Hands-on Gear Review

Compare climbing ropes (dynamic) ratings side-by-side >

Maxim Glider Review

   

Climbing Ropes (Dynamic)

  • Currently 3.3/5
Overall avg rating 3.3 of 5 based on 9 reviews. Most recent review: March 18, 2014
Street Price:   $219 | Compare prices at 1 resellers
Pros:  1 over 1 TPT sheath design, feeds really well, stays new longer than most ropes
Cons:  Sheath loosened at ends, heavy, high impact force
Best Uses:  All-around climbing, trad climbs, big walls
User Rating:     
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
 (3.0 of 5) based on 8 reviews
Recommendations:  50% of reviewers (4/8) recommend this product
Manufacturer:   Maxim, New England Ropes
Review by: McKenzie Long ⋅ Senior Review Editor, OutdoorGearLab ⋅ June 4, 2013  
Overview
The New England Ropes Maxim Glider is an innovative and well made climbing rope. At 10.2mm, 66 g/m and with a beefy strength of holding up to 9 UIAA falls, this rope is made for work. The 9.9mm version is a bit lighter at 63g/m and holds up to 7 UIAA falls. This model incorporates a unique 1 over 1 sheath weave rather than the common 2 over 2, which makes the rope handle smoother and last longer. The closest imitation of the way this rope handles is the Teflon coating on the Mammut Infinity, which also prolongs the life of the rope and allows it to feed well. If you like the quality of the Glider, but it is too expensive for you, try out the Maxim Pinnacle which uses the same sheath weave technology.

How does this compare to other ropes? See The Best Climbing Rope Review

Compare top rated competitors side-by-side >

  • Photos
Click to enlarge
Click to enlarge
Click to enlarge


OutdoorGearLab Editors' Hands-on Review

Performance Comparison
Click to enlarge
Baron Weller, Brandon Ransom and Curtis Smith contemplate routes at Optimator Wall, Indian Creek, UT with a Glider in the foreground. Since this rope has a 1 over 1 sheath weave, it stays newer longer, even in the dirty sand at the Creek.
Credit: McKenzie Long

9.9, 10.2, 10.5, 11mm Workhorse Rope

Weight
At 66 g/m for the 10.2, this is not a lightweight rope.

Handling
Maxim is the only company that makes ropes with a 1 over 1 sheath weave pattern, and the ropes that use this technology are the Glider and the Pinnacle. (All others use 2 over 2.) This weave gives the rope a smoother feel and allows it to effortlessly glide through your belay device. It also makes the cross section of the rope smaller, meaning the sheath takes up less space.

Durability
At Maxim, they claim that this TPT (Twill Pattern Technology) helps to reduce rope drag and gives the rope increased abrasion resistance. In our tests, the sheath on this rope did last longer than others we evaluated. This rope is worth checking out just because of this unique technology. It feeds and handles better than any other climbing rope, and stays newer longer.

Usually ropes fatten up after a lot of use, but this rope stays thin because of the sheath weave. One tester who owned a Glider reported that after nine months of frequent use every week, other climbers would see his rope and say "Wow, nice new rope, huh?" With this sheath, you can get away with a thicker diameter rope for strength, but climb with a rope that feels skinny.

Personal Stories
I was climbing with a group and two different Gliders for a few weeks at Indian Creek one spring. After the first week and a half, one of the Gliders had the sheath stretch a little at the ends, leaving the tips loose and ragged, which made it hard to tie in. Since it was a brand new rope, my friend called Maxim to see what they had to say and the rep said " Let me guess, you would lead up on one end, top-rope on the other, and then pull through chains and rappel." My friend was surprised because that is exactly the program on just about every climb at the Creek, and this guy knew exactly what was happening to his rope. He told him sometimes that happens with a lot of rappelling through chains, and to just trim the ends. Maxim ropes seem to have an issue with this happening, since it has happened with all 3 Maxim ropes that we tested even though we did not use them all in the exact same context.

Options and Other Versions
This rope comes in 4 different diameters (11, 10.5, 10.2, 9.9mm) and two different lengths (60 and 70m for each,) so you can select the thickness appropriate to your use. All of these diameters are fairly thick, making it an excellent work rope or big wall rope.

Best Application
This rope is great for jugging, working a project, or top-roping,

Value
Even though this rope is one of the most expensive in the review, it goes far for the money. If you are looking for a smooth handling work rope, this is worth a try.

McKenzie Long

Compare this product side-by-side to top competitors >

Where to Buy?

Seller Price  Shipping Cost Visit
Amazon $219.44 Check Site

Thinking about buying some gear we've reviewed? Help OutdoorGearLab out if you do. Just click on any of the above seller links and if you make any purchase, the seller will contribute a portion of the sale to help support this site. It won't cost you anything extra, and it's a simple way to help us fund our gear reviews. Thanks!

*Most retailers free shipping offers apply only to lower 48 US states using ground/economy shipping. See retailer's website for details.


