Hands-on Gear Review

Compare climbing harness ratings side-by-side >

Petzl Adjama Review

   

Climbing Harness - Men's

  • Currently 3.8/5
Overall avg rating 3.8 of 5 based on 11 reviews. Most recent review: October 9, 2012
Street Price:   $75 | Compare prices at 8 resellers
Pros:  light, comfortable, well-ventilated, adjustable
Cons:  expensive
Best Uses:  trad climbing, multi-pitch climbing, alpine climbing
User Rating:     
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
 (3.7 of 5) based on 10 reviews
Recommendations:  80% of reviewers (8/10) recommend this product
Manufacturer:   Petzl
Review by: Chris McNamara ⋅ Founder and Editor-in-Chief, OutdoorGearLab ⋅ January 3, 2010  
Overview
The Petzl Adjama harness is very similar to the highly-rated Petzl Sama climbing harness with the difference being that it has adjustable leg loops. If you like buckles on the legs, then this is a great harness that is light, comfortable, highly breatheable and very adjustable.

The Adjama is a great all-around climbing harness if you climb everything from sport to mountaineering. It is one of the lightest harnesses with leg buckles. The downside is that it is more expensive than the Sama, which we like more. But if you must have adjustable leg loops, you will enjoy the Adjama. The two other top competitors ware the Black Diamond Momentum SA and the CAMP Quartz CR3 which both scored about same but were $10-20 less expensive. We lean toward the Quartz CR3 because it is more comfortable, less expensive, and scored a little higher in our tests. But we also really like the Momentum SA which is only $60 (or less when on sale, which happens often).

Read our complete Climbing Harness Review to see how this compared to others.

Compare top rated competitors side-by-side >

  • Photos
Click to enlarge
Click to enlarge
Click to enlarge
Click to enlarge
Click to enlarge
Click to enlarge


OutdoorGearLab Editors' Hands-on Review

Likes
This Petzl harness shares all the likrs of the Sama: comfortable, light and highly breathable. The breathability is handy if you are alpine climbing and want it to dry fast or if you are climbing in hot weather and don't want to sweat. Like all Petzl harnesses, it has the great Petzl self-locking buckle (called DoubleBack buckles) and the best leg loop elastic release we tested.

Petzl has led the industry in providing clear documentation illustrations. They took the next step by printing these illustrations on their harnesses. For example, on the belay loop there is a printed illustration showing you how to tie in. This will likely wear out over time. However, it will be there when it is most needed: when a person first buys the harness.

Dislikes
Most of our reviewers prefer no leg buckles for all applications (yes even alpine and mountaineering). So we would choose the Sama over this harness. For those who like buckles on the leg straps, they may be miffed that they must pay $20 more than the Sama to get them (most harness manufacturers charge only another $5-10 for leg buckles).

Best Application
The Adjama is at the lighter end of the all-around harness market. It excels for mountaineering and all around climbing. You can undo the adjustable leg loops which makes the harness easy to get on over crampons.

Personal Stories
Chris Mac says, "I once borrowed one of these from Cedar Wright. Then I just kept forgetting to give it back (sorry Cedar). It became my go-to harness for years. I put a lot of big wall ascents on mine. While it's not exactly comfortable at long hanging belays, I found it a nice trade-off for being reasonably comfortable and light. Today I would choose the Petzl Sama over the Adjama. The Sama is lighter, cleaner and costs $20 less."

Value
At $85 this is not as good value as the Petzl Sama, which is lighter and costs $20 less. But if you want adjustable leg loops you will like this harness and use it for years.

Video on Petzl's Frame Technology

Chris McNamara

Compare this product side-by-side to top competitors >

Where to Buy?


Thinking about buying some gear we've reviewed? Help OutdoorGearLab out if you do. Just click on any of the above seller links and if you make any purchase, the seller will contribute a portion of the sale to help support this site. It won't cost you anything extra, and it's a simple way to help us fund our gear reviews. Thanks!

