Hands-on Gear Review

Compare gear sling ratings side-by-side >

Metolius Multi Loop Gear Sling Review

   

Gear Slings

  • Currently 3.4/5
Overall avg rating 3.4 of 5 based on 11 reviews. Most recent review: April 18, 2014
Street Price:   $24 | Compare prices at 4 resellers
Pros:  Comfortable, easy to get gear on and off.
Cons:  Can't use as full strength runner.
Best Uses:  Trad climbing, multi-pitch climbing.
User Rating:     
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
 (3.5 of 5) based on 10 reviews
Recommendations:  80% of reviewers (8/10) recommend this product
Manufacturer:   Metolius
Review by: Chris McNamara ⋅ Founder and Editor-in-Chief, OutdoorGearLab ⋅ March 9, 2010  
Overview
The Metolius Multi Loop Gear Sling is the multi-loop version of the Metolius Adjustable Gear Sling. Instead of one plastic-coated piece of webbing, this gear sling comes with four individual loops. This allows you to separate gear into four categories. The big downside to this approach is you have to always manage which gear goes on which loop. Also, it's hard to throw gear to the side to get it out of your way. That can be a big deal if you climb in an area like Yosemite with wide cracks or if you just want to be able to throw the gear behind you. The loops aside, this is a very comfy gear sling. The material is fuzzy and articulated, making it relatively painless to carry big racks. It is also very easy to adjust. It is not a full strength gear sling so you can't use it as a runner. That said, it is plenty bomber.

The regular Metolius Adjustable Gear Sling is our favorite gear sling for trad climbing and fast and light big walls. We personally don't like the multi-loop system and many other climbers feel the same way. However, some climbers do love the multi-loop organizing system. If you are one of those climbers, this is the best multi-loop gear sling we have seen. If you want a slightly lighter and cheaper gear sling that doubles as a full-strength runner, get the Black Diamond Padded Gear Sling.

View our complete Gear Sling Review to see how this product compared to others.

Compare top rated competitors side-by-side >

  • Photos
Click to enlarge


OutdoorGearLab Editors' Hands-on Review

Likes
What stands out about this Metolius Climbing gear sling is comfort. The padding is wide and has just the right firmness it's not so soft that you can feel your shoulder poke through. It also has a subtle ergonomic curve so that it rests nicely on your shoulder. The adjustability works well; you can get the length just right. The plastic covering makes it easy to slide gear around and clip it on right the first time. It also just looks good.

Dislikes
The only downside to this gear sling is that it can't be used as a full-strength runner like the Black Diamond Padded Gear Sling. I have used a gear sling as a runner before, but not often enough to make its absence a deal-breaker.

Best Application
This gear sling excels on trad climbs and multi-pitch climbs. It also works for my one-day big wall ascents of mostly free walls like The Nose or Regular Route on Half Dome. There is an optional Double D attachment whereby you can rack even more gear on the opposite side. This option doesn't work so well for me. The main advantage of a single gear sling is you can easily throw the gear behind you or easily switch it to the opposite side if you are in a chimney. The Double D does not let you do that.

Value
At $24 this is not the cheapest gear sling but it is not much more expensive than others out there. I have never seen one wear out, so over time it should be a great value.

Other Versions
Metolius Multi Loop Double D Gear Sling

Chris McNamara

Compare this product side-by-side to top competitors >

Where to Buy?

Seller Price  Shipping Cost Visit
Amazon $23.95 Check Site
MooseJaw $23.95
MountainGear $23.95
REI $24.00

Thinking about buying some gear we've reviewed? Help OutdoorGearLab out if you do. Just click on any of the above seller links and if you make any purchase, the seller will contribute a portion of the sale to help support this site. It won't cost you anything extra, and it's a simple way to help us fund our gear reviews. Thanks!

*Most retailers free shipping offers apply only to lower 48 US states using ground/economy shipping. See retailer's website for details.


OutdoorGearLab Member Reviews


Most recent review: April 18, 2014
Summary of All Ratings

OutdoorGearLab Editors' Rating:   
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
 (3.0)
Average Customer Rating:   
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
 (3.5)

80% of 10 reviewers recommend it
Rating Distribution
11 Total Ratings
5 star: 27%  (3)
4 star: 18%  (2)
3 star: 27%  (3)
2 star: 27%  (3)
1 star: 0%  (0)
Sort 10 member reviews by: Most Recent | Most Helpful
Write a Review on this Gear

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Apr 18, 2014 - 11:15am
WML · Climber · Edge of the Electric Ocean Beneath Red Rock
When I bought this I thought it would be great - keep that gear organized, out of your way, etc…great, right? Wrong. It's not that Metolius botched the execution of this, as I don't feel they could have done it much better, it's merely the concept itself is flawed. Invariably you wind up doing weird ninja contortions to get gear off of the back, of you have an unbalanced amount of gear that just makes things weird for those of us who learned to rack off of our harness gear loops or a single sling. That being said, once you come to the same conclusion I have, it makes for a wonderful piece to organize gear for trips or for keeping in your garage…

