Hands-on Gear Review

Compare hiking boots ratings side-by-side >

Keen Targhee II Review

   
Editors' Choice Award

Hiking Boots - Men's

  • Currently 3.8/5
Overall avg rating 3.8 of 5 based on 9 reviews. Most recent review: March 3, 2014
Street Price:   Varies from $120 - $130 | Compare prices at 7 resellers
Pros:  Comfortable, durable, comfortable.
Cons:  Not good for hot weather.
Best Uses:  Hiking, backpacking, canyoneering.
User Rating:     
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
 (3.2 of 5) based on 8 reviews
Recommendations:  38% of reviewers (3/8) recommend this product
Manufacturer:   Keen
Review by: Atherton Phleger ⋅ Review Editor, OutdoorGearLab ⋅ June 1, 2012  
Overview
The Keen Targhee is a ridiculously comfortable light hiker with heavyweight hiker intentions. Its snug, light, and durable, and offers a surprising amount of support. Its well constructed, has a perfectly sized toe box, and an excellent tread pattern. If you are considering a mid to light hiking boot, this is the one to get.

If the Targhee looks like it will not provide enough support, try our favorite heavy option, the Asolo Power Matic 200. Or, if 3.2 pounds per pair is too heavy for you, try the La Sportiva Eco 4.0, similarly gifted but considerably lighter.

Compare top rated competitors side-by-side >

  • Photos
Click to enlarge
Click to enlarge
Click to enlarge
Click to enlarge
Click to enlarge
Click to enlarge
Click to enlarge
Click to enlarge
Click to enlarge


OutdoorGearLab Editors' Hands-on Review

Likes
The Keen Targhee was by far the most comfortable boot weve ever tested. It was an immediate and striking comparison. The toe box is shaped in such a way that it feels unrestricting while not roomy, and secure while not snug. The experiences of people with different foot shapes may vary, but we doubt by much. A well-shaped heel cup eliminates blister problems and a great lacing system, coupled with plenty of ankle padding, allows you to get a very snug fit.

In classic Keen style, the sole extends a bit over the toe. At first, this was a bit annoying, but we learned to love it. It protected our toes from crushing and stubbing and made the entire boot much more durable. However, the extra rubber does add a bit of weight and makes it hard to edge if you plan on scrambling.

Dislikes
We wouldn't wear the Targhee on the hottest day of the year, and we wouldn't recommend using it for heavy-duty loads, but beyond these we really didn't have any problems with it.

Best Application
We loved the Targhee for any and all light-duty hiking and backpacking applications. We were also pleasantly surprised to find that they were nearly perfect for canyoneering. While they did not drain water as well as we would have liked, they stayed comfortable during the long, soggy hikes out and gripped wet sandstone exceptionally well.

Value
The Keen Targhee is an excellent value. Its high performing, durable, and ridiculously comfortable, and it can be found selling for under $100.

Atherton Phleger

Compare this product side-by-side to top competitors >

Where to Buy?


Thinking about buying some gear we've reviewed? Help OutdoorGearLab out if you do. Just click on any of the above seller links and if you make any purchase, the seller will contribute a portion of the sale to help support this site. It won't cost you anything extra, and it's a simple way to help us fund our gear reviews. Thanks!

*Most retailers free shipping offers apply only to lower 48 US states using ground/economy shipping. See retailer's website for details.


OutdoorGearLab Member Reviews


Most recent review: March 3, 2014
Summary of All Ratings

OutdoorGearLab Editors' Rating:   
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
 (5.0)
Average Customer Rating:   
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
 (3.2)

38% of 8 reviewers recommend it
Rating Distribution
7 Total Ratings
5 star: 57%  (4)
4 star: 0%  (0)
3 star: 0%  (0)
2 star: 14%  (1)
1 star: 29%  (2)
Sort 8 member reviews by: Most Recent | Most Helpful
Write a Review on this Gear

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Mar 3, 2014 - 02:12pm
labrat · Climber · Auburn, CA
"I took the boots back to REI where they informed me that the glue used was defective."

And you still gave it 5 stars? All these boots seem to fall apart. The second replacements they sent me fit poorly.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Feb 28, 2014 - 03:37pm
tyrant king leech · Backpacker · Nashville, TN
Hey,
Was just reading these posts and I actually agree with the editors and the nay sayers. I bought my first pair and took it on the 60 mile Georgia Loop and by mile 8 around Slaughter Pen Gap the cleets on the sides started to come loose. The tearing stopped, but it was really aggravating. I took the boots back to REI where they informed me that the glue used was defective. They gave me a new pair.

After about 300 miles and multiple river crossings and wet hikes,the new and improved glue had a minor failure in that one of the side cleets came unglued but not very much. The weight and comfort of the show made it worth this small imperfection. Now, after about 600 miles and a few hundred wet crossings, it hasn't gotten any worse.

I've only gotten a blister once. On my toes after ALOT of down hill action. (My toes are like to overlap).

I am an avid weekend warrior so these defects weren't fatal to my trips.

I'm planning a trip for an extended trip and will wear them, but I will take them on a 30-40 mile hike first to ensure there aren't any defects.

