Hands-on Gear Review

Compare hiking boots ratings side-by-side >

Asolo Fugitive Review

   

Hiking Boots - Men's

  • Currently 3.8/5
Overall avg rating 3.8 of 5 based on 9 reviews. Most recent review: January 28, 2014
Street Price:   Varies from $195 - $230 | Compare prices at 9 resellers
Pros:  Exceptionally waterproof.
Cons:  Unecessary components and flashy design.
Best Uses:  Winter hiking, backpacking.
User Rating:     
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
 (4.1 of 5) based on 8 reviews
Recommendations:  86% of reviewers (6/7) recommend this product
Manufacturer:   Asolo
Review by: Atherton Phleger ⋅ Review Editor, OutdoorGearLab ⋅ May 28, 2012  
Overview
The Asolo fugitive tries very hard to be a mountaineering boot. In some respects it succeeds at this. It is very waterproof, it has decent insulation, and all the styling of the La Sportiva Trango. But trying to style it as if it is a mountaineering boot is a bit like pinning a peacocks plume to a pigeon. Its gaudy, unappealing, and a bit deceptive. It isn't for mountaineering. It's not crampon compatible, and the sole is a bit too flexible to work well with strap-on crampons. And while it is plenty waterproof, the insulation simply isn't good enough for any serious winter use.

If you are looking for an option that might be able to take some heavy winter use, the Asolo Power Matic might be good. If you simply want a durable synthetic hiker, try the La Sportiva Eco. It's significantly cheaper and has all the functionality of the Fugitive, but without the frills.

The great tragedy of the Asolo Fugitive is that they've taken a good hiker and tried to dress it up as if it were something else. Overall, we liked it, but we expected something better.

Compare top rated competitors side-by-side >

  • Photos
Click to enlarge
Click to enlarge


OutdoorGearLab Editors' Hands-on Review

Likes
Perhaps this hiker's greatest strength is its waterproofing. It began, and has stayed, completely impermeable. It doesn't hold any water; dew will bead up and roll off. This keeps it light and helps the interior dry quickly.

While not better than the La Sportiva Eco, the tread is excellent, and has no trouble sticking to wet, mossy rock and muddy hillsides. The sole is fairly firm, which is a mixed blessing. It helps a bit on talus slopes, uneven ground, and scrambles, but leads to an inevitably slower pace because your foot can't flex as it normally does.


Dislikes
Everything feels a bit cheap. The lower brackets are too small for the laces, so they are difficult to lace up and difficult to keep laced. The rivets are jointed, a flashy, pointless addition which contributes nothing but additional points of failure. There is too much material on the tongue, so getting a tight but comfortable fit is difficult.

We haven't had the Asolo Fugitive for long enough to break it, but boots with that sort of design will often fail along the inside edge, where the foot flexes.


Best application
This is a great boot for dayhiking and backpacking. Because it is phenomenally waterproof, it works great for foul-weather activities and winter dayhiking.

Value
The Asolo Fugitive averages around $200. Spend $25-50 less on the La Sportiva Eco for a boot that will last longer.

Atherton Phleger

Compare this product side-by-side to top competitors >

Where to Buy?


Thinking about buying some gear we've reviewed? Help OutdoorGearLab out if you do. Just click on any of the above seller links and if you make any purchase, the seller will contribute a portion of the sale to help support this site. It won't cost you anything extra, and it's a simple way to help us fund our gear reviews. Thanks!

*Most retailers free shipping offers apply only to lower 48 US states using ground/economy shipping. See retailer's website for details.


OutdoorGearLab Member Reviews


Most recent review: January 28, 2014
Summary of All Ratings

OutdoorGearLab Editors' Rating:   
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
 (3.0)
Average Customer Rating:   
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
 (4.1)

86% of 7 reviewers recommend it
Rating Distribution
8 Total Ratings
5 star: 38%  (3)
4 star: 38%  (3)
3 star: 13%  (1)
2 star: 13%  (1)
1 star: 0%  (0)
Sort 8 member reviews by: Most Recent | Most Helpful
Write a Review on this Gear