*Most retailers free shipping offers apply only to lower 48 US states using ground/economy shipping. See retailer's website for details.


OutdoorGearLab Member Reviews


Most recent review: October 9, 2012
Summary of All Ratings

OutdoorGearLab Editors' Rating:   
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
 (4.0)
Average Customer Rating:   
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
 (3.7)

80% of 10 reviewers recommend it
Rating Distribution
11 Total Ratings
5 star: 27%  (3)
4 star: 45%  (5)
3 star: 0%  (0)
2 star: 27%  (3)
1 star: 0%  (0)
Sort 10 member reviews by: Most Recent | Most Helpful
Write a Review on this Gear

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Dec 12, 2011 - 12:30am
colton edson · Climber


Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Oct 9, 2012 - 12:18pm
WML · Climber · Edge of the Electric Ocean Beneath Red Rock
UPDATED REVIEW
After having the harness for a year and a half, some of the stitching on the belay loop (not the two big bar tacks, but still very unnerving) came undone. In addition to this, the lower tie-in loop showed heavy wear, similar to what another poster documented in photos. While the harness is light, comfortable, has great gear loops, and packs down to almost nothing, I have moved on in terms of harness choice. It served well during its time, but unfortunately the premature wear was a rather major downside.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Sep 27, 2012 - 02:31pm
Jeenyus37 · Climber · Chippewa Falls, WI
I've been using this harness the past couple years and have had no problems of any kind. It has definitly shown it's durability and is very comfortable, my only only complaints would be lack of a haul loop, but what do you expect from a lighter sport climbing harness

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Apr 8, 2011 - 02:39pm
GOclimb · Climber · Boston, MA
First the positive side. When I bought it, I found the harness comfortable, with adequate gear loops, and generally quite satisfactory. I still find it comfortable, but…

The harness simply hasn't stood up well. I've only had it for about a year, and it is wearing out in three different places.

Most seriously, the tie-in point has worn through the first layer completely, and is starting to wear through the second layer:
Click to enlarge
Credit: GOclimb

Please note - I do not have any non-standard gear attached to my tie-in point. The only thing that ever touches that area is the rope, when I tie in. I do not use daisy chains for belays, and my belay device goes on my belay loop.

Clearly the thing that has caused the wear on the harness here is the belay loop itself! You can see the wear lines from the edges of where the belay loop would sit, as it begins to go through the next layer.

Second, the back of the leg loops is covered with some kind of flimsy wire mesh, which is disintegrating. And once that's gone, the foam inside is getting worn away too:

Click to enlarge
left side
Credit: GOclimb

Click to enlarge
right side
Credit: GOclimb

Lastly, the elastic attachment between the swami and the leg loops is disintegrating. This one is no big deal, and I'll probably just replace them with some nylon webbing soon.

Click to enlarge
Credit: GOclimb

Frankly, I'm surprised that no-one else has seen issues with the durability of the Petzl Adjama. I've never had a harness that has worn this severely in so many ways in such a short amount of time.

In short, while I like the usability of the harness, I expect more durability. I would not recommend it.

GO

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Apr 7, 2011 - 03:49pm
WML · Climber · Edge of the Electric Ocean Beneath Red Rock
Well, the incredible shrinking WML act made my CAMP Quartz CR3 (medium) a bit too big for me (considerably, particularly in the waist) so I had to hunt down a new rig. With my REI dividend in tow, I wandered into the local store (would have bought anywhere else had the dividend not been a part of it).

I happen to suffer from a very small (29 inch) waist and LARGE legs. The CR3 was perfect, but the local REI was out of them and so I had to find an alternative for a trip up to Temple Crag last weekend. So I check this harness out because the thing is compact and light - perfect for alpine!

I try it on, and the waist zips right down to nothing and I am no better off in the medium. So I try the small, and bingo, zips right down to "PERFECT" - the legs were almost maxed out, but that is to be expected I guess.

