Hands-on Gear Review

Compare climbing shoes ratings side-by-side >

Evolv Defy Review

   

Climbing Shoes - Men's

  • Currently 3.1/5
Overall avg rating 3.1 of 5 based on 7 reviews. Most recent review: February 12, 2014
Street Price:   Varies from $67 - $89 | Compare prices at 10 resellers
Pros:  Comfortable, great value
Cons:  Gets soft over time, not best edging
Best Uses:  Gym climbing, trad climbing, sport climbing
User Rating:     
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
 (3.2 of 5) based on 6 reviews
Recommendations:  80% of reviewers (4/5) recommend this product
Manufacturer:   Evolv
Review by: Chris McNamara ⋅ Founder and Editor-in-Chief, OutdoorGearLab ⋅ February 9, 2010  
Overview
While this climbing shoe is ideal for beginning or budget-conscious climbers, it works in nearly any application, except maybe your hardest micro-edging redpoint where a stiffer-soled shoe would be better. Other shoes will do specific tasks better (like edging) but this shoe does nearly everything adequately and at a great price. For gym, sport climbs and most outdoor climbs it works great. We found the Mad Rock Flash did a little better on edging and small pockets and would choose that shoe over the defy for more outdoor use. If you have an unlimited budget, get the Five Ten Anasazi VCS.

View our complete Climbing Shoe Review to see how this product compared to others.

The Evolv Defy is one of the best values in climbing shoes. It is the best selling shoe at most Bay Area climbing gyms and maybe the best selling shoe in the country. It climbs great, looks cool and only costs $85. You can almost buy two pair for the price of an upper-end climbing shoe. So the last time I bought shoes I actually bought one tight pair for hard climbs and one pair a half-size bigger for all-day climbing comfort.

Compare top rated competitors side-by-side >

  • Photos
Click to enlarge
Click to enlarge
Click to enlarge


OutdoorGearLab Editors' Hands-on Review

Likes
This rock climbing shoe excels at comfort and value. It is soft enough that it climbs comfortably right out of the box. Then over time it gets even more comfortable. This is not an ideal micro-edging shoe but I can't remember the last time I wanted a shoe just for that.

Dislikes
The same qualities that make the Evolv Defy shoe comfortable right out of the box also make it a little sloppy over time. After a few months you have to tighten the velcro more and put more effort into standing on little edges. This is to be expected from any shoe that feels soft right away. My solution of buying two pair solves this problem. My big pair gets more comfortable over time. Meanwhile, my tight pair is used less often and keeps its "edge."

Best Application
These shoes excel in the gym where comfort always wins over edging. They also do great outside, especially on sport climbs. I use mine on technical steep granite but find they are not as precise as a stiffer shoe like the Anasazi Velcro.

Value
This is one of the best values of any shoe on the market. For $85 you can't go wrong. If you buy them too big or they stretch way out, save them for long easy free climbs or the gym.

Other Versions
Evolv-Elektra is the women's version of the Defy. If you love the Defy, the logical higher end upgrade is the Chris Sharma pro model, the Evolv Pontas 2 $130, or the Evolv Shaman, $150.

Chris McNamara

Compare this product side-by-side to top competitors >

Where to Buy?


Thinking about buying some gear we've reviewed? Help OutdoorGearLab out if you do. Just click on any of the above seller links and if you make any purchase, the seller will contribute a portion of the sale to help support this site. It won't cost you anything extra, and it's a simple way to help us fund our gear reviews. Thanks!

*Most retailers free shipping offers apply only to lower 48 US states using ground/economy shipping. See retailer's website for details.


OutdoorGearLab Member Reviews


Most recent review: February 12, 2014
Summary of All Ratings

OutdoorGearLab Editors' Rating:   
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
 (3.0)
Average Customer Rating:   
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
 (3.2)

80% of 5 reviewers recommend it
Rating Distribution
6 Total Ratings
5 star: 0%  (0)
4 star: 33%  (2)
3 star: 50%  (3)
2 star: 17%  (1)
1 star: 0%  (0)
Sort 6 member reviews by: Most Recent | Most Helpful
Write a Review on this Gear

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Feb 12, 2014 - 11:22am
jhndlntylr · Climber · Florida
Good shoe for beginner to intermediate climbers who are getting use to good footwork.

Rubber wears down pretty quickly.

