Hands-on Gear Review

Compare backpacking stove accessory ratings side-by-side >

JetBoil Hanging Kit Review

   

Backpacking Stove Accessories

  • Currently 3.6/5
Overall avg rating 3.6 of 5 based on 10 reviews. Most recent review: August 29, 2011
Street Price:   Varies from $21 - $30 | Compare prices at 7 resellers
Pros:  Light, works with many stoves
Cons:  Cables need to be carefully maintained
Best Uses:  Use with any hanging stove kit
User Rating:     
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
 (2.5 of 5) based on 9 reviews
Recommendations:  50% of reviewers (2/4) recommend this product
Manufacturer:   JetBoil
Review by: Chris McNamara ⋅ Founder and Editor-in-Chief, OutdoorGearLab ⋅ October 11, 2010  
Overview
The JetBoil Hanging Kit allows you to hang your JetBoil camping stove inside a tent, portaledge or just about any camping situation that has sufficient space AND access to ventilation. Other than making your own homemade system, this is about your only option to convert your JetBoil into a hanging stove. Luckily it works quite well and weighs so little that there is not much reason not to use it. The main question is whether you are willing to pay $30 for this convenient little device. Truth is, in just about any situation you can get by without it. However, when you do use it in a cramped space, you will love it and wonder how you got by without it.

Compare top rated competitors side-by-side >

  • Photos
Click to enlarge
Click to enlarge
Click to enlarge
Click to enlarge
Click to enlarge

OutdoorGearLab Editors' Hands-on Review

Likes
We love products that are complex as they need to be and no more. That pretty much sums up this hanging stove kit. It is incredibly simple, light, and compact. It's really only three little cables and three little aluminum poles but that is all you need. It weighs almost nothing and doesn't take up much space. Best of all, it works with many JetBoil stoves (you don't have to buy a different setup for each different stove). It works with the smaller JetBoil Flash as well as the bigger JetBoil Group Cooking System. We even hear this works with the MSR Reactor and some other brands of stoves that don't have their own hanging kits.

Dislikes
This kit is a little fragile. The cables and poles are thin and need to be carefully stowed. We recommend keeping the original packaging this comes in and using it as the storage and transportation kit.

Value
$30 seems a lot for three cables, 3 tiny poles and a few connectors. But at least you get an option (many stoves don't come with a hanging option).

Best Application
Hanging stoves excel in tight spaces, especially if your tent does not have a vestibule. Imagine that it's raining and you are trying to cook in a small tent. It is going to be hard to be in a sleeping bag while still having enough room to make sure the stove does not singe your bag. Big wall climbers love hanging stoves because a portaledge is rarely flat AND the hanging kit solves the problem of how to clip your stove in so it doesn't roll off into space. I have climbed walls with just a regular JetBoil and no hanging kit, but it is much more of a pain because you have to always hold the stove, which makes it hard to cook with one person.

Stories
I used the Flash on El Capitan once without the hanging kit and once with. It is definitely a lot better with the hanging kit in a big wall situation… but also works without it. The stove was light, compact, and did everything we needed it to. I can't imagine a better hanging stove for big walls where space plus ease of setup and take down are so important. I love my old Bibler hanging stove but it is probably double the size and weight. The MSR Reactor would have been a little overkill, especially since it is harder to handle in a hanging situation.

Chris McNamara

Compare this product side-by-side to top competitors >

Where to Buy?


Thinking about buying some gear we've reviewed? Help OutdoorGearLab out if you do. Just click on any of the above seller links and if you make any purchase, the seller will contribute a portion of the sale to help support this site. It won't cost you anything extra, and it's a simple way to help us fund our gear reviews. Thanks!

*Most retailers free shipping offers apply only to lower 48 US states using ground/economy shipping. See retailer's website for details.