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Jan 28, 2014 - 08:32pm
Benjamin · Backpacker · Houston, Tx
I bought these "very slightly" used boots(I paid $120), and so far so good. - Haven't really pushed them yet, but on a recent 35F fairly flat backpack (50# pack) for 2 days, my feet felt good. I'm 6'1" & 230#: Good support, good fit, good sole stiffness vs. flex.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Jan 28, 2014 - 06:59am
spauldeagle · Backpacker · michigan, florida, georgia, seattle washington
This boot has been my go to and almost every day use over the last 8 years.. I am an arborist and climb, hike, camp, and travel quite a bit. I've lived all over the country from michigan, florida, georgia, and seattle. Ive been through about 5 pairs over the 8ish years. they are my light weight 3 season boot.. sometimes (when snowshoeing) as well. breathable, water proof, and solid. they have saved my ankle from rolling quite a bit. I've hiked with as much as 65lbs of gear, on extended hikes. I chose this boot initially because asolo tends to fit narrow feet better. By all means I'm not saying this boot is the end all be all, it suits by needs and has stood the test of daily function and durability in a demanding career of climbing and recreation. I also have the leather asolo 550 gtx.. much enjoy the leathers as well. a bit more classy look with quality construction.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Dec 20, 2012 - 10:27am
Patrick Caulfield · Hiker · CANON CITY
I have used them going on a year, only here in Colorado. This is my back-up boot. It is a hiking boot vs. the Asolo Powermatic, which is a backpacking boot and my go to boot.

Its a very good boot, but after a day of carrying a load your feet will feel more tired vs. the Powermatic. The sole is more flexible (better for hiking, but not for rough off trailing with a pack). The support is also less then a full on packpacking boot. Lighter then a full leather boot as you would expect.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Sep 11, 2012 - 09:11pm
Other posters have posted about this not being a mountaineering boot. That it is not. I did take this boot up Mt. Olympus with crampons and it did not fare so well. Wished I would have had my Millets. Nonetheless, this has been my favorite pair of hiking boots that I have owned. I like the style compared to other full leather boots, and boy these things stay dry with the Gore-tex liners. I have never had a pair of boots stay so dry. My only complaint is the the soles seem to wear a bit more quickly than other boots, but the tradeoff is that it seems to be a sticker rubber, so good for scrambling/etc on rock. These are very well constructed, have a very short break in period, and even though I have replaced them with a new pair, they still get worn quite a bit as I can't seem to part with my first pair of Fugutives.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Sep 4, 2012 - 06:25pm
Ron Anderson · Climber · USA Carson city Nev.


Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Sep 4, 2012 - 06:25pm
Ron Anderson · Climber · USA Carson city Nev.
My review of these boots is the same as the first. Too soft to be a mountain boot- a nice hiker for sure, but not equipped to be climbing much. The flaring of the edges past the welt makes them sloppy on the edges also.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Sep 4, 2012 - 05:49pm
SeriousTool · Climber · Kennebunk, ME
Have done Kings Peak, Mt. Peale, Mt. Washington (and others in the Presidential Range), Katadhin, Tumbledown, and numerous low level hiking trips in these since I bought them in August 2011…. Really like them. Very quick break in period. Waterproof through the winter, and minimal blistering on Very long hikes like the Henry Fork Trail in the High Unita Wilderness of Utah. Sure the styling is a bit overboard, but who buys boots based on styling?

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Jun 12, 2012 - 11:14am
ericq99 · Climber · Austin
agree with writeup that these are not mountaineering boots, but they sure are a great, flexible (comfortable out of the box) waterproof backpacking/hiking boot that I use for light winter use (mild snow and ice).

Compared to waterproof Montrail and Merrell boots I've owned these are much more comfortable for all day wear and handle great on rocky terrain.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No


Have you used the Asolo Fugitive?
Don't hold back. Share your viewpoint by posting a review with your thoughts...

Write a Review on this Gear
Click to enlarge
Asolo Fugitive
Where's the Best Price?
Seller Price
RockCreek $194.95  -  13% off!
Amazon $224.95
Backcountry $229.95
Compare prices at 9 sellers >

*Help support OutdoorGearLab. If you click on one of the seller links and make a purchase, a portion of the sale helps support this site
Related Best-in-Class Review
The Best Hiking Boots Review

The Best Hiking Boots Review

We tested and analyzed a variety of the best boots on the market, from all-leather classics to the newest breakthroughs in materials and design. Be crippled and sad no more.
Video video review
Helpful Buying Tips
How to Choose the Best Hiking Boots - Click for details
 How to Choose the Best Hiking Boots

by Chris McNamara and Atherton Phleger
Get More OutdoorGearLab
Follow us on Twitter, be a fan on Facebook!
Subscribe to our Newsletter
Related Gear Reviews