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Apr 5, 2012 - 06:19am
sol_dog · Climber · Berkeley
This thing is awesome. I love the 4 different loops. I keep the longest slings, and cordlettes on the back loop, which others have complained about reaching. I haven't found that to be an issue. 3rd loop is gear that I either towards the end of the route or might not be used until the anchor set up (big cams, big hexes). Then quick draws and short slings on #2, and cams, hexes, nuts, etc on the first one. That works for me, but then again, everyone has a different climbing style.
It is also amazing for just storing all your gear when it isn't in a crack, on your harness, or wherever else. Looks great. Feels comfy.
My climbing partner will take my sling when it is his turn to lead. Not much more praise then that is needed.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Sep 20, 2010 - 11:06am
mark miller · Climber · Reno
Was CMac even born in 1969 to review this futuristic gear sling. I love this sling and have converted most of my partners to get one also. I use two of them in the Pika big wall gear sling and once you get used to the organizing on the loops you will never go back.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Sep 20, 2010 - 10:09am
Brokedownclimber · Climber · Douglas, WY
There really aren't that many options if a multi-loop gear sling is considered. I thought that this was the best of those; comfortable, but as several have said, the rear loop is nearly unusable. I'm still getting used to segregating gear on the loops.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Mar 12, 2010 - 10:45pm
YetAnotherDave · Climber · Vancouver, BC
I love mine - makes grabbing mid-sized gear way easier without all the other stuff crushing it into it. my only gripe is that the strap should adjust smaller (this is more a gripe on behalf of my wife :)

I have a very small 'toy' biner clipped near the buckle. so when a shorter climber wants to use it they can clip that biner to the back gear loop rather than adjust via the buckle.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Mar 10, 2010 - 08:40pm
rgold · Climber · Poughkeepsie, NY
I've had one since they first made it, and find it pretty useful. As others have mentioned, I only use the front three loops, the fourth loop is unreachable.

Very often, with every drawback comes a corresponding advantage. If you are used to climbing on overhanging terrain and passing roofs, then you know what a pain it is to have all the gear on your gear sling hanging behind you where it is hard to get at. The inability to quickly spin your gear behind you that has been mentioned by others as a drawback is a distinct advantage in this situation, making your gear much easier to grab on the steeps before you pump out.

And I appreciate the ability to separate gear into functional clusters. It gets pretty hard to find the right piece quickly on a single-loop rack.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Mar 10, 2010 - 04:27pm
dktem · Climber · CA
My wife got me one of these for my birthday. Being a fan of "accessories," she got me the variety with the second sling that goes under the other arm. I personally like this feature, but many may see it as overkill. It gives a lot of options for where to put gear.

I agree with others that the multi-loop thing is probably not as useful as I initially thought it would be, and the loops in the back are a little bit difficult to reach.

I would recommend it if someone didn't already have a sling, but it may not be worth the cost to "upgrade" like I did.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Mar 10, 2010 - 02:19pm
jfailing · Climber · Lone Pine
Same as the below reviews: the multi loops seem like a great idea, but it's impossible to get to the rear loops without some amount of difficulty. It's really hard to get to those cams that are racked on the 5th loop… I ended up getting the sling with the detachable side sling, thinking I would use it as sort of a big-wall setup, but it doesn't really work as desired.

The construction of the sling is excellent quality - which is to be expected coming from Metolius. Also, it's pretty comfortable. These are really the only good things about it.

I basically only use this now as a way to keep my rack organized, but I rarely ever take it on a climb.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Mar 10, 2010 - 12:05pm
hoipolloi · Climber · A friends backyard with the neighbors wifi
I thought the same thing as Slakkey…that it would be great, but found it wasn't. To fix it I cut the stitching out of the back 2 or 3 gear loops and turned it into a sling with 2 or 3 different spots for gear, not 5ish.

It worked. but a normal, single sling is better…

The problem is that you (at least me) can't reach back to the farthest back 1 or 2 loops without some major contortionist stuff going on. also. You can't flip the gear off your chest and side to get it behind you when needed.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Mar 9, 2010 - 06:22pm
locker · Climber · CO
Metolius, IMO has pretty much always "Nailed it" with quality climbing gear. The Multi-Loop Gear Sling is no exception. It is a high quality product that is very well made and reasonably comfortable. It functions well for what it is intended for.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No


Have you used the Metolius Multi Loop Gear Sling?
Don't hold back. Share your viewpoint by posting a review with your thoughts...

Write a Review on this Gear
Click to enlarge
Metolius Multi-Loop Gear Sling
Credit: Metoliusclimbing.com
Where's the Best Price?
Seller Price
Amazon $23.95
MooseJaw $23.95
MountainGear $23.95
Compare prices at 4 sellers >

*Help support OutdoorGearLab. If you click on one of the seller links and make a purchase, a portion of the sale helps support this site
Related Best-in-Class Review
The Best Climbing Gear Sling

The Best Climbing Gear Sling

We picked up some of the top climbing gear slings and tested them head-to-head. We evaluated them on comfort, adjustability, organizing, ease of use, and bomberness.
Get More OutdoorGearLab
Follow us on Twitter, be a fan on Facebook!
Subscribe to our Newsletter
Related Gear Reviews