OutdoorGearLab Member Reviews


Most recent review: August 29, 2011
Summary of All Ratings

OutdoorGearLab Editors' Rating:   
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
 (5.0)
Average Customer Rating:   
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
 (2.5)

50% of 4 reviewers recommend it
Rating Distribution
5 Total Ratings
5 star: 40%  (2)
4 star: 0%  (0)
3 star: 20%  (1)
2 star: 0%  (0)
1 star: 40%  (2)
Sort 9 member reviews by: Most Recent | Most Helpful
Write a Review on this Gear

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Aug 29, 2011 - 12:16pm
tom Carter · Climber
Go with the 4" Hose Clamp and cord.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Aug 28, 2011 - 12:48pm
Mark Hudon · Climber · Hood River, OR
I junked my hanging kit, it was just another thing to deal with, and duct taped some cord right to the metal of of the pot right near the top. The whole rig is way more stable now so if you really want to fill it above the recommended line, it won't tip over.

Click to enlarge
Credit: Mark Hudon

Fold the neoprene down and tape two loops of 3 mil and you're set. I have a little "keeper" cord that I tie to the stove so it doesn't accidentally fall off.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

Aug 28, 2011 - 10:30am
 
Stefan Jacobsen · Climber · Danmark
Diesel, How is the Eta better?
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Aug 26, 2011 - 08:45pm
johngenx · Climber
Okay, my review of the JB hanging kit is in two parts:
  1. When used with the JetBoil. Well, I don't. I have a home-made rig for hanging the JB, as the OEM kit kinda sucks. It's located low on the JB, and I find the whole thing pretty tippy. Mine attaches near the lip of the cup, and works much better.
  1. When used with the MSR Reactor. Check out the MSR Reactor review for a minor mod I made to the JB hanging kit, and BAM, the JB kit works awesome with the Reactor. Oh, the irony!


Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Nov 13, 2010 - 05:48pm
Mark Hudon · Climber · Hood River, OR
Drinking so early, Pete?

The Jetboil Hanging Kt is an indispensable piece of big wall cooking gear. I eat pretty much all dehydrated food on a wall. In the last five years I've probably eaten a hundred dehydrated meals on walls and backpacking trips. None take more that two cups of water, exactly to the line in the Jetboil pot. Additionally, to make an excellent cup of coffee using a paper filter and an REI insulated mug takes a bit of water less than the line in the Jetboil pot. I see no reason that you would ever have to fill the thing full. The stove also boils water so fast that I don't see the need to fill it beyond the line.

Pete, don't you take days and days on a wall? Don't you stop and smell the roses, the coffee? What's your hurry? The journey is the Reward, you know, don't ya?

;-)

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Nov 13, 2010 - 04:17pm
Diesel_Smoke · Climber
This hanging kit isn't worth the money. It is time consuming to setup and doesn't inspire much confidence the stove is adequately secured and stable when hanging from this kit.

The best and cheapest way to hang the Jetboil is to simply pick up a metal PVC clamp from a hardware store for about $1 and clamp a piece of thin webbing to the top. Secure, cheap, and nothing to drop because it is permanently attached.

FYI, The Primus ETA Solo is a better stove than the Jetboil…
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

Nov 1, 2010 - 07:32pm
 
Gene · Climber
Bernie makes a better one.

… and it works really well for me while cooking in many situations. I haven't tried the official one, but I give Bernie's 5 stars.

g
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

Oct 11, 2010 - 11:03pm
 
Spider Savage · Climber · The shaggy fringe of Los Angeles
I haven't tried this but they sponsor Don Bowie so they are friends of mine.

http://www.calpinist.com
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

Oct 11, 2010 - 09:17pm
 
LuckyPink · Climber · the last bivy
Bernie makes a better one. He'll sell you one for way fair and he'll fix your cams too.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No


Have you used the JetBoil Hanging Kit?
Don't hold back. Share your viewpoint by posting a review with your thoughts...

Write a Review on this Gear
Click to enlarge
JetBoil Hanging Kit
Credit: jetboil.com
Where's the Best Price?
Seller Price
Amazon $21.21  -  29% off!
Backcountry $26.95  -  10% off!
REI $29.95
Compare prices at 7 sellers >

*Help support OutdoorGearLab. If you click on one of the seller links and make a purchase, a portion of the sale helps support this site
Get More OutdoorGearLab
Follow us on Twitter, be a fan on Facebook!
Subscribe to our Newsletter
Other Gear by JetBoil