Hands-on Gear Review

Compare approach shoes ratings side-by-side >

La Sportiva Boulder X Review

   

Approach Shoes - Men's

  • Currently 3.4/5
Overall avg rating 3.4 of 5 based on 6 reviews. Most recent review: July 23, 2013
Street Price:   Varies from $73 - $105 | Compare prices at 9 resellers
Pros:  Durable, great traction, good value
Cons:  Heavy, not ideal for long hikes
Best Uses:  Cragging and short and burly approaches. It's a workhorse approach shoe.
User Rating:     
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
 (3.8 of 5) based on 5 reviews
Recommendations:  100% of reviewers (4/4) recommend this product
Manufacturer:   La Sportiva
Review by: Chris McNamara ⋅ Founder and Editor-in-Chief, OutdoorGearLab ⋅ September 27, 2010  
Overview
The La Sportiva Boulder X offers a great balance of durability, hiking toughness and value. They are geared more toward short rugged approaches than long hikes. They don't climb as well as the Five Ten Guide Tennie or La Sportiva Ganda, but they handle the trails better and are tougher. For that toughness, these approach shoes are not light. The Guide Tennie feels much lighter when clipped to the side of the harness on a multi-pitch climb. We would get the Guide Tennie if we wanted more climbing performance and a lighter shoe. We would get the La Sportiva Exum Pro or Evolv Escapist if you mainly want an approach shoe that hikes well and is extra light when clipped on the side of your harness. But if you want an approach shoe that is rugged and gives good value, this one is hard to beat for the money.

View our complete Approach Shoe Review to see how this product compared to others.

Compare top rated competitors side-by-side >

  • Photos
Click to enlarge
Click to enlarge
Click to enlarge


OutdoorGearLab Editors' Hands-on Review

Likes
These shoes are suitable for rugged trails, shifty descents and long talus fields: something that a lot of other approach shoes are either too thin for or will blow apart quickly. The sole has an aggressive tread that gives great traction in dirt, on boulders and in mud. The toe rand wraps around the entire shoe for extra durability.

Dislikes
This shoe is not light and you feel it when clipped to the side of your harness. If you do a ton of multi-pitch climbs we would lean toward something a little lighter that will pack smaller in the pack. Their heftyness also does make them the most sensitive on slabs and edges.

Best Application
These are an ideal cragging shoe. They excel on short burly approaches. They are not light enough for massive approaches like a trail/approach shoe.

Value
These shoes area a great value. At $95 they are among the cheaper approach shoes. More importantly, they generally have above average durability which means you should have them around for longer than many other shoes in the same price range.

Other Versions
Women's Boulder X

Chris McNamara

Compare this product side-by-side to top competitors >

Where to Buy?


Thinking about buying some gear we've reviewed? Help OutdoorGearLab out if you do. Just click on any of the above seller links and if you make any purchase, the seller will contribute a portion of the sale to help support this site. It won't cost you anything extra, and it's a simple way to help us fund our gear reviews. Thanks!

*Most retailers free shipping offers apply only to lower 48 US states using ground/economy shipping. See retailer's website for details.


OutdoorGearLab Member Reviews


Most recent review: July 23, 2013
Summary of All Ratings

OutdoorGearLab Editors' Rating:   
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
 (3.0)
Average Customer Rating:   
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
 (3.8)

100% of 4 reviewers recommend it
Rating Distribution
5 Total Ratings
5 star: 0%  (0)
4 star: 60%  (3)
3 star: 40%  (2)
2 star: 0%  (0)
1 star: 0%  (0)
Sort 5 member reviews by: Most Recent | Most Helpful
Write a Review on this Gear

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Jul 23, 2013 - 09:53pm
Brokedownclimber · Climber · Douglas, WY
Even though I have just used these shoes for a couple days at Vedauwoo, I'm completely satisfied with them. The rubber is very sticky and allows some slab climbing, and the fit is perfect for my very narrow foot. I found them very comfortable for a brand new, out-of-the-box shoe; I experienced no blisters or any fit problems. The weight isn't excessive, and was comparable to my trail hiking boots, or even a bit lighter. A major selling point is the cost: very reasonable for a durable pair of shoes.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Jun 5, 2013 - 09:16am
FortMental · Climber · Albuquerque, NM
Very sticky rubber and a good, customizable lacing system. However, these shoes provide little support during long wearings in conventional settings like technical hiking, slabbing around, especially if done with a heavy pack. The leather does stretch and they will turn into completely different shoes if you get them wet (even walking through early morning meadows).

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Apr 16, 2012 - 08:40am
Andrew B · Hiker · MA
After tons of research (thanks mostly to Outdoor Gear Lab) I decided on the Boulder X from La Sportiva. I do climb about once a week but I bought these shoes more for everyday use and for hiking then just strictly approach. I have had them for a week and I can honestly say they are one of the better shoes I have ever worn. They are well made, seem quite durable and of course very comfy. They stay comfortable all day, the support is great for a low top shoe, the tread/sole is aggressive and sticky and the lacing allows for a tight precise fit. I normally wear a 9-9.5 (42-42.5 Euro) and I went with the 42.5 as I read they run a little on the snug side. While they are tight, it in no way causes discomfort. I find that they are tight enough to be precise for careful foot work and loose enough to be good for all day wear or with a light hiking sock. I have not got them out on the trails yet but I am sure they will perform beyond my expectations. I am considering getting the Boulder X mid gtx as my hiking boot, it is a mid height version of the boulder x with gortex and a fully gusseted tongue. Give the Boulder x a shot, they are a nice shoe.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
   Jan 31, 2011 - 04:31pm
cultureshock · Climber · Mountain View
Pros:
* Very sticky rubber
* Good tread pattern
* Climb and hike well
* Leather is weather resistant
* Good price

Cons:
* Heavy
* Not very breathable
* Laces come untied easily
* Not recommended for jumaring (aid climbing)

Full Review:
http://www.dreaminvertical.com/2010/11/sweet-gear-review-la-sportiva-boulder-x/

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this product to a friend.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No

Oct 1, 2010 - 08:12pm
 
Mark Hudon · Climber · Hood River, OR
I did my solo this spring in a pair of these. They stand in slings well and I was surprised at how well they free climbed and they inspired confidence on the hike down.

The toe box is a little bit tight and the toe rand wore through in three days of aid climbing.
Help other readers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
Yes
 
No


Have you used the La Sportiva Boulder X?
Don't hold back. Share your viewpoint by posting a review with your thoughts...

Write a Review on this Gear
La Sportiva Boulder X
La Sportiva Boulder X
Credit: sportiva.com
Where's the Best Price?
Seller Price
CampSaver $73.47  -  23% off!
Bent Gate Mountaineering $76.99  -  19% off!
MooseJaw $77.99  -  18% off!
Compare prices at 9 sellers >

*Help support OutdoorGearLab. If you click on one of the seller links and make a purchase, a portion of the sale helps support this site
Related Best-in-Class Review
Best Climbing Approach Shoes

Best Climbing Approach Shoes

We looked at 13 of the best climbing approach shoes and put them through rigorous head to head tests.
Video video review
Helpful Buying Tips
Get More OutdoorGearLab
Follow us on Twitter, be a fan on Facebook!
Subscribe to our Newsletter
Related Gear Reviews