I love the fact that this is auto double backed, folks with a low IQ such as myself love that kind of thing.

The gear loops are MUCH better than my CAMP harness, these are fairly rigid, as opposed to the flimsy ones on the CAMP harness. Comfort is OK, wouldn't want to hang in it for terribly long, but it was fine on our raps while we bailed, so I would recommend something else for sport climbing (probably)

It is lightweight and dries out VERY fast, compacts to almost nothing. If you do a lot of alpine rock and a lot of traditional rock, this is a great fit-both-needs-quite-well type harness.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Sep 1, 2010 - 04:51pm
Mighty Hiker · Climber · Vancouver, B.C.
I recently bought an Adjama, and quite like it. It seems a good all-round harness. Probably not the ideal if all you do is bolt/sport climb, ice climb, or alpine climb. But otherwise a good one. I like the adjustable leg loops, as then I can use one harness for everything - rock, mountains, even a bit of ice. Also a nice touch that the belay loop is a different colour from everything else. The one tiny issue is the gear loops, which work fine, but could be a bit more prominent - either a different (plastic?) material, or another colour.

ps What's an "Adjama"? Is it related to a pyjama?

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Aug 9, 2010 - 03:23am
W. S. · Climber · The West
I like this harness a lot. It's comfy, low profile, and has nice buckles. The gear loops are not as stiff as some but this hasn't caused me any problems and makes life with a pack a little easier. Mine was made in France, and I think that's cool.

Two minor gripes that keep this from being five stars: First, the size of the gear loops is proportional to the size of the harness. That means smaller loops for us skinny folk, which may or may not cause problems depending on how you rack your gear. Second, there is no full-strength haul loop. This isn't really a big deal, I've found that when I need one girth hitching a 30cm runner around the back of the swami works great and doesn't cause me any discomfort. An integrated haul loop would save some hassle, though.

Bottom line is that if it fits you (don't see why it wouldn't) this is one of the better harnesses you can get for all-around free climbing.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Aug 9, 2010 - 01:34am
amyas · Climber · Meadow Lake SK
Good: Light. Comfortable. Breathes great. Front gear loops are the best I've had for racking/taking off. Has leg buckles(good for me, you probably don't care.
Bad: Nothing to complain about yet, which is weird for me.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Jan 30, 2010 - 10:08am
justindan45 · Climber · GA
I found this harness best utilized as my sport harness. It is able to withstand tons of abuse, lots of falls, and is very comfortable. It is highly breathable making it nice in the summer months. A definte step up from your typical 40-60 dollar harness. And you save weight on the hike in.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Jan 21, 2010 - 03:17pm
Srbphoto · Climber · Kennewick wa
Very comfortable. Can hang in it comfortably. I don't even notice I have it on. Getting to gear is easy.

Most important: Only crushed my nads once in a fall!!!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No


Have you used the Petzl Adjama?
Don't hold back. Share your viewpoint by posting a review with your thoughts...

Write a Review on this Gear
Click to enlarge
Petzl Adjama Harness
Credit: Petzl.com
Where's the Best Price?
Seller Price
Backcountry $74.95  -  13% off!
Amazon $74.95  -  13% off!
CampSaver $74.95  -  13% off!
Compare prices at 8 sellers >

*Help support OutdoorGearLab. If you click on one of the seller links and make a purchase, a portion of the sale helps support this site
Related Best-in-Class Review
The Best Climbing Harness Review

The Best Climbing Harness Review

A review of top climbing harness options for trad, sport, and gym climbing.
Video video review
Helpful Buying Tips
How to Choose the Best Climbing Harness - Click for details
 How to Choose the Best Climbing Harness

by Chris McNamara, Chris Van Leuven, Ian Nicholson
Get More OutdoorGearLab
Follow us on Twitter, be a fan on Facebook!
Subscribe to our Newsletter
Related Gear Reviews