The Defy gets softer and softer with each use but I've found that the softness/comfort is pretty decent for gym and trad climbing.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Mar 29, 2011 - 01:36pm
PHotY · Climber · Columbia, Mo
i bought this shoe because a friend gave me a code to get 60% off on all evolv shoes. at the time, the deal was too good, and being my first shoe, i was happy not spending much. i did not know what i wanted in a climbing shoe, so cheap seemed like the best way to find out.

at first the shoe was great, but i didn't know better because i could only compare it the overused shoes the gym provided. it held the rock better, i liked the velcro more than the lace, and had a smaller toe that helped on small edges.

as i got a little better, i realized the downsides to the shoe. its super soft and losses its edge within a few wears, making small ledges really hard to stand on. the straps sit a little too far away from the top of the shoe, so no matter how hard i strapped the shoes, my heal popped out every time. as i got better, it made it impossible to heal-hook anything without exposing some or all of my bare heal. also, these shoes smell to the high heavens. nothing gets the stink out. everyone i know has the same problem, so its not just me. talking with older climbers, i found that evolv, and especially defy, are infamous for stink. the synthetic fabric just reeks. one last caution, the shoe does not stretch, even after 5 months of wear.

i would not recommend this shoe at full price to anyone. if you can find a super deal and its your first shoe, i guess you can get it, but it wont keep you happy for long. i hate the shoe so much its not worth resoling and it smells so bad i will have to throw them away.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Sep 9, 2010 - 04:40pm
thetennisguy · Climber · Yuba City, CA
i use these shoes in the gym mainly; I found that the toe wears out (on the rand) before the bottom rubber wears through; this seems to be the case with both left and right feet.

my friend also had this happen. I'm sending mine it to get resoled right now.

this shoe is very comfortable and i enjoy having the velcro especially since we climb at lunchtime and need to get in and out of them quickly

i bought my son a pair of them because they are so comfortable; he's happy with them and seems to enjoy climbing more now that he has a more comfortable pair of shoes

evolve may have changed the design or added more rubber to weak spots in the shoe I have; now I see they have a vtr or variable thickness rand model out; so hopefully they beefed up the rand on the big toe enough to add some more durability to it.

one note … if you buy this shoe also buy a couple of cans of lysol because you'll need it … they stink much more possibilty due to the synthetic material used around the velco … hey it goes with the territory so don't worry too much about it … just an fyi

overall a very popular shoe and a very comfortable with very good performance … good reason why it's so popular

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Sep 9, 2010 - 05:47am
bearbreeder · Climber
comfortable gym shoes …

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Jul 21, 2010 - 01:18pm
MAbuse · Climber · Kuala Lumpur
The Defy "Eco-Trax" were my second pair of climbing shoes. I bought these looking for a more comfortable shoe after returning a pair of Evolv Kaos 2s that were tighter than I was willing to tolerate.

After stretching out after a few sessions the Defy proved to be a comfortable shoe with decent all-round performance for everything I tried. The rand began showing small holes at around the 3 month mark after a 3 session a week schedule. I've climbed them for another couple of months before my big toe began scraping the wall and finally retiring them.

The shoes could have been a little stiffer at the midsole. They are so soft that standing on anything remotely sharp (limestone flakes) causes profound discomfort. The edge rounded out in the first few weeks of climbing and combined with the overall softness made standing on tiny edges difficult to impossible. The anti microbial treatment on the shoe didn't work for long. Evolv shoes stay fresh for a few session then smell weird for a bit before adopting a horrendous pong.

Overall a good shoe that I was very satisfied with. I'm keeping the Defy VTR earmarked as a possible future shoe purchase if a good deal presents itself at the time.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

Feb 3, 2010 - 11:41pm
 
Jay Wood · Climber · Land of God-less fools
I got another pair of these recently, as they have performed well.

They didn't stay on the holds for #@%&.

Instead of "trax" rubber, they said "eco-trax".

Took them back.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No


Have you used the Evolv Defy?
Don't hold back. Share your viewpoint by posting a review with your thoughts...

Write a Review on this Gear
Click to enlarge
Evolv Defy Shoe
Credit: www.evolvesports.com/
Where's the Best Price?
Seller Price
Oregon Mountain Community $67.24  -  21% off!
Amazon $79.88  -  6% off!
Backcountry $88.95
Compare prices at 10 sellers >

*Help support OutdoorGearLab. If you click on one of the seller links and make a purchase, a portion of the sale helps support this site
Related Best-in-Class Review
The Best Rock Climbing Shoes Review

The Best Rock Climbing Shoes Review

We took over 20 pairs of the best rock climbing shoes and subjected them to head-to-head competition to find the best.
Helpful Buying Tips
Get More OutdoorGearLab
Follow us on Twitter, be a fan on Facebook!
Subscribe to our Newsletter
Related Gear Reviews