OutdoorGearLab Member Reviews


Most recent review: March 18, 2014
Summary of All Ratings

OutdoorGearLab Editors' Rating:   
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
 (4.0)
Average Customer Rating:   
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
 (3.0)

50% of 8 reviewers recommend it
Rating Distribution
9 Total Ratings
5 star: 11%  (1)
4 star: 33%  (3)
3 star: 22%  (2)
2 star: 22%  (2)
1 star: 11%  (1)
Sort 8 member reviews by: Most Recent | Most Helpful
Write a Review on this Gear

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Feb 8, 2011 - 08:24pm
PAUL SOUZA · Climber · Central Valley, CA
Amazing rope! It is a little stiff, but this rope snakes right out of flakes that would otherwise catch other ropes. I'll never buy anything else as long as they continue making this rope.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Mar 18, 2014 - 03:27pm
zhhanners · Climber · Jamestown
Bought the glider 10.2 as a workhorse for sport routes. Got one climb at about 55 feet out of it before it fell apart. My second NER that fell apart on me. It took 2 months for anyone to get back to me and three voicemails later I finally got Rob Manson on the phone. Cowards. Be smart: take your money elsewhere!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Dec 9, 2013 - 05:34pm
WyoRockMan · Climber · Bighorns, WY
It is a stiff rope which detracts from handling, but a good all around workhorse. Very little sheath wear after a year of weekly use. I use my 9.9 for general use.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Oct 22, 2013 - 04:36pm
I bought this to save $50 over a rope from the company that I usually buy from. That was 4 years ago. This thing won't die even with my best attempts. The 9.9 is fat for the diameter, heavy, and still kinks like the worst of them. Unlike the user below, I did find that washing the rope helped the handling turn from "cable-like" to supple again, which lasted for one trip to Indian Creek, then it turned into a cable again. I gave it 2 stars because its better than Goldline.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Jul 1, 2013 - 10:43pm
Justthemaid · Climber · Canoga Park,, Ca
Bought this rope (60m 10.2) a year ago and It is definitely the worst investment in a rope I've ever made. Yes it's a durable bi-color and initially we loved the way it handled, but the first time we had to wash it the troubles began. The "glider" part seemed to disappear completely and it has become a monumental pain in the rear.

Now, this rope sucks. It collects dirt faster than any rope I've ever owned. Every time we have to wash it, it gets fatter, stiffer, and stickier. (No we aren't using excessive soap or fabric softener or any such weirdness). The rope generally need 2-3 rinses to make it even remotely workable. It now handles like crap. It also coils incessantly no matter what we do. It's so hard to bend I dread having to rappel on it. I have to forcibly shove the rope through the device.

Further commenting on the site review above.

this is not a lightweight rope.

Yup.. it's incredibly heavy and doesn't compact down at all. Our 70 meter takes up less space.


Handling
This weave gives the rope a smoother feel and allows it to effortlessly glide through your belay device.


Yes.. until you wash it once. Then it's like trying to wrangle a garden hose through your device.

Durability
At Maxim, they claim that this TPT helps to reduce rope drag and gives the rope increased abrasion resistance.

Durability is not an issue, but this rope has more drag and resistance than any I've ever owned.

In our tests, the sheath on this rope did last longer than others we evaluated.


OK.. I'll give them that one.

Usually ropes fatten up after a lot of use, but this rope stays thin because of the sheath weave.

Lies all lies.

Best Application
This rope is great for jugging, working a project, or top-roping,

This rope is best for top-roping on razor-sharp rock, tying up livestock or hauling your truck out of the mud.

Edit to add: The 70m version of this in the thinner diameter seems to gets rave review. Maybe it's just the thicker diameter where this weave goes south?




Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Jun 6, 2012 - 01:37am
Great rope and great feel…

Two complaints. Its harder to feed through an ATC in guide mode than most ropes, and it doesn't clove hitch on smaller carabiners worth a darn (it refuses to bend). It is just so stiff, and it has stayed stiff for the last year.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Aug 19, 2011 - 01:22pm
the Fet · Climber · Tu-Tok-A-Nu-La
It's very good. A little small and tough to get on, but just the right amount of lube. Wait… oh this is about a rope, I thought it was for the Maxim Glider condom.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Aug 19, 2011 - 11:31am
YoungGun · Climber · North
Stiff. Not that durable. Kinks easily. Won't buy again.

I bought a 9.9mm a year ago and so did one of my friends. Both of us have had to retire the ropes already. Core shots in both. I didn't necessarily baby the rope, but still expected a bit more.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No


Have you used the Maxim Glider?
Don't hold back. Share your viewpoint by posting a review with your thoughts...

Write a Review on this Gear
Credit: New England Ropes
Where's the Best Price?
Seller Price
Amazon $219.44
Compare prices at 1 sellers >

*Help support OutdoorGearLab. If you click on one of the seller links and make a purchase, a portion of the sale helps support this site
Related Best-in-Class Review
The Best Rock Climbing Rope

The Best Rock Climbing Rope

After a memorable amount of unwinding and flaking, we put the top dynamic climbing ropes to the test by climbing as much as possible in many different disciplines.
Helpful Buying Tips
Get More OutdoorGearLab
Follow us on Twitter, be a fan on Facebook!
Subscribe to our Newsletter
Related Gear Reviews
Mammut Infinity

Mammut Infinity
$240 60m
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Editors' Choice Award
Video video review
Mammut Tusk

Mammut Tusk
$220
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Best Buy Award
Sterling Fusion Nano

Sterling Fusion Nano
$216
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Top Pick Award
Sterling Marathon Pro

Sterling Marathon Pro
$204 60m
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Top Pick Award
Mammut Revelation

Mammut Revelation
$254 70m Superdry
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Video video review
Sterling Evolution Velocity

Sterling Evolution Velocity
$204
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
More related gear reviews...