when I got home) I then requested them to send the data they had stored. because there response time is so slow they only had the last two weeks of data saved and when I requested the rest of it they informed me they had already deleted it. I have never had a worse experience with a company, I felt as though I was dealing with an evil cell phone company. I am still fighting to get my money back. DO NOT BUY THIS.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Jul 19, 2014 - 03:55am
AlChartres · Camper · West Sussex
We have been using these for some time, have 6 of them. All 6 are actually out and in use, as I type this review.

They are issued to youngsters undertaking their DofE expeditions and other outdoor activities where they are not escorted.

They need to be simple to use, and operate, and can be explained to the teams in a short 2 minute briefing. They are very very easy to understand and operate, kids could do it, and in our case yes they are!

They track well, and have been used all over the UK without issue. All use of the buttons have worked without fail, with the help me button being used in several instances without fault.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Jul 4, 2014 - 03:00am
Charlik Lynn · Backpacker · New South Wales
The Findme Spot website is about as unfriendly as it can get. I have four devices used by different trek leaders in Papua New Guinea - coordinating the different devices with different messages is a nightmare.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Mar 4, 2014 - 04:41pm
Blackwater · Camper · Miami, FL
So far so good. 2 Years using this. A couple of places in Haiti did not show up on tracking map, but all else worked flawlessly. All message sent were received. Light weight and weather proof!! Careful when taking in and out of the case. It can be fragile and tear.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Oct 18, 2013 - 05:11pm
Patch · Hunter · Boise
This device has served us well for 3 years now. Most often I hunt alone and my wife would worry that I was ok and not lying injured some where. In order to fix the worry problem, we purchased the SPOT gen 2. When any of us are hunting or camping, we check in with the spot around noon, and then again in the evening. We also use it to notify others for when we need help. If we need help packing an animal out, we send one message, if we have a vehicle that is broken down, we send the same message twice in a row. I am also able to see where I hunted, on a map, and paired up with my GPS I locate on the map where certain events took place. We have never had a problem with this unit, and when we are with friends, we add their spouses email or phone number to the contact list so they get the same message our spouse gets.the unit is easy to use, and easy to understand, don't leave home with out it. Automatic renewal also helps when I forget to renew my subscription. How much is your loved ones peace of mind worth?

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No


Have you used the Spot 2 Satellite Messenger?
Don't hold back. Share your viewpoint by posting a review with your thoughts...

Write a Review on this Gear
Click to enlarge
spot 2 satellite messenger
Credit: Spot 2
Where's the Best Price?
Seller Price
Amazon $89.11  -  11% off!
Compare prices at 1 sellers >

*Help support OutdoorGearLab. If you click on one of the seller links and make a purchase, a portion of the sale helps support this site
Related Best-in-Class Review
The Best Personal Locator Beacon and Satellite Messenger Review

The Best Personal Locator Beacon and Satellite Messenger Review

We take four of the top personal locator beacons and put them in head-to-head tests to find out which is the best for SOS and sending and receiving messages when you are out of cell phone range.
Helpful Buying Tips
Get More OutdoorGearLab
Follow us on Twitter, be a fan on Facebook!
Subscribe to our Newsletter
Other Gear by Spot