So, in conclusion, my recommendation has qualifications:
-Buy it from REI or a store with a similar return policy so you can take it back if they fail within a reasonable time( 200 miles of use for a minor defect does not warrant a return IMHO);
  • great for weekend warriors
  • I'll let you know in about a year how it does on a real hike.


Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Nov 26, 2013 - 12:39pm
labrat · Climber · Auburn, CA
"send a new pair of boots but a different model"

They sent a different model to me as well. Not a high top. Fit is totally different. I will never buy a pair of Keens again.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Nov 25, 2013 - 09:42pm
frodo · Backpacker
these are absolutely terrible boots that don’t last, the customer service rep even told me that the tarhegee II was not made for hiking. How is a hiking boot not made for hiking? the soles came off at just about every point on the shoe within 30 miles, and when I contacted them they made me go through all these hoops, they finally agreed to send a new pair of boots but a different model ( I cant recall which one). upon receiving the boots in the properly named box, I assumed it was the boot I was told I was going to receive. after hiking 30 miles in white mtn. national forest I contacted them again and told them my boots were falling apart. It turns out they sent me a less expensive boot from the ones I originally bought. they insisted that I send them pictures of the inside of the toungue to observe the tag. the funny thing was it was just a white square ( it was like this as soon as I bought it, but did not suspect any foul play would occur) with that and the fact that the boots were already destroyed, I sympathized with them that this in fact was the boots they sent me and this was the wear that had occurred. they then started to accuse me of lying to them and trying to scam them for a free pair of boots and really insulted me. I could not believe what I was hearing from them and the situation I was in. after that I vowed to them that I would make sure I would do what I can to make sure other thru hikers would not go through the same ordeal. I was very displeased with the whole experience.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Oct 30, 2013 - 11:31am
Hugo · Hiker · Montreal, Canada
I took this boots on a 16-day hike in the Pamirs Mountains. On day 6 the stitching next to the big toe joint gave way on both boots. By day 9 the large pieces of the sole came unglued. The Keen Targhee is very comfortable and water resistant, but durability is a serious issue in my experience.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Oct 25, 2013 - 07:50am
Canuck hiker · Hiker · New Brunswick
I decided it was finally time to replace an old pair of well-worn leather boots with something a little bit lighter. I tried on a dozen different makes/models of hiking boots, before settling on the black/olive/yellow model of the Keen Men's Targhee II. My feet are size 12D, and I found that a size 13 (equivalents: UK=12, EU=47, CM=31) boot worked best for me. I liked the wider box toe that other brands did not have, and they allow sufficient room for wearing a liner sock and a proper hiking sock together.

After putting about 250 km on the boot in pre-training, I hiked the 70-km, 9-day Lemosho route on Mt. Kilimanjaro. The boots worked great for me! I have since hiked up Mt. Washington in NH in them, as well as four other mountains in Quebec, and I've now had the boots for about 10 months.

The boots are very comfortable and there have been no problems with any parts separating, as mentioned in some other reviews. Although I can't say they're completely water-PROOF, after a particularily wet day on one mountain, I can say they are quite water-resistant. I haven't yet twisted an ankle in them either, so ankle support is also good. The insoles that come with the boots are removable, so I am easily able to insert my orthotics.

I expect to put many more kms on them before I have to replace them.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Jun 14, 2013 - 07:54pm
scalcu · Hiker · Aberdeen, Scotland
I need a slightly wider than normal toe box - and Keen shoes always fit the bill.

I did go a 1/2 size larger - have to do so with their boots due to my ankle not being very mobile.

Anyway, this boot is very good. It has survived 2 winters in Scotland through snow and rain and my feet are always dry. They are quite warm - can easily get away with a cotton sock or a lighter weight smartwool sock.

Good traction - waterproof - and fashionable to an extent.

A good buy!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Nov 29, 2012 - 01:31pm
labrat · Climber · Auburn, CA
The boot is comfortable. I like hiking in it. I've had problems with two pairs already for durability. The first one had a broken eyelet that the shoelace cut through completely. Keen replaced the pair no problem. Great customer service. The second pair the sole started delaminating after about two weeks of hard use. Keen replaced again. Have not used the replacement pair enough to know if they will hold up…..

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No


Have you used the Keen Targhee II?
Don't hold back. Share your viewpoint by posting a review with your thoughts...

Write a Review on this Gear
Click to enlarge
Where's the Best Price?

*Help support OutdoorGearLab. If you click on one of the seller links and make a purchase, a portion of the sale helps support this site
Related Best-in-Class Review
The Best Hiking Boots Review

The Best Hiking Boots Review

We tested and analyzed a variety of the best boots on the market, from all-leather classics to the newest breakthroughs in materials and design. Be crippled and sad no more.
Video video review
Helpful Buying Tips
How to Choose the Best Hiking Boots - Click for details
 How to Choose the Best Hiking Boots

by Chris McNamara and Atherton Phleger
Get More OutdoorGearLab
Follow us on Twitter, be a fan on Facebook!
Subscribe to our Newsletter
Related Gear Reviews